Galway Hurling thread

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Where did I mention Linnane or defend Linnane? I wouldn't be starting either. Not sure why you want to drop Linnane to replace him with a lad who did the exact same thing the week before but against Carlow!

Must be nice sitting at games in the press box beside Cyril listening to all his little tidbits."
No I was at the games if you must know but I also heard what Farrell said - perhaps you can't understand that! So you are not defending Linnane - at least you admit that! I am saying the likes of Tuohy gives more options as he is quicker, can break tackles and take a score. I don't see Linnane doing that too often. Also you didn't comment on the other 2 players I mentioned - David Burke and Glennon. If you are an "expert" attending all these games and you don't listen to Cyril why not give us your own "expert opinion" on those players?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3388 - 30/04/2024 15:37:29    2541877

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Since win v Galway in 96 the record is:
Lost 2010, 2017, 2018, 2020, 2023
Drew 2019, 2022
Tbf it is quite a poor record with some heavy enough beatings in there but there was 14 years of not playing each other, which in itself was mad how managed to avoid each other, must've played every other team in Ireland about twice in those 14 years."
Forgot about 2010 tbh. Kind of blanked that year from my hurling memory! God we were terrible! After getting hammered by Galway we got hammered by Tipp. Probably our shortest ever championship season in the qualifier era. 2020 was a joke year. Our lads were playing club championship football in the run up to the intercounty hurling championship. Not sure which bright spark came up with that plan. Galway had their 2nd best ever team for most of that time too. Lost heavily fair and square in 2017 and 2018. Ravaged by injuries last year, no Chin, Reck and walking wounded picked to start. Should've won the 2 drawn games really. Only started hurling with 20 to go in 2022, and Dunbar missed a sitter of a goal in the closing stages 2019. Up or down Pope is right, our recent record is poor. Time to put that right Saturday hopefully.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12196 - 30/04/2024 15:37:54    2541878

Replying To baire:  "Whatever spouting is going on between Galway and Wexford online doesn't change the fact that KK are going for a 5 in a row! That's the real story."
Yep. Hopefully one of us will stop them!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12196 - 30/04/2024 15:39:00    2541880

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I remember a meeting with Galway around 2010 in the Leinster quarter final in Kilkenny. Think Galway won by about 10 points on the day"
Actually forgot we entered a Senior hurling team for Championship that year. We got hammered by Tipp next game and that was it done for the year :-D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12196 - 30/04/2024 15:40:39    2541882

Replying To jm25:  "I see him as a frustrating player good solid hard defender but needs to know his limitations and not be headless he's cat for going for shots and taking on his man when better off letting the ball go as he's not a great striker."
Thought he was an excellent spare man at the back though. Read the game well.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12196 - 30/04/2024 15:41:25    2541884

Anyone hear Cyril Farrell on some podcast. "galway supporters are giving out that there are no young players coming through" and he soon added "they wont stay around if they are not getting matched"..
He also mentioned that a lot of that team were around since Anthony Cunningham's and MOD's era so this is their last chance.
What he seems to be saying is that Galway will need to start rebuilding big time next year and he doesn't know if Shefflin is the man for that.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 62 - 30/04/2024 15:42:43    2541887

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "I'd venture that according to you, the correct Galway team hasn't been picked for a match we have lost in your lifetime :)"
Correct stool - how did you know? lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3388 - 30/04/2024 15:47:58    2541892

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Since win v Galway in 96 the record is:
Lost 2010, 2017, 2018, 2020, 2023
Drew 2019, 2022
Tbf it is quite a poor record with some heavy enough beatings in there but there was 14 years of not playing each other, which in itself was mad how managed to avoid each other, must've played every other team in Ireland about twice in those 14 years."
Just out of interest what is the overall record exactly lad?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12196 - 30/04/2024 15:53:26    2541901

Replying To Viking66:  "Forgot about 2010 tbh. Kind of blanked that year from my hurling memory! God we were terrible! After getting hammered by Galway we got hammered by Tipp. Probably our shortest ever championship season in the qualifier era. 2020 was a joke year. Our lads were playing club championship football in the run up to the intercounty hurling championship. Not sure which bright spark came up with that plan. Galway had their 2nd best ever team for most of that time too. Lost heavily fair and square in 2017 and 2018. Ravaged by injuries last year, no Chin, Reck and walking wounded picked to start. Should've won the 2 drawn games really. Only started hurling with 20 to go in 2022, and Dunbar missed a sitter of a goal in the closing stages 2019. Up or down Pope is right, our recent record is poor. Time to put that right Saturday hopefully."
I was agreeing with you Viking right up until that last short nasty sentence! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3388 - 30/04/2024 15:54:41    2541906

Replying To tommy k:  "I was agreeing with you Viking right up until that last short nasty sentence! lol"
It's not nasty. Hopefully we win. We are way overdue a win over you Baire:-D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12196 - 30/04/2024 16:00:08    2541916

Replying To Viking66:  "It's not nasty. Hopefully we win. We are way overdue a win over you Baire:-D"
Tommy sorry not Baire. You are different people right?!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12196 - 30/04/2024 16:07:39    2541925

Replying To Viking66:  "Forgot about 2010 tbh. Kind of blanked that year from my hurling memory! God we were terrible! After getting hammered by Galway we got hammered by Tipp. Probably our shortest ever championship season in the qualifier era. 2020 was a joke year. Our lads were playing club championship football in the run up to the intercounty hurling championship. Not sure which bright spark came up with that plan. Galway had their 2nd best ever team for most of that time too. Lost heavily fair and square in 2017 and 2018. Ravaged by injuries last year, no Chin, Reck and walking wounded picked to start. Should've won the 2 drawn games really. Only started hurling with 20 to go in 2022, and Dunbar missed a sitter of a goal in the closing stages 2019. Up or down Pope is right, our recent record is poor. Time to put that right Saturday hopefully."
2010 Was terrible year. Tbf played two of the top 3 teams that year and Wexford were at a low enough ebb then but everyone outside of Tipp and Kilkenny weren't up to much at that time. Galway, Cork, Waterford took turns being a some times distant 3rd best team in that era.
2019 and 2022 v Galway we're lucky and unlucky at the same time. Dunbar missed a sitter but Davy Glennon also missed a sitter only for a huge block by Kevin Foley, 22 could've won but Conor Cooneys free was overturned that would've won it for Galway. Can swing both ways, everyone who draws has chances to win and Wexford didn't take them either day, neither did Galway. Wouldn't be shocked at a draw this time either tbh and would take it.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 30/04/2024 16:33:22    2541956

Replying To galway19:  "I can't see much of a crowd travelling down to Wexford to be honest. Game is massive for Wexford to stay alive but not as much for us with Antrim and Dublin to come where it would be a major surprise not to get four points there. Great if we win as would pretty much wrap up the Leinster final spot but in six or eight weeks time you wouldn't want to be judging yourself off how you played against Wexford.

Hopefully John Cooney and Donal O'Shea get a start along with Adrian Touhey."
I didnt think much of a crowd went to our home game in Salthill not mind what size of crowd we'll bring to Wexford Park. 9,300+ is a pretty meagre crowd for a championship fixture against a top side imo. I must admit due to family reasons I was unable to attend it myself but I will be present when we play Wexford at the weekend.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1908 - 30/04/2024 16:35:50    2541957

Replying To Viking66:  "Just out of interest what is the overall record exactly lad?"
Think it's 6-5 in Galway favour. Galway won first clash and then Wexford won next 5 over the 1950s,70s and 96. Drew once in 70s and then 2 in 19 and 22. That's off the top of my head, could be wrong on that but think that's the record. Hasn't been a regular fixture for most of history but obviously happens every year now.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 30/04/2024 16:56:22    2541977

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "2010 Was terrible year. Tbf played two of the top 3 teams that year and Wexford were at a low enough ebb then but everyone outside of Tipp and Kilkenny weren't up to much at that time. Galway, Cork, Waterford took turns being a some times distant 3rd best team in that era.
2019 and 2022 v Galway we're lucky and unlucky at the same time. Dunbar missed a sitter but Davy Glennon also missed a sitter only for a huge block by Kevin Foley, 22 could've won but Conor Cooneys free was overturned that would've won it for Galway. Can swing both ways, everyone who draws has chances to win and Wexford didn't take them either day, neither did Galway. Wouldn't be shocked at a draw this time either tbh and would take it."
Oh yeah, Cooney's free, I remember that!! LOL as TommyK might say!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3491 - 30/04/2024 16:58:50    2541978

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Think it's 6-5 in Galway favour. Galway won first clash and then Wexford won next 5 over the 1950s,70s and 96. Drew once in 70s and then 2 in 19 and 22. That's off the top of my head, could be wrong on that but think that's the record. Hasn't been a regular fixture for most of history but obviously happens every year now."
I wasn't counting the Meelick Castlebridge game. Are you sure Meelick won?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12196 - 30/04/2024 17:04:14    2541984

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Think it's 6-5 in Galway favour. Galway won first clash and then Wexford won next 5 over the 1950s,70s and 96. Drew once in 70s and then 2 in 19 and 22. That's off the top of my head, could be wrong on that but think that's the record. Hasn't been a regular fixture for most of history but obviously happens every year now."
Jaysus, only 5 losses after 125 years in Viking's pocket. He'll be disappointed with that finding, I'd imagine.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3491 - 30/04/2024 17:05:04    2541985

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Jaysus, only 5 losses after 125 years in Viking's pocket. He'll be disappointed with that finding, I'd imagine."
No I was expecting something like that . Like the no losses to Galway between 1996 and 2010. Looked it up when I got home. After the Meelick Castlebridge game which Meelick won well, the 1st ever GAA organised intercounty championship hurling game by the way, Wexford won 6 of the next 7. 51, 55, 56, 70, and 76 after a drawn game, then 96. So our overall record is exactly even, if you include Meelicks result. 6 wins apiece and 3 draws.
As I expected we haven't played you often, though we have played you more often than any other county outside Leinster. We have actually played Tipp and Cork nearly as often. Tbh the only non Munster counties we played before the back door were Cork, Limerick and Tipp.
We actually never played Clare in Championship until 2002 when we lost an AIQF, or Waterford until 2003 when we won a qualifier.
Up until 2014 Clare were the only county we had never beaten in a Championship game.
Limerick are the only Munster county we have an even record against. 4 wins each. We have only beaten Tipp 3 times and Cork twice. The only Leinster county we have a losing record against is Kilkenny.
We have winning records against all the Tier 2 counties. Our championship loss to Antrim at the weekend was our 1st, and I think the only other tier 1 counties they have beaten in Championship are Galway and Kilkenny in 1943 and Offaly in 1989. Although they only lost the 1991 AISF to Kilkenny by 2 points.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12196 - 30/04/2024 17:51:52    2542011

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Oh yeah, Cooney's free, I remember that!! LOL as TommyK might say!"
Stop stealing my lol your holiness! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3388 - 30/04/2024 17:53:58    2542014

Replying To Viking66:  "I wasn't counting the Meelick Castlebridge game. Are you sure Meelick won?"
They all count, if we're not counting early years stuff then Wexfords 4 in a row in football counts for naught by that metric or a lot of our Leinster and all Ireland success in hurling and football. Just because it happened a long time ago doesn't mean it shouldn't count…although I'd be happy to discount anything pre 70s if meant Tipp, Cork and to a lesser extent Kilkenny have most of their success forgotten!

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 30/04/2024 18:15:35    2542026