A result that been coming. We could have shipped 3/4 goals in a few league matches. There's been a recent trend of teams with a disappointing league coming out swinging in championship, look at Westmeath, Wicklow, Leitrim, Monaghan. Getting promoted is great, but it may have caused a small percentage drop in focus. Desperately disappointing but the lads now have 5 weeks to put the work in and get into the nuts and bolts of our defensive problems. In a way we couldn't when going flat out in the league. I still think we'll make the quarters. Don't think any team will fancy meeting us. We haven't become a bad team overnight, nor are we close to the finished article.
MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 184 - 20/04/2026 19:20:43
Replying To OverTheHill85: "As a casual observer yesterday I felt Meath had no stomach for being behind; after 10 mins I couldn't believe how sharp Morris looked but then nothing actually came from him and he just drifted out of the game; Flynn in the middle looked your best player followed by Kinsella in spells, Westmeath are known for their midfield issues this year so why ye didn't target them is strange, keeper seemed vulnerable going short on a few occasions. Make no mistake Drumm, Whittaker, Connellan, Wallace, McCartan and Loughlin would make many teams in the country so there's no doubt they had performances like this in them, the biggest surprise is how well the other players raised their game and nullified many Meath players. I think what summed up the game was Drumm beating Frayne to a ball near the dugouts, Westmeath seemed on top almost all over the pitch and it could have been a greater margin as we hit the crossbar also, I genuinely thought the referee was good. I just felt the team didn't have the appetite for the battle and probably weren't ready for it. Westmeath lads were battering each other in the warm up and seemed up for it. The goalkeeper issued probably took some steam out of Meath at a time they were looking dangerous." The point you're making about Morris is correct - he's mercurial. He's always trying to do something incredible and loses a lot of ball. Clipping handy scores and consistency are what he needs to add.
Meath's tactics just seem to be to try outscore opponents as we're very open at the back. That's been very evident even during a successful league campaign, where it was basically a shootout every game and that's just not going to lend itself to long term success.
Westmeath have a great chance of a Leinster Final appearance now. They look a better team than Kildare.
NYRoyal (USA) - Posts: 105 - 20/04/2026 19:41:05
Replying To NYRoyal: "Would tend to agree that the buck stops with the management but just don't understand how with all the supposed professional preparation done with teams that we would take Westmeath for granted.
I think where we're left scratching our head is that we have gotten promoted after a great league campaign, have beaten Dublin, Kerry, Galway, Derry, Tyrone and Cork in the space of 12 months but we've lost to Louth and Westmeath so what does that tell us? Can we deal with the expectation? Doesn't seem like it." 100% correct spoke to one of Westmeath best ever players today and he said Meath looked like a team that struggled under the pressure of being talked up by everyone . He said everyone had them down as winning lenister and this creates pressure . He said from the first attack Meath looked slow and very one dimensional through out the game also said our defence were very poor that some Westmeath players that struggled all year looked good yesterday .
Royalmc (Meath) - Posts: 28 - 20/04/2026 20:09:53
Replying To OverTheHill85: "As a casual observer yesterday I felt Meath had no stomach for being behind; after 10 mins I couldn't believe how sharp Morris looked but then nothing actually came from him and he just drifted out of the game; Flynn in the middle looked your best player followed by Kinsella in spells, Westmeath are known for their midfield issues this year so why ye didn't target them is strange, keeper seemed vulnerable going short on a few occasions. Make no mistake Drumm, Whittaker, Connellan, Wallace, McCartan and Loughlin would make many teams in the country so there's no doubt they had performances like this in them, the biggest surprise is how well the other players raised their game and nullified many Meath players. I think what summed up the game was Drumm beating Frayne to a ball near the dugouts, Westmeath seemed on top almost all over the pitch and it could have been a greater margin as we hit the crossbar also, I genuinely thought the referee was good. I just felt the team didn't have the appetite for the battle and probably weren't ready for it. Westmeath lads were battering each other in the warm up and seemed up for it. The goalkeeper issued probably took some steam out of Meath at a time they were looking dangerous." It's a simple as this - Westmeath treated it as a final and Meath treated it a stepping stone to what they expected would be greater things. Was impressed by a number of the Westmeath players but honestly I think if that game somehow went to a replay Westmeath would not win it. Meath have a higher ceiling when it does click and a stronger panel. Anyway, best of luck to Westmeath - hope they win Leinster now.
gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 20/04/2026 20:45:07
Replying To OverTheHill85: "As a casual observer yesterday I felt Meath had no stomach for being behind; after 10 mins I couldn't believe how sharp Morris looked but then nothing actually came from him and he just drifted out of the game; Flynn in the middle looked your best player followed by Kinsella in spells, Westmeath are known for their midfield issues this year so why ye didn't target them is strange, keeper seemed vulnerable going short on a few occasions. Make no mistake Drumm, Whittaker, Connellan, Wallace, McCartan and Loughlin would make many teams in the country so there's no doubt they had performances like this in them, the biggest surprise is how well the other players raised their game and nullified many Meath players. I think what summed up the game was Drumm beating Frayne to a ball near the dugouts, Westmeath seemed on top almost all over the pitch and it could have been a greater margin as we hit the crossbar also, I genuinely thought the referee was good. I just felt the team didn't have the appetite for the battle and probably weren't ready for it. Westmeath lads were battering each other in the warm up and seemed up for it. The goalkeeper issued probably took some steam out of Meath at a time they were looking dangerous." Agree with all of that. The 50/50 battles were notably being won by Westmeath consistently - they just looked like the better athletes.
On the ref, and maybe this is the Meath glasses talking, but Morris and Flynn really struggle to win frees. Not just yesterday, it's been the same all league. It's a real bugbear of mine - just because those lads are strong ball carriers doesn't mean they shouldn't be getting the same advantages and therefore frees some of the Westmeath forwards were getting. It's very frustrating seeing the arms being pulled back and no advantages being given.
Not that it would have mattered but I just wanted to vent that.
I see louth beating dublin and I don't see them allowing that type of performance against them so they should retain their title but if WM play like that two more times they'll win leinster.
Oh God, Louth, Kildare, dublin, Westmeath you might as well add England to that list. Maybe trump will do us a favour and pull another stunt and the season will be abandoned.
royalcounty1 (Meath) - Posts: 77 - 20/04/2026 22:16:51
Replying To royalcounty1: "Agree with all of that. The 50/50 battles were notably being won by Westmeath consistently - they just looked like the better athletes.
On the ref, and maybe this is the Meath glasses talking, but Morris and Flynn really struggle to win frees. Not just yesterday, it's been the same all league. It's a real bugbear of mine - just because those lads are strong ball carriers doesn't mean they shouldn't be getting the same advantages and therefore frees some of the Westmeath forwards were getting. It's very frustrating seeing the arms being pulled back and no advantages being given.
I see louth beating dublin and I don't see them allowing that type of performance against them so they should retain their title but if WM play like that two more times they'll win leinster.
Oh God, Louth, Kildare, dublin, Westmeath you might as well add England to that list. Maybe trump will do us a favour and pull another stunt and the season will be abandoned." They looked like the better athletes when they were on top because they were playing with greater intensity but they were dropping like flies in the last 15 mins. I'd say Meath as a team struggle to win frees - we had feck all scoreable free awarded during the league.
gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 20/04/2026 22:55:45
Replying To royalcounty1: "Huge deflation for me, 20 years of being obsessed with this team. That is the worst defeat iv felt as a meath supporter.god it felt like someone died yesterday. Maybe wexford all those years ago is similar.
I genuinely did feel like the writing was on the wall at half time. WM tore in them and were hopping off them. Dunting and hitting every chance they got.
No individual blame on any of these lads they're great representatives. I do genuinely believe the media from other counties hyped them up something serious. I was really nervous going into this game.
Ultimately our physicality in contact, kick out execution and attitude cost us. We were very toothless in attack, no cut or trust. Morris, lynch just could not hold onto it.
I was surprised ohalloran wasn't taken off at half time, Ryan should have been brought on and it did look like menton ran out of puff.
Iv no issue with the short kickout tactic it worked so far for them but WM contested and read many of them and we did look like a one trick pony when it didn't work.
As a whole they done everything they normally do and have done. The corner forwards didn't retain the long balls, short kickouts didn't turn into slick counter attacks, our midfielders didn't get a squeeze on, the 2s didn't go over.
I know it's not the case but it does feel like where do we go from here. Leinster was realistic goal, a run in the all Ireland is arguably harder to do and lucky draws are needed." This is unbelievably harsh on o halloran and their is no basis for this.he had to go keoghegans man for second goal and then dispossessed corcoran but ball went in off brennan who should have done better.very good on receiving short kick outs and wasn't on pitch for westmeath third and fourth goals.has had a good year and marked some of the better forwards in the country. Sometimes I wonder have fellas even been at the matches.our big problems yesterday was our tackling at the top of the big d and our general intensity. This team deserves our support and we should show our pride in them
Meathnut (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 20/04/2026 23:00:15
Don't want to be too harsh on our defence but it feels like our attack has got us out of jail a few times this year by putting up big scores. That's not sustainable. The attack had a bit of an off day on Sunday and still scored 25 points. I'd say they will be disappointed with some of the turnovers and the lack of a goal but 25 points still isn't too shabby. Our midfield wins its fair share of ball and supports attacks so clearly it's our defence that needs to improve. It's been largely the same lineup since last summer and I haven't seen much sign of improvement. In fact, you could argue it has gone backwards - or maybe teams have just figured out how to expose it. I'm assuming the coaches know what they are doing in terms of defensive systems so surely they have to look at trying a couple of new faces and / or some positional switches. If nothing else, give the opposition something different to grapple with. I just can't understand how our defence are standing 5 yards off their men, letting them get the ball and first run on them and then trying to stop them - Westmeath didn't let our forwards out of their sight.
gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 21/04/2026 08:56:29
Replying To royalcounty1: "Agree with all of that. The 50/50 battles were notably being won by Westmeath consistently - they just looked like the better athletes.
Oh God, Louth, Kildare, dublin, Westmeath you might as well add England to that list. Maybe trump will do us a favour and pull another stunt and the season will be abandoned." Talking about Louth, Kildare, Dublin and Westmeath like they're the problem… when every single one of them is still standing and Meath are already home washing the jerseys.
Walter_White (Louth) - Posts: 23 - 21/04/2026 09:02:04
Replying To gwanyagudthing: "Don't want to be too harsh on our defence but it feels like our attack has got us out of jail a few times this year by putting up big scores. That's not sustainable. The attack had a bit of an off day on Sunday and still scored 25 points. I'd say they will be disappointed with some of the turnovers and the lack of a goal but 25 points still isn't too shabby. Our midfield wins its fair share of ball and supports attacks so clearly it's our defence that needs to improve. It's been largely the same lineup since last summer and I haven't seen much sign of improvement. In fact, you could argue it has gone backwards - or maybe teams have just figured out how to expose it. I'm assuming the coaches know what they are doing in terms of defensive systems so surely they have to look at trying a couple of new faces and / or some positional switches. If nothing else, give the opposition something different to grapple with. I just can't understand how our defence are standing 5 yards off their men, letting them get the ball and first run on them and then trying to stop them - Westmeath didn't let our forwards out of their sight." Completely agree with this post.
While you cant really defend in the new game, our defence bar kildare has been abysmal. We have been winning shootouts for the majority of the league and we are just generally too easy to get scores off. The full back line is generally struggling, but there has been very little pressure put on high up the pitch.
Aaron kernan has been brought in to improve our defence, it has clearly gotten worse. I also cant really understand why we kick the ball to our cornerbacks of the kickout. You pick McBride to win the arial battle and it allows our transition be much quicker when we do win it around the middle of the park. Instead we are kicking it to our two corner backs and allowing teams to set up against us.
As usual with a shock loss, there has been an overreaction, (especially from the louth fans who seem more interested in meaths results rather than their own counties) we haven't become a bad team overnight but there are glaring issues that will need fixing.
contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 92 - 21/04/2026 11:03:21
Very dissapointing loss, but the warning signs were there in the league. Agree with sentiment on McBride - should have hit him more from kick outs although very surprised that Adam O'Neill didn't come on and the Meath management team shouldve done their homework on Westmeaths running game - they got the match ups badly wrong.
Meath also cant be relying on Menton and Keogan for 70 minutes, the lads are absolute warriors but they need to be replaced after 50 minutes - the legs aren't there anymore and that's not a criticism, it's just reality.
CB needs to change, would have Coffey and Caulfield on the wings, Rafferty at CB and then maybe Ryan in FB. I think Rafferty is wasted at FB, he needs to be given the responsibility of hitting anything that moves through the middle, plus he can carry the ball forward.
RebelAlliance (Cork) - Posts: 41 - 21/04/2026 11:42:28
Replying To Walter_White: "Talking about Louth, Kildare, Dublin and Westmeath like they're the problem… when every single one of them is still standing and Meath are already home washing the jerseys." Bro it's witty banter. You should try sometime. I begrudge no team, but my neighbours are not teams I support as a neutral . No one is a problem??? It's a meath fan forum, emphasis on meath. You get no cudos for being an online troll. Go big up you team on your own forum.
royalcounty1 (Meath) - Posts: 77 - 21/04/2026 11:58:09
Westmeath fan here, still cannot believe the performance we brought to the game took us all by suprise. Agree with many here that WM just wanted it more (we have no fall back, Meath already in the all ireland series saying that I reckon Meath wanted to win leinster) so it was slightly more do or die for WM. Meath were clearly a little cold. I haven't seen us kick ball straight into our forwards like we did at the weekend once this year. Management obviously spotted something in the Meath defense and targetted it. It was all on the day. Play the game 10 times Meath win 7/8 but with the new rules if you are a little off you get punished which is what happened. WM have about 6 top players but all the other fringe players stepped up too which was great to see. Our lack of bench and burning a sub on the keeper injury nearly cost us, if the game went to ET Meath would've taken it. I do think Meath are still very strong and not one team in Ireland wants ye in the draw (especially us if we get that far!).
Wanted to say one more thing as a neighbouring county we don't like Meath ye wouldn't like us either but seem to tolerate eachother, even with all the pain you gave us especially in the early 2000's... but what's the story with all the trolling coming from Louth fans, where have ye lot been hiding the last 30 years? We can have banter but some of the stuff is just nasty from their side. Big Joe must of cut very deep back in 2010.
Lakeman93 (Westmeath) - Posts: 4 - 21/04/2026 12:35:05
Replying To RebelAlliance: "Very dissapointing loss, but the warning signs were there in the league. Agree with sentiment on McBride - should have hit him more from kick outs although very surprised that Adam O'Neill didn't come on and the Meath management team shouldve done their homework on Westmeaths running game - they got the match ups badly wrong.
Meath also cant be relying on Menton and Keogan for 70 minutes, the lads are absolute warriors but they need to be replaced after 50 minutes - the legs aren't there anymore and that's not a criticism, it's just reality.
CB needs to change, would have Coffey and Caulfield on the wings, Rafferty at CB and then maybe Ryan in FB. I think Rafferty is wasted at FB, he needs to be given the responsibility of hitting anything that moves through the middle, plus he can carry the ball forward." When Costello comes back I would bring him into then half forward line and use McBride as replacement for Menton in last 20 minutes or vice versa - Menton would be a great lad to bring in with 20 minutes to go. Another question I have is whether we need a bigger target man in the full forward line. We seem at times to be trying to play long balls into the likes of Lynch but the ball isn't sticking.
gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 21/04/2026 12:38:12
Replying To royalcounty1: "Bro it's witty banter. You should try sometime. I begrudge no team, but my neighbours are not teams I support as a neutral . No one is a problem??? It's a meath fan forum, emphasis on meath. You get no cudos for being an online troll. Go big up you team on your own forum." You opened with digs at Louth, Kildare, Dublin and Westmeath - so don't act shocked when someone replies with actual facts. If it was just 'witty banter', grand, but banter goes both ways. You can't throw out lines about half of Leinster and then get precious when someone points out Meath are already finished in Leinster for the year. If you only want Meath‑only takes, maybe don't start by listing four other counties....
Walter_White (Louth) - Posts: 23 - 21/04/2026 14:20:11
Replying To Lakeman93: "Westmeath fan here, still cannot believe the performance we brought to the game took us all by suprise. Agree with many here that WM just wanted it more (we have no fall back, Meath already in the all ireland series saying that I reckon Meath wanted to win leinster) so it was slightly more do or die for WM. Meath were clearly a little cold. I haven't seen us kick ball straight into our forwards like we did at the weekend once this year. Management obviously spotted something in the Meath defense and targetted it. It was all on the day. Play the game 10 times Meath win 7/8 but with the new rules if you are a little off you get punished which is what happened. WM have about 6 top players but all the other fringe players stepped up too which was great to see. Our lack of bench and burning a sub on the keeper injury nearly cost us, if the game went to ET Meath would've taken it. I do think Meath are still very strong and not one team in Ireland wants ye in the draw (especially us if we get that far!).
Wanted to say one more thing as a neighbouring county we don't like Meath ye wouldn't like us either but seem to tolerate eachother, even with all the pain you gave us especially in the early 2000's... but what's the story with all the trolling coming from Louth fans, where have ye lot been hiding the last 30 years? We can have banter but some of the stuff is just nasty from their side. Big Joe must of cut very deep back in 2010." A very fair, balanced and sporting post.
gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 21/04/2026 14:25:37
Replying To Lakeman93: "Westmeath fan here, still cannot believe the performance we brought to the game took us all by suprise. Agree with many here that WM just wanted it more (we have no fall back, Meath already in the all ireland series saying that I reckon Meath wanted to win leinster) so it was slightly more do or die for WM. Meath were clearly a little cold. I haven't seen us kick ball straight into our forwards like we did at the weekend once this year. Management obviously spotted something in the Meath defense and targetted it. It was all on the day. Play the game 10 times Meath win 7/8 but with the new rules if you are a little off you get punished which is what happened. WM have about 6 top players but all the other fringe players stepped up too which was great to see. Our lack of bench and burning a sub on the keeper injury nearly cost us, if the game went to ET Meath would've taken it. I do think Meath are still very strong and not one team in Ireland wants ye in the draw (especially us if we get that far!).
Wanted to say one more thing as a neighbouring county we don't like Meath ye wouldn't like us either but seem to tolerate eachother, even with all the pain you gave us especially in the early 2000's... but what's the story with all the trolling coming from Louth fans, where have ye lot been hiding the last 30 years? We can have banter but some of the stuff is just nasty from their side. Big Joe must of cut very deep back in 2010." Trolling'? Come on. Go back and actually read the thread - nothing from the Louth side was nasty. A few facts and a bit of banter isn't trolling just because it didn't suit the Meath narrative.
Walter_White (Louth) - Posts: 23 - 21/04/2026 15:01:58
Well it's no surprise to me, Meath haven't really improved at all. Midfield is slightly better but it's not working with the 3 big men there all the time. Defence far worse than last year. There's more room in the half back line than the straight of Hormouz. O'Neill and Ryan has to come into the defence.
latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 21/04/2026 16:00:50
Wanted to say one more thing as a neighbouring county we don't like Meath ye wouldn't like us either but seem to tolerate eachother, even with all the pain you gave us especially in the early 2000's... but what's the story with all the trolling coming from Louth fans, where have ye lot been hiding the last 30 years? We can have banter but some of the stuff is just nasty from their side. Big Joe must of cut very deep back in 2010." Have to agree with the 2nd part of your post. What I've seen from Louth fans the last few days has been nothing short of pathetic. In all my years supporting Meath, I've never seen that amount of 'trolling' (even from the Dubs) across HS, Twitter/X, FB etc. Proper little (Wee) man syndrome going on. Very similar to English soccer fans.
Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 454 - 21/04/2026 17:33:39
Replying To latouche25: "Well it's no surprise to me, Meath haven't really improved at all. Midfield is slightly better but it's not working with the 3 big men there all the time. Defence far worse than last year. There's more room in the half back line than the straight of Hormouz. O'Neill and Ryan has to come into the defence." Well in 2025 they finished 3rd in the league on 8 points and in 2026 they finished 1st on 12 points, so the facts would say that they have improved. Your one of them lads who only comes once something bad happens, id say 2025 killed ya altogether, you last post was probably after the leinster final defeat. Have full faith in management that this can be turned around and there'll be a possitive all Ireland series.
southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 1072 - 21/04/2026 18:16:10