Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I'm not sure about the football - might not make it seen as it will be same weekend - but I'll be in Carlow for the hurling, and hopefully Thurles after that, and have been in Tullamore three times already this year :-)

If there is such a thing as karma then our hurlers of all ages are certainly making up for any perceived bias towards Dessie's lads."
Eoghan O' Donnell's (Captain) father; Michael is a Rossie from Curraghroe. He is a great full back and a possible All Star in the future.
Michael himself played a few times with the Roscommon footballers in his day.
If I am not mistaken Eoghan played minor for both Dublin footballers and hurlers in the same year and played for the senior footballers also last year.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 520 - 07/06/2023 15:23:23    2484774

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Eoghan O' Donnell's (Captain) father; Michael is a Rossie from Curraghroe. He is a great full back and a possible All Star in the future.
Michael himself played a few times with the Roscommon footballers in his day.
If I am not mistaken Eoghan played minor for both Dublin footballers and hurlers in the same year and played for the senior footballers also last year."
Didn't know that. Yes, he is good footballer and thought for a while he was lost to the big ball when he was called up. I'd say Donoghue might have had to do a bit of persuading although I am just guessing. Hurling is his first game and be shame if he gave it up at county.

Speaking of Roscommon and hurling, anyone remember the famous Battle of Athleague - early/mid 80s - when youse beat us in league? It was no place for the squeamish!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2586 - 07/06/2023 16:07:26    2484789

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Didn't know that. Yes, he is good footballer and thought for a while he was lost to the big ball when he was called up. I'd say Donoghue might have had to do a bit of persuading although I am just guessing. Hurling is his first game and be shame if he gave it up at county.

Speaking of Roscommon and hurling, anyone remember the famous Battle of Athleague - early/mid 80s - when youse beat us in league? It was no place for the squeamish!"
Didn't Ros hurlers bate Wexford back in those days too?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1450 - 07/06/2023 17:54:47    2484814

Keith Doyle seems to have lost his starting place at midfield since Eddie Nolan returned from injury. I wonder how people close to the Brigid's scene rate Eddie Nolan. Does he have the mobility required for Croke park. I know he's a good long range free taker but he hit a very poor one off the ground in The Hyde last Sunday. Keith Doyle might feel a little unlucky.It was good to see Colin Walsh playing last Sunday. The making of this Roscommon team under Davy Burke involves the integration of younger players from the U20 All Ireland final team of 2021 with established players like the Smiths, Dalys and Murtaghs. Cian McKeon is also worth a mention. He's been excellent in the last two games and Dylan Ruane is a great worker on the team.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2181 - 07/06/2023 19:51:19    2484834

Replying To endgame:  "Keith Doyle seems to have lost his starting place at midfield since Eddie Nolan returned from injury. I wonder how people close to the Brigid's scene rate Eddie Nolan. Does he have the mobility required for Croke park. I know he's a good long range free taker but he hit a very poor one off the ground in The Hyde last Sunday. Keith Doyle might feel a little unlucky.It was good to see Colin Walsh playing last Sunday. The making of this Roscommon team under Davy Burke involves the integration of younger players from the U20 All Ireland final team of 2021 with established players like the Smiths, Dalys and Murtaghs. Cian McKeon is also worth a mention. He's been excellent in the last two games and Dylan Ruane is a great worker on the team."
Our long range frees/45s in the past two games have not been good. In tight games they could be the difference in winning and losing as the Dublin game proved. Keith Doyle has played a good bit of football so far this year, I wonder did he need a rest? Dylan Ruane seems to just keep improving. There's some great young talent there to put pressure on places. Shane Cunnane was listed as a sub the last day. If Ben O'Carroll continues to improve and gets that bit stronger he will win nearly every ball played quickly in to him. Hope he stays injury free.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 799 - 08/06/2023 09:56:07    2484868

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Our long range frees/45s in the past two games have not been good. In tight games they could be the difference in winning and losing as the Dublin game proved. Keith Doyle has played a good bit of football so far this year, I wonder did he need a rest? Dylan Ruane seems to just keep improving. There's some great young talent there to put pressure on places. Shane Cunnane was listed as a sub the last day. If Ben O'Carroll continues to improve and gets that bit stronger he will win nearly every ball played quickly in to him. Hope he stays injury free."
Dylan has been super as of late, does a lot of the donkey work that can go un-noticed. Also very early days I know, but could we see the Rossies long wait for an All-Star end this year? Surely Ciaráin and Brian Stack are worth at least a nomination.

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 139 - 08/06/2023 10:14:50    2484871

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Dylan has been super as of late, does a lot of the donkey work that can go un-noticed. Also very early days I know, but could we see the Rossies long wait for an All-Star end this year? Surely Ciaráin and Brian Stack are worth at least a nomination."
All Stars are for AI Finalists with 3 token ones for the losing semi Finalists and League winners.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1450 - 08/06/2023 10:21:00    2484874

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Didn't Ros hurlers bate Wexford back in those days too?"
They did, In Centenary Cup 1984. It might have been the same year, They had a good enough team. "Robust" too, as I recall!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2586 - 08/06/2023 10:28:44    2484877

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "All Stars are for AI Finalists with 3 token ones for the losing semi Finalists and League winners."
Good point, my optimism getting the better of me!

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 139 - 08/06/2023 10:28:56    2484878

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "All Stars are for AI Finalists with 3 token ones for the losing semi Finalists and League winners."
That is correct but needs to be reviewed after this season with all the additional games.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 799 - 08/06/2023 10:42:59    2484884

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Dylan has been super as of late, does a lot of the donkey work that can go un-noticed. Also very early days I know, but could we see the Rossies long wait for an All-Star end this year? Surely Ciaráin and Brian Stack are worth at least a nomination."
I'd have Carroll and Ben O'Carroll in there too at this stage. But as we know what happens before the semis doesn't count for too much

Tiern1 (Limerick) - Posts: 21 - 08/06/2023 11:51:42    2484901

Replying To Tiern1:  "I'd have Carroll and Ben O'Carroll in there too at this stage. But as we know what happens before the semis doesn't count for too much"
Early days but Enda Smith also. He was Man of the match in two of Roscommon's championship matches to date. Roscommon though will have to go a lot further in the championship to get any All Star awards or even nominations.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2181 - 09/06/2023 13:10:20    2485112

Replying To endgame:  "Early days but Enda Smith also. He was Man of the match in two of Roscommon's championship matches to date. Roscommon though will have to go a lot further in the championship to get any All Star awards or even nominations."
The lads really need to win an important knock out championship game to make their mark. They definitely have it in them so hopefully they can do it.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 799 - 09/06/2023 20:48:38    2485187

Galway and Mayo both well beaten by Derry and Monaghan respectively in the All Ireland Minor quarter finals. Takes some of the sting out of the disappointing one point defeat suffered by Roscommon in Castlebar a few weeks ago. The Connacht minor championship was obviously not of high quality this year. It would be good to see Monaghan win it out now. They look good and their centre back was outstanding today. Monaghan only previously got to the All Ireland Minor Final on one occasion which was in 1939 where they were beaten by Roscommon. The first of our four All Ireland Minor titles and the start of the most glorious era in Roscommon football.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2181 - 10/06/2023 19:23:07    2485343

Replying To endgame:  "Galway and Mayo both well beaten by Derry and Monaghan respectively in the All Ireland Minor quarter finals. Takes some of the sting out of the disappointing one point defeat suffered by Roscommon in Castlebar a few weeks ago. The Connacht minor championship was obviously not of high quality this year. It would be good to see Monaghan win it out now. They look good and their centre back was outstanding today. Monaghan only previously got to the All Ireland Minor Final on one occasion which was in 1939 where they were beaten by Roscommon. The first of our four All Ireland Minor titles and the start of the most glorious era in Roscommon football."
On the night against Mayo we left that win behind us and we were without our top scorer Niall Heneghan also. This grade is all about player development and getting as many as possible to excel at adult level be it for their clubs or county level in the years ahead.

What the two matches showed today in Carrick on Shannon was the strength of Ulster at U17 this year. Tyrone was also strong losing out on penalties to Monaghan, they were strongly fancied after their school teams won the A and B school All Ireland titles and I'll be surprised if one of Monaghan or Derry don't go on to win this All Ireland now.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3766 - 10/06/2023 22:38:24    2485402

Replying To The_analyser:  "On the night against Mayo we left that win behind us and we were without our top scorer Niall Heneghan also. This grade is all about player development and getting as many as possible to excel at adult level be it for their clubs or county level in the years ahead.

What the two matches showed today in Carrick on Shannon was the strength of Ulster at U17 this year. Tyrone was also strong losing out on penalties to Monaghan, they were strongly fancied after their school teams won the A and B school All Ireland titles and I'll be surprised if one of Monaghan or Derry don't go on to win this All Ireland now."
Ye keep on about games that apparently ye left behind. I hear the same about the u21 game a few years ago when we beat ye in Sligo. But the fact is ye didn't. Sure we should have won three or four senior all Irelands in the last 10 years. But you know what we didn't.

One thing I will agree with is winning all Irelands at underage is not the be all. It's about player development. From our won point of view there are 3 or 4 players on that current mayo minor team that will be senior players eventually. That's all that matters.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11240 - 11/06/2023 09:01:55    2485428

Replying To yew_tree:  "Ye keep on about games that apparently ye left behind. I hear the same about the u21 game a few years ago when we beat ye in Sligo. But the fact is ye didn't. Sure we should have won three or four senior all Irelands in the last 10 years. But you know what we didn't.

One thing I will agree with is winning all Irelands at underage is not the be all. It's about player development. From our won point of view there are 3 or 4 players on that current mayo minor team that will be senior players eventually. That's all that matters."
Every county talks about games left behind bar maybe Kerry, Dublin and Kilkenny. We still talk in Roscommon about the 1980 All Ireland Final as one that got away and then there were All Ireland semi finals lost by 1 point in 1977, 1979 and 1991. Mayo could have won a number of the finals they've lost but they didn't. We did like the look of a fast improving Roscommon minor team this Summer but yesterday showed that Ulster's standard is far ahead of Connacht's this year. Last year was different with an all Connacht All Ireland Final. With minor U17, it's very hard to say that 3 or 4 players on any minor team will make it at senior. There's just too long a time gap and a lot can change. Many's the good senior player never played minor at all.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2181 - 11/06/2023 11:27:39    2485459

Replying To yew_tree:  "Ye keep on about games that apparently ye left behind. I hear the same about the u21 game a few years ago when we beat ye in Sligo. But the fact is ye didn't. Sure we should have won three or four senior all Irelands in the last 10 years. But you know what we didn't.

One thing I will agree with is winning all Irelands at underage is not the be all. It's about player development. From our won point of view there are 3 or 4 players on that current mayo minor team that will be senior players eventually. That's all that matters."
Oh yes the 2016 U21 Connacht final one that's hard to forget as it was a game we should have ended as contest by half time.

Add in the injuries before the game and during it , plus black card before the break (player wasn't allowed back on then) and his replacement at fault for the goal 2nd half.

I'd also be quietly confident we'll get a handful of this year's U17s to represent the seniors in the years ahead.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3766 - 11/06/2023 14:05:56    2485489

Replying To The_analyser:  "Oh yes the 2016 U21 Connacht final one that's hard to forget as it was a game we should have ended as contest by half time.

Add in the injuries before the game and during it , plus black card before the break (player wasn't allowed back on then) and his replacement at fault for the goal 2nd half.

I'd also be quietly confident we'll get a handful of this year's U17s to represent the seniors in the years ahead."
And of course the game had to be moved from The Hyde to Sligo. Mayo also went on to win the All Ireland. So yes a painful one for Roscommon.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2181 - 11/06/2023 14:27:51    2485498

Replying To endgame:  "And of course the game had to be moved from The Hyde to Sligo. Mayo also went on to win the All Ireland. So yes a painful one for Roscommon."
Minding the pitch for a dead rubber round 7 league game which then would get switched to Carrick. Thankfully a new pitch was got from that fiasco.

I remarked after that 2016 Connacht final to a group of Mayo supporters that they'd go on to win the All Ireland. Was no side of Dublin 2012,2014 or Tyrone 2015 quality in the All Ireland series and Connacht was the clear stand out province that year.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3766 - 11/06/2023 16:02:03    2485526