Id take Rafferty out of full back and play him at center back play Ronan Ryan at full back put Coffey on the wing and Keoghan in the corner instead of OHalloran . Westmeath walked through the center of us on numerous times today same as louth did last year we need someone at center back that has a bit more physical presence. Royalmc (Meath) - Posts: 28 - 19/04/2026 23:10:33 2667383 Link 0 |
Adminlove deleting posts from here least meath lads be able to play few club games keep them sharp Lolou37 (Louth) - Posts: 20 - 19/04/2026 23:11:33 2667384 Link 3 |
From watching today's game, I'd move Keogie back to FB. Didn't think Lavin was as bad as the other two on the FB line. Rafferty may aswell been standing beside Robbie Brennan for some of the 'pressure' he put on the Westmeath lads. A good footballer but he's just not in form and he's getting exposed. Coffeeys legs are needed up and down the pitch so putting him at wing back might suit us better and close off the middle more.
Royalroyal97 (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 19/04/2026 23:32:58 2667392 Link 0 |
We got it back to two with less than 2 minute left, and they got the kickout off, and we fouled in the corner. If we won today and went on a run, people would cite how the team has been consistent and help us build rather than chopping and changing. What players do you think deserve to come in, and who deserves to come out? Westmeath should be in Division 2, and Meath are a borderline Division 1/2 side, so I think as disappointing as it is theirs no need for any drastic changes or chops. However, defensively, we need to solve the issues. Faithfulmeath (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 19/04/2026 23:49:59 2667394 Link 0 |
Changes needed, Jones played for Dunboyne on Friday against Moynalvey and was moving well. While I'm not his biggest fan maybe his physicality could be used at 6. Not sure he has the discipline to be a good 6 but he'd certainly have the physicality and tackling to stop runners coming through. Coffey and Caulfield as wing backs? Agree with your full back line, for as long as I've watched Ronan Ryan play I've never once seen him get roasted by a forward, I think he has some lingering ankle issue which isn't ideal.
Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 20/04/2026 10:01:02 2667428 Link 0 |
Pity we hadn't peader Byrne yd Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 502 - 20/04/2026 10:04:01 2667431 Link 0 |
You could change half the team. There was no hunger for the dirty ball, and defensively we were appalling. How could Loughman who is a super footballer be afforded so much space is hard to fathom. What is wrong with being touch tight. Morris was marked out of the game yesterday by and large. How can we not do that to other quality forwards. Banty is simply a better footballer than lynch. Costello should be fit, Ronan Jones has the heart of a lion, he was driving the team forward last year until he got injured against Cavan. After he got injured we struggled badly for the rest of the league. Cathal Hickey is a great worker. There are plenty of good players there. The lads that came in albeit when Westmeath were tiring nearly won it for us. Team bus arrived at 1pm as well. Maybe that's a bit tight. Lads should be down at the grounds and have a walk on the pitch an hour beforehand. Morris gave an interview in the independent talking about Robbie coming in and how they were going to do special things. Save the talking for the pitch. They have loads of ability but they need to focus
atta (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 20/04/2026 11:42:12 2667459 Link 0 |
Defense is a massive issue, thought Aaron Kernan coming in might help plug some of the gaps we saw at times last year, but it's getting worse. Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 20/04/2026 12:28:11 2667471 Link 0 |
Meath looked dead yesterday even the first 10 minutes when they had plenty of the ball they weren't moving well . Royalmc (Meath) - Posts: 28 - 20/04/2026 12:44:11 2667475 Link 0 |
Huge deflation for me, 20 years of being obsessed with this team. That is the worst defeat iv felt as a meath supporter.god it felt like someone died yesterday. Maybe wexford all those years ago is similar. royalcounty1 (Meath) - Posts: 77 - 20/04/2026 13:04:09 2667481 Link 0 |
Good to see Meath live rent free in your brains, Maybe its time to switch your focus to beating Dublin for the first time since 1973.
Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 20/04/2026 13:22:07 2667485 Link 0 |
You would've said 3 weeks was a perfect break but our lads just seemed tired and leggy. Was it the pressure of expectation or what? But I guess that's the difference to the top, top teams. NYRoyal (USA) - Posts: 105 - 20/04/2026 13:35:42 2667487 Link 2 |
Let's be honest, the players and management underestimated the opposition - they referenced a "lack of intensity" in interviews after the game. Would there have been a lack of intensity if we were playing Dublin or Louth? No way. The penny only dropped when there was 20 minutes left and we were 10 points behind. Players and management have to put that down as poor preparation. Was also baffled at why O'Neill wasn't brought on - Westmeath were winning a lot of dirty ball and he is one our best at that. Bench made an impact but I think O'Neill was the man for that scenario. gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 20/04/2026 13:38:55 2667489 Link 2 |
Relax Meath, it's only the championship - there's always next year… maybe Walter_White (Louth) - Posts: 23 - 20/04/2026 13:42:57 2667490 Link 2 |
Agreed with a lot of what was said above. Westmeath seemed to want it more. They definitely had their homework and had an intensity and structure in defence that made it difficult to get shots away when we were dominating possession. They certainly deserved the win and had a few players that we just couldn't handle. stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 228 - 20/04/2026 13:55:59 2667498 Link 0 |
This lad just proving the point that Louth's entire season revolves around that Meath do. They're more concerned about Meath than their own team. Wee mentality for the wee county.
Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 20/04/2026 14:02:34 2667501 Link 0 |
We're guaranteed at least two games in the all-Ireland series. All going to depend on the attitude in the camp - messed up yesterday but they have 5/6 weeks now to rest, re-set and then knuckle down to put in a huge performance. If I was Brennan, I'd be gathering up the leadership group in the squad and getting buy-in for a few weeks of murderball in training, Armagh-style. Let's see then who within the squad has the appetite and aptitude for high-intensity championship. I'd pick the team accordingly.
gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 20/04/2026 14:05:36 2667505 Link 0 |
Would tend to agree that the buck stops with the management but just don't understand how with all the supposed professional preparation done with teams that we would take Westmeath for granted. I think where we're left scratching our head is that we have gotten promoted after a great league campaign, have beaten Dublin, Kerry, Galway, Derry, Tyrone and Cork in the space of 12 months but we've lost to Louth and Westmeath so what does that tell us? Can we deal with the expectation? Doesn't seem like it. NYRoyal (USA) - Posts: 105 - 20/04/2026 14:26:59 2667512 Link 0 |
As a casual observer yesterday I felt Meath had no stomach for being behind; after 10 mins I couldn't believe how sharp Morris looked but then nothing actually came from him and he just drifted out of the game; Flynn in the middle looked your best player followed by Kinsella in spells, Westmeath are known for their midfield issues this year so why ye didn't target them is strange, keeper seemed vulnerable going short on a few occasions. Make no mistake Drumm, Whittaker, Connellan, Wallace, McCartan and Loughlin would make many teams in the country so there's no doubt they had performances like this in them, the biggest surprise is how well the other players raised their game and nullified many Meath players. I think what summed up the game was Drumm beating Frayne to a ball near the dugouts, Westmeath seemed on top almost all over the pitch and it could have been a greater margin as we hit the crossbar also, I genuinely thought the referee was good. I just felt the team didn't have the appetite for the battle and probably weren't ready for it. Westmeath lads were battering each other in the warm up and seemed up for it. The goalkeeper issued probably took some steam out of Meath at a time they were looking dangerous. OverTheHill85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 280 - 20/04/2026 15:12:51 2667529 Link 1 |
Yes there were 2 mistakes in the last few minutes. One was when Caulfield fouled the ball and the other one was the foul in the corner by I think Rafferty. Earlier Morris had a bad wide from play in the closing stages too. On personnel, Conlon is our sharpest inside forward at the moment and should start. Killian Smyth and Cathal Hickey have shown good energy two in past two matches too. As good a servant as Menton has been, its a big ask for him to be started in these high intensity games in middle sector. Also if Keoghan is to play a major role, his energy may be best saved for one of the corner back spots. Conor Gray, Charlie O'Connor and Jones if fit hopefully should be getting more minutes hopefully to support Flynn and McBride. Further down, would have expected to see Jamie Murphy, Adam McDonnel and Ciaran McCarrick based off club form last few years. Billy Hogan probably deserves another crack on goals as his standards were decent last year and was unlucky to miss out. Brennan has not been going well recently.
winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 981 - 20/04/2026 18:20:55 2667571 Link 0 |