Donegal GAA thread

Replying To High_and_wide:  "If we manage to catch Lynch off his line, and/or pressure him when he's on the ball, he'll be forced to stay in goal, which takes the playmaker out of the Derry attack. He's pivotal to what they've doing this season going forward.

Do you mean Jason Campbell from naomh conaill?"
Yes fully agree on lynch stopping him and mccluskey key to stopping the source.
No big Campbell from Kilcar seen him a couple of times 2 years ago linked well with McBrearty and done defensive duties diligently. Not afraid to get stuck in

Jimsam12 (Donegal) - Posts: 12 - 02/04/2024 11:23:15    2535147

Really impressed by Derry yesterday and the amount of goal chances they created, they should have had Dublin well beaten before extra time. Derry midfield very strong and all forwards are dangerous. Good to see Jason McGee back as I think we will need him in Celtic Park. Looking forward to the game as I know Derry like most teams are beatable on the day but we will need a massive performance to win.

Donegalabroad (Donegal) - Posts: 2 - 02/04/2024 11:23:51    2535148

Replying To Jimsam12:  "Yes fully agree on lynch stopping him and mccluskey key to stopping the source.
No big Campbell from Kilcar seen him a couple of times 2 years ago linked well with McBrearty and done defensive duties diligently. Not afraid to get stuck in"
I don't even think he's playing with Kilcar. He's probably in Australia

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2408 - 02/04/2024 11:57:27    2535155

When do the tickets go on sale for the Derry game?

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 112 - 02/04/2024 13:18:01    2535178

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Well done to Jim and the boys, was very proud of them all they way the dug out that win, great performance from Ciaran Thompson, hopefully we get more fellas back from injury for the Derry game, by the looks of the level Derry are at now it will be no easy task to beat them.
If we beat Derry then next up likely be Tyrone then maybe Armagh in the Ulster final, you'd be heading into the All Ireland series battered and bruised against teams that have coasted in there and have focused to peak for the All Ireland quarter finals.
We might be better focusing on the long game."
Hi Tirchonaill1: Great point. Are Ulster teams too preoccupied with winning Ulster?

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 02/04/2024 13:23:54    2535179

Overall it was a very good league campaign, the only negative is the amount of injuries we have. I thought we played really well against Armagh and it was pleasing that we managed to win at the end given that Armagh went ahead. The momentum was with Armagh but somehow we dug it out. Caolan McGonagle has flourished at centre half back. Ciaran Moore is surely a nailed on starter against Derry, he could play anywhere in the back line but I think half back would suit him best as he is serious going forward. Mark Curran is very solid as well. Our defending has greatly improved, we are no longer passive in the tackle.

We are struggling to score goals, not sure why that is. With out strong runners we should be creating goal scoring chances. Granted that wasn't easy against Armagh who sat very deep, I think the only chance we had was the first half Kevin McGettigan effort.

It is going to be a monumental task to beat Derry in their own patch. Midfield would be my main worry, Glass and Rogers tend to dominate that area and it gives Derry most of the possession. if we can somehow break even around midfield it's game on as we have the forwards to do damage. I'm am really looking forward to the game and I am confident we will put in a good display.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 02/04/2024 15:26:19    2535210

Not much word on the disappointing support we had last Sunday. Of the 4 teams we were easily the worst supported. Excuses wearing thin now. It's so unfair to Jim and the lads.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2408 - 02/04/2024 15:43:21    2535211

Replying To rorysboys:  "I don't even think he's playing with Kilcar. He's probably in Australia"
Asked the son there, he said he is in Oz - unfortunately for us!

GAAmanDNG (Donegal) - Posts: 17 - 02/04/2024 16:04:40    2535214

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sure I'm only saying what a lot of people are saying. Some of the young lads deserved a run out in croker too."
I trust the Manager and the Backroom Team to do the right thing by the Team. I never heard anyone comment on our substitutes.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 279 - 02/04/2024 17:40:09    2535235

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I trust the Manager and the Backroom Team to do the right thing by the Team. I never heard anyone comment on our substitutes."
That wudnt surprise me. We're you in croker

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2408 - 02/04/2024 18:37:42    2535244

Replying To rorysboys:  "Not much word on the disappointing support we had last Sunday. Of the 4 teams we were easily the worst supported. Excuses wearing thin now. It's so unfair to Jim and the lads."
Not much word on the support because most people aren't obsessed with it and they don't keep talking about it.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 473 - 02/04/2024 20:32:24    2535255

Very poor support from Donegal at game, poor enough game till last 10 minutes. At 30 euro for two games in Croke Park the price of tickets cant be the reason.. Second game was worth any entrance fee alone

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 406 - 02/04/2024 21:15:12    2535264

Replying To rorysboys:  "Not much word on the disappointing support we had last Sunday. Of the 4 teams we were easily the worst supported. Excuses wearing thin now. It's so unfair to Jim and the lads."
Dublin were easily the worst supported team on Sunday given the amount of dubs that stayed at home and the fact that they have about a quarterofvtge population. Very poor crowd overall, condensed season not working and Easter weekend a Terrible time to play league finals, should be a break between last round of league and between league finals and championship

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 918 - 02/04/2024 21:31:27    2535270

Replying To greenfan:  "Not much word on the support because most people aren't obsessed with it and they don't keep talking about it."
A lot of people on here don't like me bringing it up. It must hit a nerve. As the saying goes you can't beat being there. You definitely see a lot more anyway. Il leave it at that.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2408 - 02/04/2024 21:38:09    2535273

Replying To rorysboys:  "That wudnt surprise me. We're you in croker"
Yes I was and we weren't hard to count.......

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 279 - 02/04/2024 21:46:05    2535275

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Yes I was and we weren't hard to count......."
The reason we have poor support at present is because the under 50's have very little interest.Go in to any pub now and you would never hear any talk about football.We had huge support pre 1992 and for a time afterwards.From then on it started to decline.we had a big bandwagon support 2011-2014 but our core thick and thin support has dwindled and will continue to fall as our supporters age.There was a time when there was football talk everywhere,coming out of mass,in the shops and pubs etc.Nowadays the younger generation are not even talking about the game coming out of the ground,they have immediately moved on to something else.I don't like it but that is my observation.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1058 - 02/04/2024 22:20:03    2535281

I watched Lynch jog back to his goal on several occasions when Derry lost possession. I found it very odd. At one point three Dublin forwards were being marked by three Derry backs and the ball could have easily went in and here he was jogging back. You'd see lads running quicker to the jacks. This happened most of the game. He was holding back. I'm not sure why. He must have wild trust in the defenders. On a side note this is our strongest 15 for the year if everyone is match fit. Would be a very exciting team to watch.

Patton
Moore
Mc Cole
Mc Colgan
Ban
Mc Gonagle
Shane O Donnell
Langan
Thompson
Ryan
Mogan
Conor O Donnell
Aaron Doherty
Oisin Gallan
Niall O Donnell

Very strong Bench. Experienced.
Paddy
Jamie
Hughie
Odhran Doc
Curran
Daire O B
Mc Kelvey

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 03/04/2024 00:04:59    2535300

Replying To gunman:  "The reason we have poor support at present is because the under 50's have very little interest.Go in to any pub now and you would never hear any talk about football.We had huge support pre 1992 and for a time afterwards.From then on it started to decline.we had a big bandwagon support 2011-2014 but our core thick and thin support has dwindled and will continue to fall as our supporters age.There was a time when there was football talk everywhere,coming out of mass,in the shops and pubs etc.Nowadays the younger generation are not even talking about the game coming out of the ground,they have immediately moved on to something else.I don't like it but that is my observation."
I believe that most families are too busy at weekends with all the various activities to make the commitment to go to matches on an ongoing basis. Kids now, boys and girls, have Gaelic, soccer, swimming, rugby, baskeyball, gymnastics, music etc. In my day you had one or the other. This also means that most families have two cars full time on the road.
And there's also so much choice on television, now with a dodgy box you can have access to almost any match you want.

But hopefully when the summer arrives we will get the bandwagon back on the road, and increase our core support.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 03/04/2024 08:06:37    2535311

Replying To totalrecall:  "Dublin were easily the worst supported team on Sunday given the amount of dubs that stayed at home and the fact that they have about a quarterofvtge population. Very poor crowd overall, condensed season not working and Easter weekend a Terrible time to play league finals, should be a break between last round of league and between league finals and championship"
I'm not talking about the population of a county. I'm talking about people who turned up on the day, and we definitely had the lowest support. If we beat Derry then the bandwagon supporters will start to appear. I honestly think we'll beat Derry we're getting them at the perfect time. There on a high and expected to win but football never works like that. If we can be in the game with 10 left, doubts will creep into the Derry team. Hopefully I'm right .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2408 - 03/04/2024 08:38:16    2535317

Replying To TheRock2121:  "I watched Lynch jog back to his goal on several occasions when Derry lost possession. I found it very odd. At one point three Dublin forwards were being marked by three Derry backs and the ball could have easily went in and here he was jogging back. You'd see lads running quicker to the jacks. This happened most of the game. He was holding back. I'm not sure why. He must have wild trust in the defenders. On a side note this is our strongest 15 for the year if everyone is match fit. Would be a very exciting team to watch.

Patton
Moore
Mc Cole
Mc Colgan
Ban
Mc Gonagle
Shane O Donnell
Langan
Thompson
Ryan
Mogan
Conor O Donnell
Aaron Doherty
Oisin Gallan
Niall O Donnell

Very strong Bench. Experienced.
Paddy
Jamie
Hughie
Odhran Doc
Curran
Daire O B
Mc Kelvey"
It might be your strongest team, rock, but I don't think most would agree with you to be honest.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 227 - 03/04/2024 09:48:22    2535329