Donegal GAA thread

Replying To TheRock2121:  "I watched Lynch jog back to his goal on several occasions when Derry lost possession. I found it very odd. At one point three Dublin forwards were being marked by three Derry backs and the ball could have easily went in and here he was jogging back. You'd see lads running quicker to the jacks. This happened most of the game. He was holding back. I'm not sure why. He must have wild trust in the defenders. On a side note this is our strongest 15 for the year if everyone is match fit. Would be a very exciting team to watch.

Patton
Moore
Mc Cole
Mc Colgan
Ban
Mc Gonagle
Shane O Donnell
Langan
Thompson
Ryan
Mogan
Conor O Donnell
Aaron Doherty
Oisin Gallan
Niall O Donnell

Very strong Bench. Experienced.
Paddy
Jamie
Hughie
Odhran Doc
Curran
Daire O B
Mc Kelvey"
Strong side if you swap Mogan for Shane O'Donnell.

Think Paddy will definitely start if fit too.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 805 - 03/04/2024 10:15:16    2535337

Replying To rorysboys:  "I'm not talking about the population of a county. I'm talking about people who turned up on the day, and we definitely had the lowest support. If we beat Derry then the bandwagon supporters will start to appear. I honestly think we'll beat Derry we're getting them at the perfect time. There on a high and expected to win but football never works like that. If we can be in the game with 10 left, doubts will creep into the Derry team. Hopefully I'm right ."
Donegal can never be underestimated or written off under Jim McGuinness but Derry at Celtic Park with a full house and a team consisting of McKaigue, McClusky, McKinless, Glass, Rogers, McFaul, Doherty and McGuigan will take some stopping. I expect Donegal to make a game of it but there can't be any doubt Derry are firm favourites. It will take a monumental effort to turn us over.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 03/04/2024 10:43:20    2535343

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "Donegal can never be underestimated or written off under Jim McGuinness but Derry at Celtic Park with a full house and a team consisting of McKaigue, McClusky, McKinless, Glass, Rogers, McFaul, Doherty and McGuigan will take some stopping. I expect Donegal to make a game of it but there can't be any doubt Derry are firm favourites. It will take a monumental effort to turn us over."
I don't know what the bookies odds are but Derry must be odds on for it. It's a game I wouldn't mind us losing, we would get a better chance to get fellas back from injury etc for the All Ireland group stage,
but I'm sure we'll be going all out to beat Derry on the day. Depending on what strength of a team we can field it should be a great game and occasion.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2752 - 03/04/2024 14:36:54    2535381

Replying To rorysboys:  "I'm not talking about the population of a county. I'm talking about people who turned up on the day, and we definitely had the lowest support. If we beat Derry then the bandwagon supporters will start to appear. I honestly think we'll beat Derry we're getting them at the perfect time. There on a high and expected to win but football never works like that. If we can be in the game with 10 left, doubts will creep into the Derry team. Hopefully I'm right ."
How are we playing them at the perfect time? The perfect time would be if they had Glass, Mcguigan, Doherty, McClusky, McAvoy, McKaige, McFaul, Rodgers, Lynch etc out injured and for all our injured players to be back fit. Oh and maybe if we played at home too it might be another boost.

Going to be a massive ask for an understrength Donegal team to beat the best team in the country at the moment.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 227 - 03/04/2024 15:14:42    2535388

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I don't know what the bookies odds are but Derry must be odds on for it. It's a game I wouldn't mind us losing, we would get a better chance to get fellas back from injury etc for the All Ireland group stage,
but I'm sure we'll be going all out to beat Derry on the day. Depending on what strength of a team we can field it should be a great game and occasion."
Boylesports have Derry as 4/11 and Donegal as 3/1. So Derry are heavily favoured to win at odds on.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 227 - 03/04/2024 15:19:34    2535392

Derry's ability to nullify top players can't be ignored. They have serious man markers. The best defence about. Not only can they defend but everyone of them bar Mc Kaigue is excellent going forward. That's the big worry.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 03/04/2024 17:13:45    2535413

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Derry's ability to nullify top players can't be ignored. They have serious man markers. The best defence about. Not only can they defend but everyone of them bar Mc Kaigue is excellent going forward. That's the big worry."
True Derry are hitting peak form and must be strong contenders for Sam this year,
I think Dublin are still the team to beat, they'll have an easy run through Leinster, their next really competitive game will probably be the All Ireland quarter final whereas Derry will have to play us and if they keep winning through Ulster then likely Tyrone and Armagh, whoever comes through all that and wins the Anglo Celt will be well battle hardened, but how many injuries will they have picked up?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2752 - 03/04/2024 20:40:18    2535444

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Derry's ability to nullify top players can't be ignored. They have serious man markers. The best defence about. Not only can they defend but everyone of them bar Mc Kaigue is excellent going forward. That's the big worry."
That's true but thankfully throughout the league we've had a big spread of scorers and we're not depending on anyone in particular for scores.

High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 75 - 03/04/2024 20:46:34    2535446

I remember in the McKenna cup Donegal used Langan on the edge of the square and it worked well. It could be good to mix it up and and go direct and aerial on top of Chrissy McKaigue...

High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 75 - 03/04/2024 20:50:09    2535449

Different game I know, but Farah took him for 9 the last time they met. That leaves a mark. Does McKeigue want the job, or will he fancy marking someone else? That will tell a lot.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 03/04/2024 21:11:49    2535454

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sure I'm only saying what a lot of people are saying. Some of the young lads deserved a run out in croker too."
Bit confused about this, thought there was a good mix of experience and youth and plenty of lads getting their first run out in Croke Park or in a national final.

NPadraigAbu (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 03/04/2024 21:41:32    2535463

Replying To FootballGuy:  "How are we playing them at the perfect time? The perfect time would be if they had Glass, Mcguigan, Doherty, McClusky, McAvoy, McKaige, McFaul, Rodgers, Lynch etc out injured and for all our injured players to be back fit. Oh and maybe if we played at home too it might be another boost.

Going to be a massive ask for an understrength Donegal team to beat the best team in the country at the moment."
How do you know there going to be understrength. A lot can happen in two weeks.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2408 - 03/04/2024 22:20:32    2535469

I've no doubt that since October 21st, McGuinness has been plotting to take Derry down, a la Dublin 2014. With our injury list to key players as opposed to fringe players, I expect we'll come up short but hit Derry an almighty free shot and find out what level we've to hit further on in the year, make hay of the long gap until the next game to get some of our walking wounded fit and start building the confidence of players by beating the less physical teams through the qualifiers. Jim will absolutely want to beat Derry, but it could very well work in our favour if we don't.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 112 - 03/04/2024 22:31:10    2535472

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Different game I know, but Farah took him for 9 the last time they met. That leaves a mark. Does McKeigue want the job, or will he fancy marking someone else? That will tell a lot."
McKaigue will be on Gallen no question about it. Chrissy was badly hampered by a troublesome achieves last year. He was put on Con O'Callaghan last week and held him scoreless from play. He is still one of the best man markers in the game.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 156 - 03/04/2024 23:15:51    2535478

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "Donegal can never be underestimated or written off under Jim McGuinness but Derry at Celtic Park with a full house and a team consisting of McKaigue, McClusky, McKinless, Glass, Rogers, McFaul, Doherty and McGuigan will take some stopping. I expect Donegal to make a game of it but there can't be any doubt Derry are firm favourites. It will take a monumental effort to turn us over."
Hi Jazzyjeff: Fair play Derry are flying and playing with a swagger. Is there talk of a team holiday to Spain this week for winning the league.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 03/04/2024 23:35:38    2535481

Replying To TheRock2121:  "I watched Lynch jog back to his goal on several occasions when Derry lost possession. I found it very odd. At one point three Dublin forwards were being marked by three Derry backs and the ball could have easily went in and here he was jogging back. You'd see lads running quicker to the jacks. This happened most of the game. He was holding back. I'm not sure why. He must have wild trust in the defenders. On a side note this is our strongest 15 for the year if everyone is match fit. Would be a very exciting team to watch.

Patton
Moore
Mc Cole
Mc Colgan
Ban
Mc Gonagle
Shane O Donnell
Langan
Thompson
Ryan
Mogan
Conor O Donnell
Aaron Doherty
Oisin Gallan
Niall O Donnell

Very strong Bench. Experienced.
Paddy
Jamie
Hughie
Odhran Doc
Curran
Daire O B
Mc Kelvey"
Looking at the state i've just left the kitchen, posts after midnight like this must be treated with a certain level of understanding.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 382 - 04/04/2024 00:12:47    2535485

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "McKaigue will be on Gallen no question about it. Chrissy was badly hampered by a troublesome achieves last year. He was put on Con O'Callaghan last week and held him scoreless from play. He is still one of the best man markers in the game."
I'd agree still a great man marker if not the best.

He's not great in possession though and get bottled up a lot. Maybe thats something Doengal could target.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 291 - 04/04/2024 09:41:10    2535504

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi Jazzyjeff: Fair play Derry are flying and playing with a swagger. Is there talk of a team holiday to Spain this week for winning the league."
A team holiday to Spain for Donegal? Surely not?

GAAmanDNG (Donegal) - Posts: 17 - 04/04/2024 10:08:27    2535511

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Different game I know, but Farah took him for 9 the last time they met. That leaves a mark. Does McKeigue want the job, or will he fancy marking someone else? That will tell a lot."
Can't see him picking Gallan up. Maybe Mc Evoy like the Mc Kenna cup game.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 04/04/2024 10:12:34    2535513

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Looking at the state i've just left the kitchen, posts after midnight like this must be treated with a certain level of understanding."
And who would you have in instead? Paddy and ..?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 04/04/2024 10:13:37    2535514