Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Not sure about that. Good teams find ways to win anyway but referees have enormous influence on close games.

We lost because we deserved to lose, but in the last minute Wexford had a line ball. Conor Mac got a dig and hit his man a shoulder in return. The ref gave a throw ball, Antrim broke and scored a goal. You can make a strong argument that decision cost us our season and allowed Antrim to make history.

We put ourselves in that situation but that decision had a profound impact."
Mcnaughtons 8/9 steps before the goal didn't get pulled either. As well as Antrim played, and I think they played better against us than Dublin did, the referee did have an influence, same as in the Dublin game. Dublin took a puckout for one of the goals before the referee blew the whistle to restart play. The play should have been blown up and the puckout retaken. Instead the referee allowed the Dublin goal to stand. Small margins. We could be coming into this game on 4 points instead of one.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 02/05/2024 05:50:08    2542382

Replying To katser:  "I always like the Wexford style of hurling and I would be expecting some sort of backlash from Wexford on Saturday......you would only imagine a proud team like them should be hurting after the Antrim defeat?
I know Galway aren't humming yet and definitely have a few issues to sort, but I see this as an opportunity to absolutely cut loose and go for it.....Rock and roll kamikaze hurling! high ball, low ball, fast ball, wide ball no tactics whatsoever just let the lads off the leash and let them play their own hurling."
Of course you like the "Wexford style of hurling." They haven't beaten Galway in championship since God was a boy.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2651 - 02/05/2024 08:48:51    2542392

Replying To Viking66:  "Mcnaughtons 8/9 steps before the goal didn't get pulled either. As well as Antrim played, and I think they played better against us than Dublin did, the referee did have an influence, same as in the Dublin game. Dublin took a puckout for one of the goals before the referee blew the whistle to restart play. The play should have been blown up and the puckout retaken. Instead the referee allowed the Dublin goal to stand. Small margins. We could be coming into this game on 4 points instead of one."
I agree with you on those points but from where I was standing we were lucky Chin wasn't blown for steps for his goal before half time too. If we can hurl for the 70 mins im expecting it to go right down to the wire on Saturday and we have to cut out the stupid mistakes if we are to win

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 163 - 02/05/2024 09:42:26    2542403

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Of course you like the "Wexford style of hurling." They haven't beaten Galway in championship since God was a boy."
Maybe not God. Jesus anyway!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 02/05/2024 10:34:33    2542410

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Of course you like the "Wexford style of hurling." They haven't beaten Galway in championship since God was a boy."
But definitely you are right Barney we need to start beating the Antrims, Dublins, Galways, and Westmeaths of this world if we are going to progress. Draws and near misses aren't any good at the end of the day. Apart from the covid year in 2020 we have only lost 1 championship game by more than 4 points in 70 minutes since 2018, that was last year in Salthill when we were missing Chin, Reck etc and we lost by 6. We need to start converting narrow losses, and draws which we seem to specialise in since then, into victories.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 02/05/2024 10:40:41    2542412

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I agree with you on those points but from where I was standing we were lucky Chin wasn't blown for steps for his goal before half time too. If we can hurl for the 70 mins im expecting it to go right down to the wire on Saturday and we have to cut out the stupid mistakes if we are to win"
Chin took 5. I counted them. Too many also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 02/05/2024 10:41:46    2542413

https://galwaybayfm.ie/galway-bay-fm-news-desk/supermacs-galway-jersey-babies-born-on-connacht-and-leinster-final-days/

What happens if Galway don't make the final?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 02/05/2024 10:53:55    2542421

Replying To Viking66:  "https://galwaybayfm.ie/galway-bay-fm-news-desk/supermacs-galway-jersey-babies-born-on-connacht-and-leinster-final-days/

What happens if Galway don't make the final?"
Lets up the Galway team have the same attitude viking

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 163 - 02/05/2024 11:45:00    2542441

Replying To Viking66:  "But definitely you are right Barney we need to start beating the Antrims, Dublins, Galways, and Westmeaths of this world if we are going to progress. Draws and near misses aren't any good at the end of the day. Apart from the covid year in 2020 we have only lost 1 championship game by more than 4 points in 70 minutes since 2018, that was last year in Salthill when we were missing Chin, Reck etc and we lost by 6. We need to start converting narrow losses, and draws which we seem to specialise in since then, into victories."
Start beating the Galways, you'll be back at the business end.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3495 - 02/05/2024 12:25:38    2542445

Replying To Flaherty:  "That's easy for you to say, at least since 2018!"
Well if I wanted to whinge I could do it about 19, but that would be mad like all the other whinging.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4349 - 02/05/2024 12:33:35    2542446

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well if I wanted to whinge I could do it about 19, but that would be mad like all the other whinging."
Not mad at all OTM. Spit it out. What happened in 19?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3495 - 02/05/2024 12:50:53    2542449

Why are all these non-Galway posters spoofing here, on the Galway thread, about their own counties? A bit of manners wouldn't go astray!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1844 - 02/05/2024 13:03:05    2542452

Replying To Viking66:  "But definitely you are right Barney we need to start beating the Antrims, Dublins, Galways, and Westmeaths of this world if we are going to progress. Draws and near misses aren't any good at the end of the day. Apart from the covid year in 2020 we have only lost 1 championship game by more than 4 points in 70 minutes since 2018, that was last year in Salthill when we were missing Chin, Reck etc and we lost by 6. We need to start converting narrow losses, and draws which we seem to specialise in since then, into victories."
Just trying to provoke my old chum Katser :-)

I doubt I will have much to slag him about regarding ourselves this year.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2651 - 02/05/2024 13:20:05    2542455

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Start beating the Galways, you'll be back at the business end."
If we only beat Galway and Kilkenny in any given year we still won't get out of Leinster.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 02/05/2024 14:20:17    2542470

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Just trying to provoke my old chum Katser :-)

I doubt I will have much to slag him about regarding ourselves this year."
I'd be feeling the same. Best get the slagging in in advance of the game Barney;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 02/05/2024 14:21:18    2542471

Replying To baire:  "Why are all these non-Galway posters spoofing here, on the Galway thread, about their own counties? A bit of manners wouldn't go astray!"
Truthfully it's one of the busier spots for debate.

We're playing this weekend so normal to check in for discussion.

I didn't realize there was a bouncer on the door.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2747 - 02/05/2024 14:25:50    2542474

Replying To Oldtourman:  "So you are ready to Canonise Thomas Walsh now. Ye were not that happy with him the day he blew up one of the Cooneys for taking too long over a free, below in Wexford Park."
It's hardly canonising him to say that he gave us the kind of fair shake we don't tend to get when Owens is on the whistle.

It's not that we can't win matches with Owens but we seem to have to be 10 points better to win by 1.

Of course we weren't happy with him in Wexford Park but there's no proof that he wouldn't do the same to anyone else either.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 857 - 02/05/2024 14:51:07    2542482

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "It's hardly canonising him to say that he gave us the kind of fair shake we don't tend to get when Owens is on the whistle.

It's not that we can't win matches with Owens but we seem to have to be 10 points better to win by 1.

Of course we weren't happy with him in Wexford Park but there's no proof that he wouldn't do the same to anyone else either."
This thing about Owens is all a cod. SOD of Cork was giving out in the Paper recently about Gullanes Penalty, that he conceded last year, when Owens was also Ref as if it won the match. For the first 31 Minutes of that game Owens never gave Limerick a single free inside Midfield, despite it being quite clear that Cahallane and Himself were dragging out of Flanagan and Gullane all day. On the basis of one incident, which was debatable anyway SOD, not to mention several other Cork people have got it into their heads that James Owens is against them. Below in the De Park in '18 SOD and Gullane had a tangle, Gulland was put off and SOD was, luckily for him, just yellow carded. A few minutes later he high tackled Cian Lynch around the neck, as he was clear through on goal. It was on its own a Red Card incident all day long. Owens clearly went to his pocket for a card, but drew back when he realised who he had. Yet again some Cork People felt they were hard done that day. Blaming Referees, as somebody said, is like criticizing your Partner to your MIL. She might listen, but twill get you nowhere. You must also objectively objectively view the whole and then judge how it is refeed.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4349 - 02/05/2024 15:55:29    2542494

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Not mad at all OTM. Spit it out. What happened in 19?"
Allan Kelly and his Officials in the AISF against KK. We could give about these men all day, but the fact is that game was lost by our own Management and the fact that we hit 22 wides. It would have been easy to blame the Officials and some Limerick People, but it was a load of nonsense to do so.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4349 - 02/05/2024 15:59:39    2542496

Replying To baire:  "Why are all these non-Galway posters spoofing here, on the Galway thread, about their own counties? A bit of manners wouldn't go astray!"
You weren't too slow to turn up on the Limerick Thread Yourself, so don't go round pontificating-although sorry that is probably the Resident Pontiff's job- about good manners.,

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4349 - 02/05/2024 16:03:51    2542498