You gather up a rake of lads into a small circle about 60 metres out and about 10 metres in from the sideline. You bomb the ball out and hope that someone might be able to fist it on further and pray that to goes to a Roscommon player. If that does not happen, don't panic. Just repeat over and over again.
letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 749 - 01/06/2025 20:08:12 2614132 Link 1 |
Was no repeat of Cian Darcy yesterday whereby one player caught a number of kick outs totally unmarked. Yesterday we contested the majority of all kick outs and the tactics was to punch than catch, so many broke into the hands of Meath players them the breaks on breaks.
The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4070 - 01/06/2025 20:16:14 2614134 Link 0 |
And at what stage does someone say maybe that's not really working, let's try something different??
D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 280 - 01/06/2025 20:44:27 2614142 Link 0 |
Most important part is to leave your best high fielder of a ball sitting on the bench watching this all unfold
D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 280 - 01/06/2025 20:45:36 2614143 Link 0 |
Is there more that can be done to win some of those breaks? The only other bit of mixing that can be done is a few short ones, I thought Carroll possibly should have done that earlier in the first half to break the sequence of losing the long ones. I did think he was a bit slow in the second half with the restarts but maybe he was being extra cautious not to make a mistake, which you can understand. The only other way you can mix them is a low trajectory extremely accurate kick to a free man around the middle third but those are high risk if they don't come off. FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 148 - 01/06/2025 21:10:45 2614153 Link 0 |
Don't know what can be done on breaks it's a lot of pot luck. Short kick out are more risky that ever now. On the slow kick out we need ball boys or more balls in place behind the goals in the Hyde Park it was similar today for Kildare v Sligo.
The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4070 - 01/06/2025 21:54:42 2614165 Link 0 |
Yes it was a good win for Roscommon, (not a great one….to quote a certain soccer pundit….) No I'm joking ANY win in Croker is brilliant. Now go on and build on it….while I appreciate that Tooreen and Ballyhaunis have really boxed well above their weight in recent years and brought Mayo hurling along with them ….you in Roscommon have a broader hurling base, so now you must capitalize on this victory. Also remember when ye sent Wexford packing in Centenary Year. Rich, rich history for the small ball enthusiasts… Drive on……No reason why you can't push on and up a grade or TWO. BUT so absolutely crazy that your hurlers were in Croker while your footballers were at home…there is absolutely NO brainpower in the upper echelons of the GAA. WHY wasn't the Roscommon v Meath football game played on Sunday, in the Hyde, with the possibility of your hurlers being the guests of honour, there were several games in the very same championship scheduled for Sunday, it wasn't on TV, so there was NO scheduling issue and I believe it will be a fortnight before the final games of the round robin in the group is played…it is fu..ing maddening how the powers-that-be treat the people who try night and day, in all sorts of conditions to promote our UNESCO designated sport…and give it some extra exposure MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1106 - 02/06/2025 00:46:56 2614199 Link 2 |
Winning breaking ball is not pot luck. Some teams are a lot better at it than others. Roscommon have struggled to win breaking ball at midfield for some time. It's something Fr Devine has written about more than once in his gaa gleanings column in the Roscommon herald so it has been an issue with Roscommon. Does anybody think Aaron Brady of Elphin should be tried in goal. He was an impressive underage keeper. I don't think Conor Carroll has been as good this season as he was previously.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2443 - 02/06/2025 05:44:23 2614211 Link 1 |
Brady should have been used at least once in the League, by match 3 at the latest. If he showed well then alternate the 2 till end of NFL, if he didn't then at least he'd have been given the chance. Too late now for this year. Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2369 - 02/06/2025 12:42:25 2614278 Link 0 |
It's pot luck especially when the tactics is to punch than catch the ball, was so many deflections of arms,backs etc on Saturday and the wind played puck on kick outs also. The amount of times the ball fell in Meath's direction on breakz was incredible. Even though we were beaten in breaks we had more than enough opportunities to win which is where I'd look at more, Fr Devine no doubt will be on tomorrow praising himself about the draw pre match prediction. Carroll has struggled since the tweaks was brought for the Cavan match in round 6 of the NFL. I agree with Seanfanbocht on Aaron Brady. The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4070 - 02/06/2025 13:29:47 2614295 Link 0 |
Brady has been shockingly treated. Fair play to the lad for keeping the head down. I wouldn't have the patience for the sacrifice.
Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 538 - 02/06/2025 13:46:51 2614304 Link 1 |
It was a mixed bag at the weekend really. Meath as we know had the forwards to kick 2 pointers with the aid of the strong breeze. Did we stand off a little bit outside the arc? we really need to be putting pressure on players as the 2 pointers are really swinging games in teams favour. Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 71 - 03/06/2025 09:22:40 2614472 Link 0 |
Cork will be a really tough battle now. Scoring efficiency is also something we need to improve on. We had more than enough chances in the second half against Meath to win the game (I know Meath will feel they wasted a very good chance at the death). Scoring efficiency also let us down against Kerry. Not saying that would have changed the result but missed chances plus technical breaches changed the complexion of that first half. If we can improve our scoring efficiency and cut out unforced errors at least we should be much more competitive in games. I can't see us ever dominating a game at midfield but if you could get that to close to 50 50 and then take your chances when you get them. It was great to get the two goals at the weekend. We've been creating but not taking them. Brian Stack had another potential goal chance early in the first half against Meath, thought his arm was pulled but maybe good defending by Meath to snuff it out.
FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 148 - 03/06/2025 10:09:41 2614488 Link 0 |
As I saw it there was a high tackle on his shoulder (therefore foul as not on the ball) before he took the "shot". Should have been an advantage and then a free when he missed. Of course the incident wasn't even shown on the silly Saturday game. Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2369 - 03/06/2025 11:35:34 2614520 Link 0 |