Donegal GAA thread

Waiting on the day for the Louth game.I see they are forecasting 24 degrees for Sunday.Would an evening match on Sat be better for the players.It wouln't take as much out of them with cooler temperatures.Louth also played on Sunday so it would be an even playing field.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1175 - 16/06/2025 14:01:32    2618282

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Hyde was an awful venue. 10k stand with no public toilets. No soap or running water.
What part of Mayo is over 3 hours from Hyde Park?"
In fairness is you are going to use an argument like that then call out ourselves as well. There's is nowhere worse than ballybofey for toilets. At least they had a good few portaloos. In ballybofey they have about about 6/7 in total at the river end terrace which is ment to cover half the side terrace.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 864 - 16/06/2025 14:02:49    2618284

Louth will give us a battle no doubt, Ulster v Leinster Champions, but we should have enough to get the win at home you'd think without busting a blood vessel, there always seems to be a surprise result at this stage every year, hard to see any of the favs not winning these prelim QF's though in reality.
I'm hoping to see a big game from Oisin Gallen, he hasn't really caught fire yet apart from the first half of the Ulster final as far as I remember.
Hopefully we get more football into Jason and maybe McGonagle also if he's fit to play next weekend, we have missed them both as target men for kick outs.
We have played well in patches since but I don't think we've got back to the levels we did in the Ulster final. Hopefully we'll hit that level of performance again soon if we can get to Croker that's the time to really be hitting top form.
I don't think resting Murphy will make any difference, the work they do in training is probably harder than playing a match. Only thing is if we are playing well and winning against Louth it would be no harm to get mins into some other players we may need later on in the Championship.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3270 - 16/06/2025 14:04:41    2618286

Replying To rorysboys:  "He's managed no differently than before. He spends most of his time around the middle and he goes inside every now and again like he always did. Only difference now is that he is 4 or 5 years older and with the new rules he has a better option of staying in. My fear is that with the games coming thick and fast that the body might break down. I would go as far as putting him on the bench next weekend. We have plenty forward options"
He is managed completely different than before. In the first half he was used linking up play and involved in many scores.
The new format suits him perfectly. At times when we needed in the second half he was used in the front 3 and made runs into the space for Patton to find him.
He is just a class player in the form of his life. We are so lucky to have him.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 578 - 16/06/2025 14:17:44    2618300

Replying To rorysboys:  "Don't agree he's seldom used as one of the 3 up. I would love to know his GPS stats against that of langan mc fadden and Thompson. . Ru trying to tell me mc fadden does more work than him in a game. Come on now. We have to take into account his age and we need to protect our prize asset. . Our year will depend on keeping him fit"
Mc Fadden is a hugely underared player. I thought he had a great match yesterday. He actually won the first throw up against the mighty O Shea which I wouldn't have expected.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 578 - 16/06/2025 14:22:13    2618304

Replying To gunman:  "Waiting on the day for the Louth game.I see they are forecasting 24 degrees for Sunday.Would an evening match on Sat be better for the players.It wouln't take as much out of them with cooler temperatures.Louth also played on Sunday so it would be an even playing field."
Sunday at 4pm

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 679 - 16/06/2025 14:41:23    2618320

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Mc Fadden is a hugely underared player. I thought he had a great match yesterday. He actually won the first throw up against the mighty O Shea which I wouldn't have expected."
Yes big Hughie is a somewhat unheralded player for us. A real "player's player" if you get me.
Funny you mention the throw up, I said the same thing before the ref threw it up - we'll do well to get possession from this, as O'Shea is usually unbeatable from the throw-in.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9813 - 16/06/2025 14:42:02    2618323

Replying To Scenicparish:  "He is managed completely different than before. In the first half he was used linking up play and involved in many scores.
The new format suits him perfectly. At times when we needed in the second half he was used in the front 3 and made runs into the space for Patton to find him.
He is just a class player in the form of his life. We are so lucky to have him."
No he's not managed differently he's running the show from all over the field which is great to see but the big fear with so many games is burnout. My point in my last few posts is that posters were giving out about murphy being used out the field under bonner and gallagher .he's coming 36 now and how come there's nobody saying anything. In saying that jim is right to play him where he's of more value to a team. Anyway nobody can answer my question the main thing is stay injury free and we'll not be far away.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2631 - 16/06/2025 15:09:13    2618346

Did anyone else feel that the referee yesterday was very poor, with a lot of marginal decisions going against us? They could've cost us on another day.

Firstly, for Peadars black card, the Mayo man tried to go through him, knocked him over, and then tripped over him. A black card is supposed to be for a deliberate trip, which in my opinion it was not.

Secondly, prior to Mayos last equaliser, we had possession, Mayo clearly breached the 3 up, but no action was taken despite the linesman standing looking at it. And it wasn't a momentary breach, the Mayo player knew he was breaching and carried on regardless.

When Jason was down with a head injury, the referee decided it was a head injury, but then decided that he's had enough treatment, carry on. Talk about player welfare. Jason was clearly shook, and it took him a couple of minutes to get his bearings.

And then finally, for the goal chance Paddy missed at the end, maybe I'm wrong, have yet to watch it back, but I felt that it was a foot block.

But throughout the game I felt that Mayo got away with a lot of pushes, pulls of the arm etc.

I just think he was a poor ref.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 805 - 16/06/2025 15:43:44    2618369

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Did anyone else feel that the referee yesterday was very poor, with a lot of marginal decisions going against us? They could've cost us on another day.

Firstly, for Peadars black card, the Mayo man tried to go through him, knocked him over, and then tripped over him. A black card is supposed to be for a deliberate trip, which in my opinion it was not.

Secondly, prior to Mayos last equaliser, we had possession, Mayo clearly breached the 3 up, but no action was taken despite the linesman standing looking at it. And it wasn't a momentary breach, the Mayo player knew he was breaching and carried on regardless.

When Jason was down with a head injury, the referee decided it was a head injury, but then decided that he's had enough treatment, carry on. Talk about player welfare. Jason was clearly shook, and it took him a couple of minutes to get his bearings.

And then finally, for the goal chance Paddy missed at the end, maybe I'm wrong, have yet to watch it back, but I felt that it was a foot block.

But throughout the game I felt that Mayo got away with a lot of pushes, pulls of the arm etc.

I just think he was a poor ref."
There was also the point given to Mayo in the first half that was clearly wide and for the Mayo goal Carney threw the ball. The free count against us was very high, especially given our emphasis on discipline. Overall it was a very poor day for the officials.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 156 - 16/06/2025 15:53:52    2618381

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yes big Hughie is a somewhat unheralded player for us. A real "player's player" if you get me.
Funny you mention the throw up, I said the same thing before the ref threw it up - we'll do well to get possession from this, as O'Shea is usually unbeatable from the throw-in."
I have great time for Hughie. Always get a great 50 to 60 minutes from him.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 578 - 16/06/2025 15:58:35    2618386

Replying To rorysboys:  "No he's not managed differently he's running the show from all over the field which is great to see but the big fear with so many games is burnout. My point in my last few posts is that posters were giving out about murphy being used out the field under bonner and gallagher .he's coming 36 now and how come there's nobody saying anything. In saying that jim is right to play him where he's of more value to a team. Anyway nobody can answer my question the main thing is stay injury free and we'll not be far away."
You can keep saying he's not being managed differently, but he is.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 274 - 16/06/2025 15:59:14    2618387

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Did anyone else feel that the referee yesterday was very poor, with a lot of marginal decisions going against us? They could've cost us on another day.

The black card, a bad call, O'Donohue pressured the ref, I didn't see the 3 up breach so fair enough if you saw it. On the foot block, no way, no danger to the Donegal player.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 947 - 16/06/2025 16:00:11    2618388

Replying To rorysboys:  "No he's not managed differently he's running the show from all over the field which is great to see but the big fear with so many games is burnout. My point in my last few posts is that posters were giving out about murphy being used out the field under bonner and gallagher .he's coming 36 now and how come there's nobody saying anything. In saying that jim is right to play him where he's of more value to a team. Anyway nobody can answer my question the main thing is stay injury free and we'll not be far away."
He rarely comes back into his own 45 now like he use to before. I expect he won't play the full 70 minutes next Sunday. Jim knows Michael and he will manage his minutes. Jason coming back is a huge plus and another player that can share the load.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 578 - 16/06/2025 16:19:21    2618408

Replying To sligo joe:  "The black card, a bad call, O'Donohue pressured the ref, I didn't see the 3 up breach so fair enough if you saw it. On the foot block, no way, no danger to the Donegal player."
On a foot block, the rule doesnt mention danger to the opponent. It says its a foul 'To block or attempt to block with the boot
when an opponent is kicking the ball from the
hand(s)'. Dunno how a ref misses that , it was blatant. If he wasn't sure there was a boot used he could have asked the umpire.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 679 - 16/06/2025 16:20:22    2618409

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Louth will give us a battle no doubt, Ulster v Leinster Champions, but we should have enough to get the win at home you'd think without busting a blood vessel, there always seems to be a surprise result at this stage every year, hard to see any of the favs not winning these prelim QF's though in reality.
I'm hoping to see a big game from Oisin Gallen, he hasn't really caught fire yet apart from the first half of the Ulster final as far as I remember.
Hopefully we get more football into Jason and maybe McGonagle also if he's fit to play next weekend, we have missed them both as target men for kick outs.
We have played well in patches since but I don't think we've got back to the levels we did in the Ulster final. Hopefully we'll hit that level of performance again soon if we can get to Croker that's the time to really be hitting top form.
I don't think resting Murphy will make any difference, the work they do in training is probably harder than playing a match. Only thing is if we are playing well and winning against Louth it would be no harm to get mins into some other players we may need later on in the Championship."
Have to agree with you T.
Murphy himself won't want to be sitting on the bench resting as such and why should he as he was asked back.
I'd like to see him just stay in the sq the next day as I've a feeling when he's out involved some of our other guys in the middle section are quite happy for michael to run the show which isn't necessarily helping their own game of getting more stuck in as such.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 166 - 16/06/2025 16:28:18    2618415

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "You can keep saying he's not being managed differently, but he is."
He's not . Been to all the games the only thing that has changed is the rules.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2631 - 16/06/2025 16:48:06    2618422

Replying To Shannonview:  "Firsty congratulations on your win in the Hyde.

In 1992 the Donegal team accompanied with Sam Maquire on their home on the Dublin/Sligo train had arranged prior to leaving Dublin a scheduled stop in Dromod where the team and Sam Maquire embarked the train in a special tribute to Cormac who with tears of joy kissed the Sam Maguire

Go raibh suaimhneas síoraí ar anam Cormac MacGiolla.

I know all your supporters were anxious that Shaun Patton would start and rightly so. He is a fine goalkeeper.

He made what could of been a terrible error when he kicked the ball out with only 6 secs to the hooter.
Why I'll never know he didn't wait and kick the ball out over the sidelines as soon as the hooter went.

The draw was enough for your qualification to the quarter finals.

Luckily for him ye got the ball. If Mayo had turned over the ball and scored going by the draw this morning ye wouldn't be playing Louth in Ballybofey,it would be ye instead of Cavan travelling to Killarney on Sat/Sun"
I think this is a fair point. It worked it ok in hindsight but that's not the point. Objectively speaking it was a bad decision. As nice as it was to knock Mayo out because a) We owed them after a few defeats since 2012 and b) Would rather not have them around in the latter stages of the competition, it's still not worth the risk of losing 2nd spot in the group. Maybe if he was kicking it out to a completely free man where we had guaranteed possession but even then its probably not the right play. As it was kicking a ball that was close to 50/50 was the wrong play at that stage.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/06/2025 16:56:52    2618429

I thought we were hard done by. It felt like he was doing his best to keep Mayo in the game. The black card was a very harsh call - in fact originally I thought he had given a free out for charging. But in general I felt 90% of the marginal decisions went against us. Mayo got a lot of advantage free and a couple of them I still dont know what they were even for. I can't recall us getting any frees other than for blatantly obvious fouls. In fairness Mayo are very good at treading the line on the half-foul (ie. Tackling that is technically illegal but not enough to get penalised for) but I still thought they got away with a few that crossed the line whereas they got a few soft ones.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/06/2025 17:03:11    2618435

Regarding the point I've seen several people make regarding Ciaran Moore kicking the ball out of play after the hooter to avoid getting turned over. Surely if Mayo were to turn him over at that point they would just kick the ball out of play themselves, their Championship was on the line and I don't think they would have much incentive to risk going out to claim 2nd place. Therefore it was a bit of a free hit for us, as well as the fact it's good to pick up a winning habit.

HowManyStepsRef (Donegal) - Posts: 303 - 16/06/2025 17:19:32    2618442