What DID he achieve? He had no experience worth talking about to warrant a county job when he started. Should have never got the job but it would seem if you have a media presence you'd get any job these days. He'd have achieved nothing without Mickey Graham by his side and then, as we all know, they all packed their bags & left us in a worse state! And lets not even get into how much this 'experiment' cost and the lows that he brought us to on his watch. Spare me the nonsence Joe.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1472 - 12/08/2025 11:00:52 2631339 Link 1 |
Whatever about Morans credentials ye dodged a bullet there by not appointing McEntee. Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 388 - 12/08/2025 11:02:32 2631340 Link 2 |
Best of luck to Andy.. Seems a real players man, and should get a decent tune out of that panel. cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 169 - 12/08/2025 11:23:43 2631350 Link 3 |
Here I am replying to myself!! I didnt mean that his first 3 yrs would be barren, what I meant was that expectations must be realistic and even at that I think a Connacht title is realistic but an All-Ireland is probably not realistic in in that term. Andy is a players man and he will get them playing football. He was very popular in Leitrim and that says plenty.. Theres plenty of begrudgers on about his lack of experience but experience is only beneficial if it is good experience!!. He has great heart and energy and I hope Mayo Co board realise that if given the proper time (and conditions) Mayo football will blossom under him.
Dothesimplethingswell (Sligo) - Posts: 11 - 12/08/2025 11:55:07 2631366 Link 1 |
I don't agree. I think 6 or 7 teams are capable of making a final and Mayo are in that bracket.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8475 - 12/08/2025 13:07:08 2631388 Link 1 |
He brought you up to division 3 for one. As others say the next manager couldn't even get 15 to tog out for Leitrim that says it all . Andy knows what it takes to get the best out of a squad . He also will bring the enthusiasm and confidence back to the guys and to the county. As for Leitrim loosing to New York on penalties we certainly don't judge on him on that . As I said you don't have the players at the minute but we do and we certainly wouldn't loose to New York with Andy in charge of us . S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 317 - 12/08/2025 13:15:26 2631392 Link 0 |
Remains to be seen if he lasts as long as the three years that McStay got and then we'll see how he'll match up. Definitely better? McEntee did better with Sligo than Moran with Leitrim and at club level had All Ireland success compared to Moran who made a group stage exit with Ballaghaderreen Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 558 - 12/08/2025 13:21:53 2631393 Link 4 |
Outside managers rarely do well with counties . You seem to really begrudge Andy .
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 317 - 12/08/2025 13:47:42 2631402 Link 0 |
Good man. Start talking straight away about reaching the All Ireland Final, skip all the other games along the way. Imagine if Mayo people started by saying something sensible and achievable like we want to regain the no 1 team in Connacht. We have fallen down the pecking order. But hey, we're Mayo we will start at the top the very top. Any one got SAM MO 26 signs made yet . I think Moran is a good manager but it's too early for him to take this job. All the lads who weren't good enough and stepped away last year will now return, but they are still not good enough
Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 188 - 12/08/2025 13:47:43 2631403 Link 2 |
I wish Andy the best of luck in Mayo he seems like a nice fella but I have to say Square B is 100% right, I watched Leitrim under Andy and we were very badly coached, id argue we were better organised under Poacher towards end of league and Championship/Tailteann this year than we ever were under Andy and that was with basically a new team of kids. We were beaten by New York and got one of the luckiest promotions of all time in his last year (we lost to Longford and Carlow and still went up). I don't think he got the job because of any great work he done in Leitrim. What Andy brings to the table is the players will like him that was the one positive of his time in Leitrim the players seemed to like him, if I was a Mayo fan id hope Paddy Tally will do the bulk of the coaching. He will have better footballers in Mayo for sure but the competition in division one will be firece. 3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 429 - 12/08/2025 13:53:29 2631407 Link 3 |
Sure you had the likes of Meath in a semi this year so why don't Mayo have a chance least of getting there with Andy next year ? It's a rebuild job . It's not to soon for Andy . As I said alot of begrudgers on here mainly from other counties must be a bit worried that we will get the confidence back. You honestly think Mcantee would have done a better job? Come off it outside managers rarely work. Andy and Boyler know the club scene inside out and Boyler is full of knowledge. Boyler will also bring a bit of toughness back into the guys as he even said we are to nice. If any guys can bring the confidence and enthusiasm back to the guys and the county it's Andy and Boyler . S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 317 - 12/08/2025 14:25:43 2631424 Link 0 |
Take off your Mayo blinkers fella, ye had an opportunity to cut loose and make a fresh start with an outside manager. Move on from the failure of the 'golden' generation team that brought home no All Ireland. Mark my words, Moran won't win ye an All Ireland. I'll be happy to die on the cross if he does.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1472 - 12/08/2025 14:51:21 2631440 Link 3 |
Clare where does it suggest I begrudge Andy? Good credentials as player while as manager/coach you simply have to call it as it is. Mayo last outside manager another Moran in Mickey led Mayo to All-Ireland final and of course Galway had outside man in late Johno when the All-Ireland titles was won. What will be regarded as doing well for Mayo next year, reaching the last 8 of the championship seeing as Mayo didn't do that this year or last year? Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 558 - 12/08/2025 15:04:53 2631444 Link 1 |
If he was so popular with Leitrim then why did three quarters of the panel opt out for 2025 season and with that knowledge he stood down leaving the new manager Poacher with a depleted squad and had to throw in a handful of teens to fill the void. Don't see the time you are suggesting will be given to him unless Mayo are showing progress. Its Results business and McStay only lasted 3 years when 4 was agreed Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3745 - 12/08/2025 15:14:04 2631448 Link 0 |
Leitrim were 7 or 8 points off Kildare upon the departure of Andy. They were promoted from division 4. Following his departure they lost their league games by an average of around 25 points. These are the recorded facts of his tenure. Time will tell how he fares in Mayo but I think he will do well. As Lee Keegan pointed out, It is unrealistic to expect that generational players like himself, Andy, Barrett, Boyle, Higgins and Cillian can simply be replaced like for like, even in Dublin, let alone a rural western county. Still, I think Andy will get everything and more out of his panel.
giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1294 - 12/08/2025 16:26:06 2631473 Link 1 |
It'll be an interesting experiment to have a Rossie in charge of ye.
FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 297 - 12/08/2025 17:04:51 2631484 Link 6 |
McEntee has a lot more managerial experience than him for sure and he was in Rochford's backroom team before. Who knows what criteria they choose to select a new manager? The last time they had an Ulster manager he did great in his only year and they ran him. Nothing is straightforward with the Mayo County Board.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8210 - 12/08/2025 17:05:46 2631485 Link 1 |
I think once fans see progress and more attacking football Andy will be given time. A Connacht title and quarter final appearance with a good showing would be excellent progress in my book. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11733 - 12/08/2025 17:59:46 2631492 Link 1 |
I heard the players didn't want Mcantee for that reason because he worked with Rochford .
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 317 - 12/08/2025 19:37:17 2631510 Link 0 |
You seriously can't compare Leitrim v kildare in 2024 and Leitrim v Kildare in 2025 if you know anything about football. In 2024 Kildare had downed tools under Glen Ryan and Leitrim had all our senior players involved under Andy. In 2025 Kildare were rejuvenated under Brian Flanagan and Leitrim lost 80% players of the starting team in 2024 and more off the panel. It was a complete rebuild with kids. Its not a fair comparison. I go to Leitrim games and to say we were poorly coached under Andy Moran would be an understatement, we robbed Wexford of a promotion with one of the strangest referee decision I ever saw. I seen signs of improvement under Poacher by the end of the year and I expect further improvement under him in 2026. I hope for Mayo's sake he learned from his mistakes in Leitrim and the year in Monaghan will have helped him. He does have positives he's a nice guy when will bring loads of enthusiasm, he will be working with much better footballers and has a stronger backroom team. But I think its too soon for him. 3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 429 - 12/08/2025 21:02:26 2631520 Link 0 |