2018 Club Championships

Replying To Aloblack:  "Im on about RM from Longwood it was someone else on about ROC. Ok grand so it's ok to transfer lads in as long as they don't do well or have an impact or help the club win a championship.. Yeah that makes loads of sense... I must have missed all the uproar about Navan doing this back in the day. My internet must have been down."
Ye with 51 posts you probably only recently came out of the woodwork... funny that

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 22/10/2018 22:31:46    2147800

Replying To royaldunne:  "I don't get this , I'm sorry I would have more of a problem if McCarthy or lowndes or whoever were in the parish and still playing for a dub club. Get over it. Nd hats more if they can add something to Meath panel. Hey should be looked at, the main reason been it might show the influx of dubs into Meath that hey we can do this."
It beats me how a genuine Meath supporter could unlike this post. I fully concur with Royaldunne here.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 22/10/2018 22:56:47    2147807

Big win for dunboyne. I genuinely believe they could beat the dub champs.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 28/10/2018 20:29:37    2148527

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Big win for dunboyne. I genuinely believe they could beat the dub champs."
I can't see it happening. I wouldn't be getting too excited about that result.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 28/10/2018 22:35:38    2148544

Great win for Dunboyne. Well done to all

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/10/2018 22:40:00    2148546

Good win for Dunboyne, going down to Wexford and coming away with a 10 point win will do nicely, sets up a juicy tie in Navan now.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 29/10/2018 01:22:39    2148550

I think Dunboyne have the backs to be able to cope with the winners of Dublin. Kept Summerhill and Simonstown both to less than 10 points and didn't concede a goal in the knockout stages. If their forwards can preform on the day they could do ok. Lenihan is a massive loss though obviously

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 29/10/2018 09:50:31    2148564

With a full team Dunboyne could have given either a big scare. Will be up against it missing 1 or 2 lads going away

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 29/10/2018 14:01:40    2148589

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "I think Dunboyne have the backs to be able to cope with the winners of Dublin. Kept Summerhill and Simonstown both to less than 10 points and didn't concede a goal in the knockout stages. If their forwards can preform on the day they could do ok. Lenihan is a massive loss though obviously"
Why is Lenihan missing?

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 29/10/2018 14:50:30    2148598

Replying To Maestro:  "Why is Lenihan missing?"
Going travelling for a year . Leaving this week

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 29/10/2018 15:37:39    2148609

Replying To Aloblack:  "Going travelling for a year . Leaving this week"
ah what ever small chance they may have had is gone now...

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 29/10/2018 17:27:34    2148623

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "I think Dunboyne have the backs to be able to cope with the winners of Dublin. Kept Summerhill and Simonstown both to less than 10 points and didn't concede a goal in the knockout stages. If their forwards can preform on the day they could do ok. Lenihan is a massive loss though obviously"
In the county final they played an extra man in front of the Summerhill full forward -he was being marked by two players. Their defence was no better than Summerhills and no better than than Kells either. Their strength is normally their forwards who did not live up to their normally high standard in the final. The two best defenders on display was Finn and the Summerhill No.5 (Gerathy). The goal which decided the match 6mins from the end was from a poor point shot. The Wexford champions are possibly the weakest in Leinster. How Dunboyne do the next match is difficult to tell, but a home venue is a help. I wish them the best of luck in next match and they have already the most important trophy (Keegan Cup) for the next 12 months. Lenihan has been the best club forward for past couple of years.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 29/10/2018 18:45:45    2148630

Dunboyne are no where near the standard of kilmacud. Mannion will have a field day. Meath club and county football is abysmal no matter what picture people paint.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 29/10/2018 19:03:39    2148633

Replying To Foley91:  "Dunboyne are no where near the standard of kilmacud. Mannion will have a field day. Meath club and county football is abysmal no matter what picture people paint."
Shane Mc entee will shackle Mannion

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 29/10/2018 20:25:33    2148640

Replying To Analyst:  "Shane Mc entee will shackle Mannion"
Personally would think lavin is the man to go with Mannion. Seems to have a bit of bite and speed to him which you'd need against Mannion. Mcentee is a bit too loose.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 29/10/2018 21:39:31    2148654

Replying To brian:  "Personally would think lavin is the man to go with Mannion. Seems to have a bit of bite and speed to him which you'd need against Mannion. Mcentee is a bit too loose."
Yeah I'd imagine Lavin will pick him up. Him and Dunboyne's defence in general has been excellent. Massive task for them though. Mannion looked pretty unstoppable in the county final

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 30/10/2018 09:20:12    2148684

When was the last time a Meath club beat a Dublin club in Leinster?

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 30/10/2018 12:35:19    2148713

It would be a huge shock if Dunboyne managed to beat Kilmacud. Dunboyne have the best defense in Meath but they are meeting a different animal in the Kilmacud forwards. Paul Mannion, Pat Burke and the young full forward will take an almighty effort to keep quite. Kilmacuds defense is even better and they have only conceded one goal in championship football this year, and Dunboyne minus Donal Lenihan are not the strongest upfront. Kilmacud looked like a well oiled machine against St Judes where they dictated the pace of the game, keeping the play wide and punching holes when needed.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 31/10/2018 12:59:39    2148859

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "When was the last time a Meath club beat a Dublin club in Leinster?"
We have a pretty shocking record v Dublin teams in the leinster club championship. We havent beaten any Dublin club team in leinster club championship in last 20 years with loses to St Vincents , kilmacud Crokes and other Dublin clubs. The only one positive result we have had in the last two decades was when Senechalstown drew with Dublin champions in 2007, but Senechalstown lost the replay.
We have very rarely beaten Dublin senior club champion in leinster, we have only beaten Dublin clubs team twice ever in the history of the leinster club championship as far as I can remeber.

We definatly havent beaten Dublin team in the last 20 years. ( In the 90s there is two years Im not certain and they are Skyrnes two in a row Meath senior club wins in 1993 and 1992. Skyrne might have beaten Dublin opposition in 93, Im not sure about 1993) . But other then that Meath teams didnt beat Dublin opposition in late 80s in leinster.

In 70s and early 80s we had our only two wins over Dublin opposition in leinster club championship. If Skyrne didnt beat Dublin opposition in 1993 leinster club championship. The only two times Meath have beaten Dublin clubs in leinster senior club championship was in 1983 when Walterstown beat Dublin senior club champions Scoil Ui Chonail in leinster. The only other victory v Dublin club , ( is also Meath greatest club victory outside the county in our history eg Summerhill 77. )
In 1977 Summerhill , Meath county champions defeated one of the greatest Dublin club team ever
St Vincents, by 5 goals in a leinster club senior final.

So in summary a Meath club hasnt beaten a Dublin club in leinster club championship in 35 years since Walterstown defeated Dublin champions in 1983. The only other victory was Summerhills victory over St Vincent's in 1977.( The only two years Im not sure are Skyrne in 92 93 campaign. ) . So we can say Wicklow club teams have beaten as many Dublin club teams in leinster senior club championship in the last 20 years, then we have done in our whole history.

Our lack of sucess at club level hasnt really impacted at intercounty. The club championship began in 1970. Meath have never won a club All Ireland senior and only played in one All Ireland club All Ireland final ( 1984) , in the same period Meath senior inter county team have reached 10 All Ireland senior inter county finals ( including replays). However for a morale boost for the county , Meath clubs performing better in leinster would be a benefit, an advantage in the future.

Just another sidenote, Kilmacud Crokes have been a real bogey team for Meath clubs, knocking Meath teams 4 times out of leinster. Twenty years ago when Dunboyne won their first Meath senior title they were knocked out of leinster by 1 point by kilmacud Crokes.

In summary a victory for Dunboyne would be an historic and rare win for Meath football over the auld enemies club champions.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 31/10/2018 18:08:05    2148921

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "When was the last time a Meath club beat a Dublin club in Leinster?"
The difference between Meath victories over Dublin teams in leinster club championship and inter county victories over Dublin is massive. As far as I can see
Since 1970 Meath clubs have beaten Dublin clubs twice and had one draw v Dublin teams in leinster senior club championship.
Since 1970 Meath have beaten Dublin 9 times and had 5 draws in leinster senior championship.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 31/10/2018 18:23:44    2148922