Roscommon GAA thread

Great win for the under 20's this evening. What makes it special is that they beat a very good Galway team who scored some great points under pressure. Though it was a great team performance with the extra sprinkling of a few very good players who will undoubtedly step up to senior before too long. We'll deserved man of the match to Shane McGinley who scored 1-6 and also laid off two goals. He must have ran 70mts at full speed past several players to get on to the pass for his own goal. Bit of work still to do on our kickout strategy, but very impressed with how hard the team worked in defence, the number of turnovers they won and the fast and accurate transition into attack.
Tyrone might be favourites for the semi final but I think this team might cause a surprise or two yet. Congratulations to the team, management and support staff. Hope that there will be a large Roscommon support for the semi final next weekend.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 537 - 05/05/2024 00:34:10    2543013

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - did you get a bang on the head? You are a Galway man/poster and are no rossie.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3776 - 05/05/2024 01:24:27    2543015

Replying To LottoPlus:  "Roscommon had a great win tonight in under 20s. Super second half. As a Rossie we got the rub of the green from the referee especially last goal when the Galway lad was clearly fouled. Also I was disappointed with some of our supporters jeering at the Galway lads. We need to learn to be good winners as well as losers"
Is this post a windup all the way from Kilkenny..

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2187 - 05/05/2024 03:56:41    2543023

Replying To The_analyser:  "Congrats to all the Roscommon U20 players and management in MacHale Park.

We fully deserved that Connacht U20 title today and apart from the last 10/15 minutes of the 1st half we were the better team in that match and margin about right in the end although it could have been more as we missed a few other goals chances. A pity the lads don't have a least two weeks to prepare for All Ireland semi final but that's HQ for you and their rushed nature of these inter county competitions now.

Between U20 and U17 this year is proof there is nothing wrong with our conveyor belt."
Yes our underage teams have been very impressive this year. It's a pity the seniors don't show some of the resilience of the U20s . Isn't the scheduling problem in the U 20s down at least in part to the Connacht Council. All the other provinces had their U20 Final earlier than Connacht with Meath winning Leinster last Monday and Tyrone and Kerry winning their provinces last Wednesday. The shorter turnaround may put Roscommon at a disadvantage but as against that Tyrone had to play extra time and penalties in the Ulster Final. The standard in U20 looks high this year. Meath and Kerry also look good. It'll be an interesting All Ireland series.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2187 - 05/05/2024 04:08:58    2543024

Replying To The_analyser:  "Congrats to all the Roscommon U20 players and management in MacHale Park.

We fully deserved that Connacht U20 title today and apart from the last 10/15 minutes of the 1st half we were the better team in that match and margin about right in the end although it could have been more as we missed a few other goals chances. A pity the lads don't have a least two weeks to prepare for All Ireland semi final but that's HQ for you and their rushed nature of these inter county competitions now.

Between U20 and U17 this year is proof there is nothing wrong with our conveyor belt."
Can't see why the Semis couldn't be 18th and Final the 1st June weekend.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1467 - 05/05/2024 08:57:10    2543040

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Prenty is damned when he does and damned when he doesn't. He does more than he doesn't. I'm not a bit biased though!"
They love complaining here. Well done to their u20s.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11248 - 05/05/2024 08:57:36    2543041

Well done to the Roscommon U20 on the result. Showed extreme resilience throughout the campaign. RossiesAbu

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 101 - 05/05/2024 10:07:07    2543046

Well done to team and management yesterday. They showed everything you would want in a team. Our half forward line was unbelievable in defence and attack . The fitness levels they showed yesterday was unreal. Hesters work rate is off the charts and he's a very good footballer aswell. He can do it all. It just shows you don't need defenders starting in the half forward line you just need your forwards willing to put In a massive shift for 70 minutes

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1066 - 05/05/2024 11:44:58    2543065

Congrats Ros, fair play to all involved. Goals win games. Will be shouting for ye the next day.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1676 - 05/05/2024 11:52:27    2543068

Great win yesterday and well deserved over the 60 mins. Can I ask why is Ryan dowling not starting. He'd be the most talented forward of this grade in my opinion . Was he injured earlier or what. I've asked this a month ago but mods wouldn't allow it.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 520 - 05/05/2024 12:04:02    2543073

I will be for Roscommon too the next day. Hopefully ye can win it out. Goals win games.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 93 - 05/05/2024 14:36:41    2543114

So it's Mayo for us in round 2 in the group stage. It's a shame we have to play Dublin first and the following week against a rested Mayo.

Today Galway 16 scores from 25 shots compared to us 13 from 28 shots v Mayo two weeks ago and both didn't take their goal chances. A O'Shea held scoreless and Ryan O'Donoghue held to a 1 from play a big difference from the two games

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3776 - 05/05/2024 18:20:09    2543174

Replying To JahTribe:  "I will be for Roscommon too the next day. Hopefully ye can win it out. Goals win games."
Well done to your seniors today. Thought ye were the better team over. Deserved win and great to see the celebrations after the game. You wouldn't see that reaction to often from the Galway management players and supporters. It seemed to mean a hell of a lot more this year

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1066 - 05/05/2024 18:25:39    2543177

Replying To The_analyser:  "So it's Mayo for us in round 2 in the group stage. It's a shame we have to play Dublin first and the following week against a rested Mayo.

Today Galway 16 scores from 25 shots compared to us 13 from 28 shots v Mayo two weeks ago and both didn't take their goal chances. A O'Shea held scoreless and Ryan O'Donoghue held to a 1 from play a big difference from the two games"
Mayo are very ordinary at the moment. Unfortunately Roscommon have been really poor all year and couldn't capitalise on Mayo's ordinariness. Galway celebrated the provincial title because it's all they'll get. Connacht is miles off having an All Ireland winning team. 23 years and counting. Today was a close and exciting match but the quality was not very good.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2187 - 05/05/2024 18:53:32    2543186

Replying To The_analyser:  "So it's Mayo for us in round 2 in the group stage. It's a shame we have to play Dublin first and the following week against a rested Mayo.

Today Galway 16 scores from 25 shots compared to us 13 from 28 shots v Mayo two weeks ago and both didn't take their goal chances. A O'Shea held scoreless and Ryan O'Donoghue held to a 1 from play a big difference from the two games"
Yea, they targeted the two of them brilliantly. Also some great direct running to either score or draw fouls. To be fair Mayo, especially Conroy very good at that. Something we need to do more of.

Mayo in the Hyde again? I think ours has become a bit more of a group of death, in that I'd give Cavan a better chance of causing an upset and taking a prelim QF place than Westmeath in their's.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 816 - 05/05/2024 19:16:00    2543192

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Yea, they targeted the two of them brilliantly. Also some great direct running to either score or draw fouls. To be fair Mayo, especially Conroy very good at that. Something we need to do more of.

Mayo in the Hyde again? I think ours has become a bit more of a group of death, in that I'd give Cavan a better chance of causing an upset and taking a prelim QF place than Westmeath in their's."
I'd give us every chance v Mayo and Cavan bring it on I say !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 620 - 05/05/2024 19:33:14    2543197

Replying To endgame:  "Mayo are very ordinary at the moment. Unfortunately Roscommon have been really poor all year and couldn't capitalise on Mayo's ordinariness. Galway celebrated the provincial title because it's all they'll get. Connacht is miles off having an All Ireland winning team. 23 years and counting. Today was a close and exciting match but the quality was not very good."
I disagree with you.
It was an ex excellent game of football. Exactly what was wanted . Lovely weather, Brilliant scores, Controversy , great saves, loads of mistakes,lead exchanging hands., Hopefully we will see more games like this in the championship.. No need for you to be bitter and say "That's all they will win" The next trophy on offer is the Sam Maguire and both teams are well down the pecking order. Well done to the Roscommon U20 team. In not going to say "that's all you will win" Instead I will say best of luck and I hope you win it outright.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1688 - 05/05/2024 20:34:40    2543209

Replying To endgame:  "Mayo are very ordinary at the moment. Unfortunately Roscommon have been really poor all year and couldn't capitalise on Mayo's ordinariness. Galway celebrated the provincial title because it's all they'll get. Connacht is miles off having an All Ireland winning team. 23 years and counting. Today was a close and exciting match but the quality was not very good."
You are a bit of moaning Mary aren't you? Championship isn't all about who wins the All Ireland title. Regardless of how ordinary you think any team is it was two Div one teams in action and two big neighbour rivals fighting it out for a provincial title. One needs to appreciate Connacht titles/finals because once they are gone they aren't coming back and memorable moments like that final will be lost to history and folklore.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 112 - 05/05/2024 20:38:07    2543211

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Yea, they targeted the two of them brilliantly. Also some great direct running to either score or draw fouls. To be fair Mayo, especially Conroy very good at that. Something we need to do more of.

Mayo in the Hyde again? I think ours has become a bit more of a group of death, in that I'd give Cavan a better chance of causing an upset and taking a prelim QF place than Westmeath in their's."
One group

Derry
Galway
Armagh ( I think they'll lose next week)
Westmeath

the other group

Dublin
Mayo
Roscommon
Cavan

Strong argument that your group is now the stronger of the two and will be hardest to finish 3rd place in it.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3362 - 05/05/2024 20:45:00    2543212

Ye need to go at Mayo down the middle like yer U20 against us the other night and man mark or double mark Ryan O Donoghue. If O Donoghue is out of the game Mayo will struggle to score. Ye need more in midfield though, Enda not playing as well as last year. Hope ye can beat them and make the top 3, I think Dublin will easily top the group.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 93 - 05/05/2024 20:54:10    2543215