I'm not excusing Donegal. You don't win things with 15 choir boys. I'm sure nearly every single team in the country has a few players who do a lot of chatting on the pitch.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9759 - 12/05/2025 13:39:23 2608827 Link 1 |
My county dont play in the tailtean cup.I might live in Wicklow but IM not from there.My county are a bit more successful than yours too by a country mile.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 69 - 12/05/2025 13:42:07 2608828 Link 0 |
When donegal played monaghan in clones after the final whistle a donegal supporter was running past and into the monaghan players faces reeling them up and goading them luckily enough our lads kept there cool but think supporters could be banned from entering the field if this continues Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 66 - 12/05/2025 13:49:19 2608833 Link 0 |
Jesus we're popular today lads what? Even the county without a provincial title are wading in. Did you get the day off school brayballer(really south Dublin)? peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1198 - 12/05/2025 13:54:17 2608837 Link 0 |
I'd be happy to refuse to every supporter taking a flare to a game. Not sure anyone on here is condoning flares?
Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 260 - 12/05/2025 14:00:48 2608843 Link 1 |
Do you not have school today.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 633 - 12/05/2025 14:05:42 2608847 Link 4 |
They had him last year and we bet them in the Ulster final. Honestly, before you comment, at least check out the facts. We have played them 6 times in 2 seasons across the competitions and have won 5, drawn one. And they are a 'much better team.' Okay…
Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1409 - 12/05/2025 14:23:18 2608853 Link 3 |
Great to hear from a proper supporter. I was in the company with a group of Armagh supporters and the craic wad good. So little between both teams. The match could have gone either way. It's a pity the incident at the end happened but as you said with mobile phones nowadays nothing goes unnoticed. I hope we meet again in Croke Park in the later stages of the All Ireland.
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 486 - 12/05/2025 14:31:50 2608858 Link 0 |
correct me if I'm wrong but isn't a closed fist tackle a yellow card? How many times has Michael gotten a "free pass" for that - he was booked against both Derry and Monaghan for it? and the Monaghan one was soft as anything, player went down like he was shot and I'm doubtful it was even a closed fist. He's been on the edge this year and they even spoke about that before the game on RTE's coverage I've seen since watching it back, because Joanna Cantwell made a joke about Forker lasting the full game and Peter Canavan said Murphy would be the one that could get the line the way the first three games went. He did nothing against Armagh that would warrant anything more than a free that I can recall. fans love building a narrative about him now, he attracts a lot of attention and some of the vitriol from opposition fans I find baffling. he is and always has been a terrible tackler. but the way some go on about him you'd swear he was gouging eyes, stamping on ankles and punching at every opportunity. CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 173 - 12/05/2025 14:36:21 2608862 Link 3 |
maith thú, agree on all counts. I don't see Armagh having difficulty in that group even though Derry and Dublin are very tricky matches. Galway will be a toss-up but I expect Armagh to beat both Derry and Dublin.
CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 173 - 12/05/2025 14:37:06 2608863 Link 0 |
Congrats to Donegal, back to back Ulster champs is some achievement. Murphy showed why he is the best player of our generation. Armagh showed their true colours after the whistle blew, they're a disgrace. Have to laugh at the posts here saying the Donegal lad was goading him - as if the Armagh lads don't do this! Butter wouldn't melt These incidents (plural) will be ignored as long as there is an Armagh man acting as president - in reality there should be 6 month bans being handed out to stamp this out once and for all. tribesman123 (Galway) - Posts: 38 - 12/05/2025 14:37:21 2608864 Link 2 |
If you do what O McFF did then you have to put your big boy pants on and take what is potentially coming to you. I don't condone the fact he got hopped on but I'm not surprised either. The seconds after the final whistle of a huge game like that are extremely raw in terms of emotions on both sides. Armagh would have been sick at not getting over the line and to have a fairly easy target in front of them acting the clown was a handy fella to lash out at. O McFF put himself in that position, nobody else.
TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 236 - 12/05/2025 14:56:11 2608880 Link 3 |
I think the vast majority of Donegal fans will agree that such behaviour is not welcome and doesn't represent us as a County. There will always be some young (Or not so young) idiots from all Counties who do or say daft stuff that is offensive or to stir a reaction. Perhaps a lot of them don't have the same memories of constantly losing Ulster finals for many years, its a horrible place to be and I certainly wouldn't seek to rub that in to any other set of fans.
Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1340 - 12/05/2025 15:39:06 2608896 Link 0 |
I'm not sure why any grown man would be running on the pitch like that anyway, kids I get but come its a game of football, what age are you lol, I went on the last day after all had calmed down and the players had made their way up the steps just to get a closer look but running on and getting in players faces is just bizarre to me.
joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 229 - 12/05/2025 15:39:44 2608897 Link 1 |
While not condoning what Odhrán did or might have said, he's a tough cookie and well able to handle himself. I have a feeling that the GAA will let this incident slide. After all, as others have mentioned, it was hardly Armagh's first rodeo in this sense. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9759 - 12/05/2025 16:11:02 2608916 Link 1 |
I think there needs to a rule that that the instigator must receive the same or more punishment ( not less) than the retaliater and the CCC have powers to implement this on post match video evidence. This would cut out a lot of the goading and shithousery that goes on.
Tirchonailabu56 (Donegal) - Posts: 35 - 12/05/2025 17:02:33 2608934 Link 0 |
Why not name the Armagh player too? He was been bigged up big time before the match with his big return to the panel on Saturday afternoon.
Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 105 - 12/05/2025 17:09:22 2608939 Link 2 |