Ladies team news: Leahy hands starts to trio

August 09, 2019

Mayo's Kathryn Sullivan. ©INPHO/Bryan Keane.

Compiled by Jackie Cahill

MAYO boss Peter Leahy has made three changes in personnel for Saturday’s TG4 All-Ireland Ladies SFC quarter-final clash with Armagh at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, Longford (Live on TG4, 1pm).

After getting past the challenge of Donegal to qualify for the last eight, Leahy has handed starts to Kathryn Sullivan, Emma Needham and Maria Reilly for this one, with Róisín Flynn, Dayna Finn and Fiona Doherty dropping out of the team that started last time out.

Mayo, the 2017 Finalists, have their sights set on a semi-final at Croke Park on August 25, with the winners of their tie with Armagh to face off against Galway or Waterford.

Armagh have been forced to make a change to the team that accounted brilliantly for Cork in the group stages, a result that sent the Orchard County into the quarter-finals.

Star forward Aimee Mackin was forced off at half-time in that game, and she’s named on the bench for this one, with Aveen Donaldson given the nod to start.

The second game on the Glennon Brothers Pearse Park double-bill is the quarter-final meeting of Galway, the Connacht champions and beaten All-Ireland semi-finalists last year, and Waterford, who are back in a quarter-final for the first time since 2017.

Galway are unchanged from the side that beat Westmeath last time out, while Waterford boss Ciaran Curran has made two changes to his starting team, with Cora Murray and Brigita Valuntaite coming in for Aisling Mullaney and Mairead Wall.

This game is Live on the Spórt TG4 YouTube page, and can be accessed at the following link:

The other senior clash taking place over the weekend is on Sunday, when Cavan and Westmeath battle it out in Kinnegad (3.45pm) in a relegation play-off clash.

The winners of this one will play Senior Championship football again in 2020, with the losers to gain a second chance a week later against Monaghan.

Cavan have replaced Elaine Walsh with Róisín Reilly between the sticks, while Joanne Moore gets the nod ahead of Aisling Gilsenan, as manager James Daly makes two changes in personnel from the side that started against Cork in the group stages.

Cavan survived relegation last year after seeing off Tipperary in a must-win encounter, while opponents Westmeath make one change to the team that narrowly lost out to Kerry, with Nicole Feery named at left-half-forward ahead of Annie Dolan.

There are also two Intermediate Championship relegation fixtures on Sunday, with the losers of Limerick v Laois and Wicklow v Leitrim to play in the Junior grade next year.

And in this year’s Junior competition, the All-Ireland semi-final pairings will be confirmed over the weekend, with the final group games between London and Carlow, and Fermanagh and Derry, down for decision.

Armagh (v Mayo): A Carr; S Marley, C McCambridge, C Morgan; M Sheridan, N Marley, C McKenna; T Grimes, C O’Hanlon; M Moriarty, K Mallon, C Marley; A Donaldson, B Mackin, A McCoy.

Mayo (v Armagh): A Tarpey; N O’Malley, D Caldwell, É Roynane, K Sullivan, Ciara McManamon, C Whyte; Clodagh McManamon, E Needham; S Cafferky, M Reilly, N Kelly; S Rowe, R Kearns, G Kelly.

Galway (v Waterford): L Murphy; N Ward, S Burke, F Cooney; O Murphy, B Hannon, C Cooney; L Ward, Á McDonagh; O Divilly, M Glynn, M Seoighe; T Leonard, S Conneally, R Leonard.

Waterford (v Galway): R Landers; C Murray, C McGrath, Kate McGrath; R Tobin, Karen McGrath, E Murray; K Murray, C Fennell; A Wall, K Hogan, B Valuntaite; E Fennell, M Ryan, M Delahunty.

Cavan (v Westmeath): R O’Reilly; J Moore, R Doonan, S Reilly; S Greene, M Sheridan, S Lynch; N Byrd, S O’Sullivan; L McVitty, D English, C Finnegan; A Maguire, A Sheridan, L Fitzpatrick.

Westmeath (v Cavan): L McCormack; R Dillon, J Rogers, L Power; K Boyce-Jordan, K McDermott, F Coyle; J Maher, M.A. Foley; S Dolan, A Jones, N Feery; L Slevin, F Claffey, V Carr.

Limerick (v Laois): R McGuinness; R Daly, A Hartigan, K Reidy; C Sheehy, N Ryan, C Mee; L Hanley, C Ní Cheallaigh; K Heelan, R Ambrose, I Kenneally; O Giltenane, M Kavanagh, E Ryan.

Laois (v Limerick): A Hyland Conlon; M Young, J Moore, A Kelly; L Nerney, C Dunne, M Cotter; A Halberlin, E Healy; C Simms, A Keogh, E Fitzpatrick; E Lawlor, S Costello, M Nerney.

Leitrim (v Wicklow): M Monahan; E Shanley, L Maguire, K Connolly; S O’Rourke, A Heslin, A Quinn; E O’Dowd, L O’Dowd; E Kelly, M Heslin, C LaGuen; C Owens, V Egan, C McGovern.

Wicklow (v Leitrim): K Connors; A Byrne, S.J. Winders, A Gillen; L Fusciardi, A Maher, T Dowling Costello; A Gorman, J Kinch; J Nolan Byrne, S Delahunt, M Deeney; M Kealy, L Hogan, A Murphy.

London (v Carlow): C O’Reilly; N Walsh, R Hunt, N Mulholland; C Twohig, N Lister, S Roche; N Daly, K Canavan; C O’Sullivan, H Noonan, C McCarthy; C McGahan, A Kilkelly, C O’Brien.  

Carlow (v London): N Hanley; A Dowling, F O’Sullivan, L Mullins; E Atkinson, A Roche, K Clarke; C Mullins, E Hayden; M Kinsella, R Byrne, N Forde; R Sawyer, C Ní Shé.

Fermanagh (v Derry): R Gleeson; A Maguire, A Murphy, Á McGovern; M McGloin, C Murphy, S McQuaid; R O’Reilly, A Flanagan; J Doonan, L Maguire, D Maguire; A O’Brien, E Smyth, B Bogue.

Derry (v Fermanagh): K Connery; N Browne, A McGough, A Frizelle; G Conway, N Nugent, D Kivlehan; A Laverty, C McGurk; Emma Doherty, C Moore, C Holly; Erin Doherty, D Connelly, D McNicholl.  

Join the match tracker this weekend for live coverage of the All-Ireland football semi-finals.

Most Read Stories