Alot of childish talk on here from different county's. The way I look at it it's good that people are talking about donegal, it shows that we're getting noticed. There's very little between the two teams. Both are capable of beating each other. It's imperative now that we keep everyone fit. Patton was limping after the game as was murphy hopefully nothing too serious. . Hoping we top the group to gave us a bit of breathing space I think we will. Tyrone will pose questions next day out hopefully weather stays good cause it should be a fantastic spectacle in front of another full house. The big question is will Tyrone travel in numbers. They probably won't but we'll fill it anyway to welcome the Anglo celt winners home rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2615 - 12/05/2025 11:44:36 2608746 Link 1 |
What a wonderful victory. 12 different scorers by my count. Great to get the few goals and also a few long kicks inside - this will keep opposition thinking and removes our little bit of predictability at times. NORTHMEN (Donegal) - Posts: 17 - 12/05/2025 11:49:20 2608751 Link 1 |
A fantastic contest and my heart rate and blood pressure has finally settled down a bit, so delighted for the team and supporters and for Michael to come back in and win another Anglo Celt, he is such a class act on and off the field. I think if we'd had him back last year we'd have been very close to lifting another Sam as well. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3185 - 12/05/2025 12:02:31 2608756 Link 0 |
What a brilliant game on Saturday - fair play to Donegal, a class team. Wishing you well for the rest of season and what an occasion it would be if we crossed swords at a later date. We both have very tricky groups to navigate in the meantime starting with huge first round games. sam2024 (Armagh) - Posts: 43 - 12/05/2025 12:03:44 2608757 Link 6 |
That's rubbish, he wasn't gesticulating towards his family members unless he dislikes his family, he was goading the opposition, come uppance delivered. Bet he's hoping they avoid Armagh in rest of competition
Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2152 - 12/05/2025 12:11:21 2608761 Link 0 |
I think my post about Donegal fans would indicate that I do not want to see any of that carry on at games. Would have no problem with bans for that. I'm not sure how I gave you the impression that it was OK? The flares seem to be used regularly now in LOI and in Scotland and are a nuisance. It's a pity we're talking nonsense after what was one of Donegal's greatest ever performances. I think Stephen McMenamin deserves a mention for his role in the last 5 mins, wouldn't be known as a ball player but did really well when under pressure and his tackle was excellent at the end of extra time. Shows the value of strength in depth, the same with Niall O'Donnell. ballboy101 (Donegal) - Posts: 230 - 12/05/2025 12:29:05 2608772 Link 0 |
Aye because he'd be known for avoiding confrontation alright! From what I seen the Armagh boys didn't manage to do much to him despite the numbers advantage. It's great that your clutching your rosary beads in Westmeath though. ballboy101 (Donegal) - Posts: 230 - 12/05/2025 12:31:35 2608774 Link 1 |
If a player is being goaded during a game you'd tell him or her it's probably because they're getting the upper hand, ignore the goading and keep on doing what they're doing. If you react and hit the player doing the goading get you deserve to be sent off and a ban, they're looking for you to react like that. Armagh should have ignored the man goading them but it's not easy to do when emotions are high. Absolute lack of sportsmanship from Donegal man but an excessive reaction from Armagh man. Ban them both for one game. This auld internet craic of Armagh/Donegal supporters are 'all' like that is pure madness. Great people going to matches everywhere and painting the county from the behaviour of a tiny few is just lazy clickbaiting dusguised as journalism.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7978 - 12/05/2025 12:38:42 2608778 Link 1 |
This is the same Armagh team that caused brawls in challenge matches with Dublin at the Athletics Ground, with Tyrone in Athletics ground, with Donegal in Letterkenny 2022 and in Croke Park Galway in 2023, they have a growing track record of instigating that type of behaviour and yet the GAA and Ulster GAA in particular seem to always turn a blind eye, as do a lot of sports journalists. I'd say the first Armagh player who ran onto the pitch first will be wanting to avoid Donegal for the remainder of the year, two clear punches and Donegal player didn't flinch, he needed intervention of 6 other Armagh players to take the Donegal player down. Its poor discipline by the Armagh squad on a regular basis that seems to always go unpunished. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1340 - 12/05/2025 12:40:09 2608780 Link 3 |
Goading is one thing but a punch is another and should be dealt with. Of course teams celebrate on winning a trophy and by hell its annoying when your on the loosing end. We have seen loads of incidents of Goading in our game and for someone to suddenly say its not on is the pot calling the kettle black. Any goading is a lack of respect no matter the level ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 554 - 12/05/2025 12:46:15 2608783 Link 0 |
Move on, please.
NORTHMEN (Donegal) - Posts: 17 - 12/05/2025 12:49:55 2608784 Link 0 |
It was a brilliant game, so entertaining and such intensity and competitiveness. If that Donegal player shouted something at the Armagh bench to stir things, I would never condone that and that should be punished, that kind of **** isn't welcome in Gaelic games, god knows our players and fans have lost enough Ulster finals to appreciate how hard those days are when on the wrong end of the result. I had heard the Donegal player in question had friends or club mates in the Gerry Arthur behind the Armagh squad and his cheering was misinterpreted by the Armagh squad and that is how it kicked off, but its difficult to be sure without clearer footage. As for the Centra brawl, that was disgraceful scenes, all caught on CCTV and the shop owners will certainly be pressing charges. I agree that we unfortunately do see this type of stuff from time to time, its not exclusive to GAA fans either. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1340 - 12/05/2025 13:00:41 2608793 Link 1 |
I agree on goading, there is no place for that in our Sport, Donegal players and fans have been on the wrong end of Ulster finals results enough times in recent years and I would be seriously ****** if one of our players conducted himself in that way. I heard it was possibly a misunderstanding, but at this point its hard to know. I wouldn't say there is much between the two teams this year, I was impressed with how Armagh have regrouped after winning the All Ireland last season, that can sometimes knock teams off track. Last season I thought Armagh were the better team for most of that final, but this year was different, Donegal sitting back in the last 15 minutes of normal time skewed the stats a little in Armagh's favour, but it was a balanced game. I think Donegal and Armagh are definitely very much in the All Ireland Contenders list along with Kerry, Galway, Mayo and I think maybe Dublin, Tyrone and Monaghan could still make a big run. I wasn't sure before the final of where Donegal were at, because they seemed to be playing in lower gears for many games. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1340 - 12/05/2025 13:10:03 2608799 Link 0 |
If you watch the games without blinkers on you will see.Its self explanatory really.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 69 - 12/05/2025 13:17:52 2608806 Link 0 |
Pathetic comment.Go away and listen to danny o Donnell. Donegal are no angels.They try fool refs with their soft wee girls voices but are no shrinking voilets on the field.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 69 - 12/05/2025 13:21:35 2608808 Link 0 |
Nail on head
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 69 - 12/05/2025 13:24:14 2608810 Link 0 |
I will admit Murphy is a great player but he uses a closed fist most of the time when tackling and gets a free pass from refs.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 69 - 12/05/2025 13:26:25 2608813 Link 0 |
You forgot the championship game in Cavan in the Athletic grounds when they started a row in the pre match parade! The Donegal doctor in 2014. I could go on. It all boils down to small man syndrome. If it walks like a duck and talks like a duck... The GAA need to come down hard on them but I won't hold my breath. Can't see too many emails being sent on this one somehow. peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1198 - 12/05/2025 13:26:59 2608815 Link 3 |
Another poster from a county with nothing to play for coming out of the woodwork . Jeez, the Tailteann cup must be really boring this year since you're all so interested in Donegal.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 633 - 12/05/2025 13:29:49 2608819 Link 0 |
Donegal have plenty of mouthpieces themselves Lockjaw.Donegal are as innocent as you think
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 69 - 12/05/2025 13:30:11 2608820 Link 0 |