Well maybe don't have 3 of you're players sledging a lad on the ground that they just turned over and the whole thing wouldn't have started in the first place. I expect that from Ulster teams and Dublin of the pillar caffrey days, not the Rossies. Nobody goes out to dislocate someone's shoulder, nor would anyone think they'd do it by pulling his arm. An unfortunate accident, hopefully he's back soon.
southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 999 - 01/06/2025 11:19:45 2613944 Link 0 |
Ya unfortunately everything you said is true. All them boys are in their 30s now and the end is coming for them. I really thought 7/8 years ago that id see these lads really compete with the top 4/5 teams in the country for an all Ireland. Didn't think we would win one but I thought we have the talent to compete with all the top teams consistently and make it to a semi final at least. Time is seriously running out for them lads and I don't think the lads coming behind them are as good as the smiths Murtaghs and Daly's etc. when this year is over we need the county board and whoever else is involved in picking a new manager to go the best we possibly can in all areas. We need top coaches or the younger lads coming up will fall into the same bad habits and inconsistency we have seen for most of my life. I look at Monaghan this year and in past years and think why can't we do what they do. We have as much underage success as them but they seem to have that want more than us and that bit between their teeth. We need to start installing a bit of nastiness in our teams at all ages. Sick and tired of hearing people say ah roscommon have lovely forwards and a nice team. That's not going to get you anywhere.
dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1256 - 01/06/2025 11:35:44 2613950 Link 2 |
Difference between ourselves cavan mayo is they haven't played 7 division 1 and 2 teams in a row and have not beaten any of them 2 draws v a relegated Westmeath and Meath that's what we have in 7 games. It's not a tap u can just turn on because ur in croker Our form is atrocious we had 15 minutes roughly to finish off a Meath team on the ropes coughing up chances against a gale and we couldn't do it. A team with seasoned campaigners a number with 50 plus championship appearances and our game management was dire. We are at this moment quite poor even in a wide open all ireland year where 7 or 8 teams have realistic chances OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1798 - 01/06/2025 11:50:42 2613954 Link 2 |
Enjoyed the game yesterday. If we play good football e.g., Tyrone last year, Dublin the year before , beating Galway and mayo in Connaught and some of the league games I am happy and are very enjoyable days out. Some of our players were outstanding and hopefully a few more might step up to the mark next day , We are a small County and the players are doing their best, Pointing out how old the players are and that we would not worry the top teams is no help , management got a lot right yesterday but could do with wining some more breaking ball in midfield and I thought Connor hand should have got some game time. diehardrossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 9 - 01/06/2025 11:54:54 2613955 Link 1 |
I don't buy the age thing. Monaghan have a scatter of fellas at the 30 mark and well over it too..and McManus played till last year ...all with a lot of football in them and they are still go to men. We actually have a good blend of youth and experience, but I do agree that some of the young fellas coming through need to start stepping up.
FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 148 - 01/06/2025 12:22:25 2613966 Link 0 |
I also enjoyed the game yesterday and felt that several players; particularly Enda Smith played very well. The main problem we have is that we can't seem to pick up enought breaking ball at midfield. Having picked Shane Cunnane, I do not think that enough kickouts went in his direction when he was in good positions a couple of times. While the match could have gone either way, the team have improved substantially since the Galway game and I felt we were unlucky to not win the game. Several of the missed shots by Ben, Daire and Diarmuid etc were just inches wide and we definitely had more chances than Meath, including the missed penalty. Surely it is positive that we are creating the chances? The result just gave the glass half full merchant's the opportunity to jump on the band wagon again. Getting boring at this stage to hear the same story over and over again. (Old historical analysis, team going nowhere etc) More positives yesterday than negatives in my opinion. The fact that Meath can still finish top will mean that Kerry will put their full team out, but we will need a big win over Cork to finish second, assuming that Kerry beat Meath. If we continue to improve, I expect us to beat Cork. All still to play for! letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 749 - 01/06/2025 13:02:56 2613974 Link 0 |
Nor do I buy it. According to some here you would think we had some over the hill team that are soon to draw it's pension. For the record 4 players in their 30s started yesterday and the oldest Ciaráin Murtagh 32 is just back after taking time out. Diarmuid Murtagh,Enda Smith are 30 and David Murray 31. We had nine starters that was aged 20 to 26. Don't know the age of Meath but the likes of Keogh,Menton around for years their average age is probably roughly the same as our own. The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4070 - 01/06/2025 13:41:12 2613985 Link 2 |
I wasn't making the point that Roscommon are an old team. We had a few young players starting yesterday from our U20 All Ireland final team of 2021. However, Roscommon have older players coming towards the end of their careers who were seen as a sort of 'golden generation' in the county and less has been achieved with them than was hoped for. I'm talking about the Murtaghs, the Smiths, the Dalys, Davy Murray. A lot of those outstanding players will be very hard to replace and we have very little to show for them. I agree with Dave1988 that I hoped Roscommon , while maybe not winning the All Ireland with these players, would get to a semi final or final. We haven't won a Connacht title in six years and we still haven't broken our Croke park championship duck or got to a semi final. I think there has been underachievement with the talent there. Roscommon were better yesterday but it still was a home draw against a Division 2 team. If we were going well, we'd have won yesterday. endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2443 - 01/06/2025 14:12:51 2613991 Link 1 |
I'd look at it another way. Thanks in no small part to that generation of players who have a few years left in them yet we had a decade of playing in division 1 or gaining promotion to division 1 and are in contention of reaching the last 8 of the championship most of the time and we'll be back in contention should we avoid defeat to Cork.
The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4070 - 01/06/2025 14:40:03 2613995 Link 2 |
Those lads will definitely be hard to replace. But I heard on one of the podcasts about our lads having a lot of miles on the clock. That's really lazy analysis. I agree that we have under achieved with that group of lads. I think we need to completely discount the league going by the championship so far. Look at Cavan putting it up to Donegal probably unlucky to be that much behind at half time. Meath might be Div 2 but bet Dublin. If the Dubs beat Armagh today everyone will be on about them as one of the all Ireland favourites. Does anyone know the kick out stats for yesterday? FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 148 - 01/06/2025 14:50:05 2613999 Link 0 |
Does anyone know what ourr kickouts strategy was yesterday???
D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 280 - 01/06/2025 15:23:30 2614011 Link 0 |
Do we have a kick out strategy.?
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2443 - 01/06/2025 15:59:28 2614021 Link 0 |
Same with most teams with these new rules I'd presume. Hit and hope out to the middle of the field and hope to catch or gather possession on the breaks
Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 471 - 01/06/2025 17:01:04 2614050 Link 0 |
Beat Cork in 2 weeks time and into last 12
Jack L (None) - Posts: 3154 - 01/06/2025 17:50:43 2614072 Link 0 |
Well full ofporter and letsgetgoing thanks for information on parking and places to eat.Parked beside Tesco's and as yee said not far of a walk to the pitch.Went to Gleesons after the match for something to eat and it hit the spot for sure and staff very friendly.Was on the side terrace surrounded by Roscommon supporters bar a few from Meath but the banter and craic was good.Its a lovely stadium and hopefully we might do Navan up someday like it.Id say it some atmosphere when it's full.On the game could've went either way and I thought when Costello went through after the hooter wed snatch it but then yee went down and bar a great tackle from Rafferty yee could've won it.Yee have a few fine footballers and play like that yesterday you should get over the line v Cork.Whats the story with your goalkeeper? he takes so long to kick the ball out.I could understand the first half against the wind but he was the same in the 2nd half with it and when he did kick it,it was kicked long all the time.Best of luck for the rest of the year. Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 01/06/2025 18:50:32 2614097 Link 2 |
That's ok if you are competing and at least breaking even, we were wiped out on our own kickouts but continued to do the same thing over and over
D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 280 - 01/06/2025 19:06:04 2614102 Link 1 |
Galway did well Drax to come back against Derry from 8 points down with 7 minutes to go. Ye'll need to improve though to be contenders. Conroy is showing his age and was taken off. Great goal from Shane Walsh but some of his passing was really poor. Ye have a gem in young Matthew Thompson. We might meet ye again maybe.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2443 - 01/06/2025 19:29:13 2614113 Link 0 |
Delighted that you enjoyed the craic and day out in Roscommon Proudroyal. We don't always pat ourselves on the back, but the fundraising and the development of the Hyde over the last few years deserves credit to all concerned.
letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 749 - 01/06/2025 19:53:08 2614124 Link 0 |
Meath wiped Dublin out on their own kickouts also, Cluxton the best in the business struggled on the hit and hope stuff we have now on kick outs.
Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 471 - 01/06/2025 19:54:22 2614125 Link 0 |
Conor Glass wiped ye out at midfield today. It happens. For Roscommon though, it happens every day. Cian Darcy wiped us in Salthill.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2443 - 01/06/2025 20:01:27 2614129 Link 0 |