I thought kickouts were very poor in the second half! We won very few of the breaks and kept kicking to the side where Durnin was dominating! In the first half Flynn caught two clean kickouts yet we didn't kick to him at all in the last 30 minutes! Don't think the substations worked all that well - especially Walsh for Kinsella. I thought Kinsella was our best player in the first half and the Louth guys either side of me were delighted when he was subbed!! Anyway 2nd seeds in the group stage - it will be a tough group but I would expect at least 1 win!! Keep at it lads!! Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 519 - 11/05/2025 20:22:06 2608559 Link 1 |
Disappointed but grudgingly happy to see Louth get over the line. Would be tougher to take a loss to a side coming from nowhere, Louth have earned this moment. We should have been in the driving seat at half time. The third goal in particular was hard to take just before half time. That spell when we pulled clear, between Louth goals 2 and 3, showed what we're capable when we go for it and don't slow things down or worry about making mistakes. Outside of that spell we were ponderous, didn't take on players as we had against Dublin. Still, a great occasion and hopefully the first of many in Croke Park for this group. MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 161 - 11/05/2025 20:28:39 2608562 Link 1 |
It's a long time waiting to be back in Croker with 65000 people there and a chance of winning a Leinster unfortunately it didn't go our way. We can debate the what if's and and's but for me beating Dublin was our Leinster final. Louth won it and fair play to them I've no complaints but this defeat will stand to us more in the long run Lilric (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 11/05/2025 20:49:21 2608570 Link 0 |
I might be in the minority but as a meath man I'm not happy for Louth at all. That's 3 times in a row they've beaten us at senior. We could be a division 1 team and Leinster champions if it was not for Louth. This Louth team are going to be top contenders for leinster for quite a while now, their underage teams are outstanding. They officially own meath now and this has to stop ASAP. The players must be sick losing to them so much. Hopefully Ger Brennan takes the Dublin job soon and they regress. Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 233 - 11/05/2025 21:15:27 2608585 Link 3 |
Where do you start with that?First of all what an atmosphere.Its been a long time since I've seen such a big Meath crowd.On the game we didn't run at them as much as we should.When we ran at them we caused them alot of bother but we mostly knocked it over and back too much and they got back in shape.Kickouts were very predictable and Louth cleaned up in the 2nd half.Billy will be annoyed he didnt save the second one but in fairness he did kick 2 2pointers and why did we let Lennon run through for 3rd one without any contact (not taking anything away from the finish)was a big moment.I thought the subs were a bit strange and o neil will feel hard done by played well the last day.Gutted for the team but especially Keoghan and Menton.It may be their last chance to win something big with Meath.I really hope the Meath crowd turn out in big numbers v Cork in 2 weeks.They deserve our support and hopefully we can get the win.Maybe Jones will be back and hopefully Morris hasnt done more damage by coming back so early. Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 345 - 11/05/2025 21:54:22 2608605 Link 1 |
Losing midfield in the second half was the losing of the game. Louth were able to keep Meath pinned back and grind out the result. If you can't win possession, you have no platform for attack. As they say, you can't shoot a cannon from a canoe. Fair play to Louth. They sorted out the midfield in the second half and kept Meath pinned in their own half. They were fortuitous with that free to give them the two pointer but based on their second half performance they probably deserved it. RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 11/05/2025 21:57:42 2608608 Link 1 |
Manager and team did great. But why not stick with the team that did so well against Dublin. And why not switch areas we are not doing well in.
Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 573 - 11/05/2025 22:50:48 2608621 Link 0 |
Few observations urizen (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 11/05/2025 23:30:54 2608632 Link 0 |
Watched back over the highlights. Penalty was soft. But that free at 5 mins from the end for the 2 pointer was NEVER a free. Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 410 - 12/05/2025 07:30:25 2608653 Link 0 |
Agreed, do meath people not realise how much people from Louth actually dislike us? They wouldn't want us to win a raffle let alone be happy for us after we beat them in a leinster final! Louth are going to do a leinster treble which is some achievement but I think we have a chance to build quietly on this team behind the scenes whilst there will be huge hype on the wee county. We beat them in the u20 final last year, they beat us this year and we have had far more success at minor level than them yet the way people are talking you'd think Louth have swept all before them at underage over the last 5 years. Hopefully this young team can learn from this game, Cork and Roscommon are both beatable and a shot in the dark against Kerry, up thr royal Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 244 - 12/05/2025 08:05:27 2608660 Link 1 |
Agreed No doubt too much"over and back "as you say.Not enough" running at them" either. 2 areas for improvement .Costello and Morris i deem as the running at them players .at full speed both are impressive against good opposition. Costello is under utilised so far in my view. To me he is an "attacking midfielder" an all rounder with great potential .less over and back more have a go as demonstrated by Kinsella I assume long range shooting will be heavy on the agenda for training session next.Agreed jones and Morris fully fit a big help. Bryan Menton a long time servant way be best kept in reserve at this stage, . and a valuable man with fresh legs with 20 mins to go. " I dont know how an outstanding player like Mulroy was given so much room. Man marking a proven match winner will never be out of date. Rafferty should have been stuck to him even though our defence was weak when they "ran at us" Still on balance a match winner has to be man marked by whoever I would say training will be sharply focused on learning points as described by Robbie after the Dublin match.Good to know the culture of continuous improvement is the priority and the only realistic objective .. To me that is real progress. Would i have settled 6 months ago for where we are now ? Answer a definite YES ! nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1282 - 12/05/2025 08:55:08 2608667 Link 2 |
Let's not beat around the bush here. One must question the lack of players included from the Regional All-Stars and the CICO Sports Team of the Year in Coach Brennan's setup. What is the point of running something like the Regionals if the standout performers are going to be overlooked? RegionalsGuru (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 12/05/2025 09:10:35 2608673 Link 1 |
Gutted with that. We absolutely should be winning that game. Every time we seemed to be taking a grip of the game, we let Louth back into it. We went 3 up midway through the first half and then concede 2 goals. We then absolutely pummel Louth towards the end of the first half, putting over seven points in less than five minutes only for us to roll out the red carpet for Louth's third goal. We then go 4 up early in the second half and allow them back into it again. Then we simply stopped playing for the last quarter. Only one goal and no points in the final 23 minutes is unacceptable. Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1385 - 12/05/2025 09:30:12 2608682 Link 5 |
Tough defeat to take. Better team in the first half but the goals kept Louth in the game. Lennon should have been marked tighter as he was always going to be a threat going forward. Most of the refereeing decisions went against Meath in the last 15 mins. Couldn't buy a free while they got soft ones, especially the one that proved to be the match winner. Louth crowded the midfield area in the second half and consequently won all the breaks. Sean Rafferty was excellent at full back but who was meant to be marking Mulroy who ran the show in the second half ? A lot of positives and a good learning experience for a young team. Get Jones an Morris back and we can do well in the A.i. group. kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 347 - 12/05/2025 09:37:53 2608685 Link 0 |
Just realised that only for your pesky Wee neighbours, you would be Leinster champions and a Div 1 team. That's gotta hurt. All joking aside, it could have gone either way. It took 2 great teams and supporters to make a fantastic game and unreal atmosphere like yesterday. Let's hope we both can make it back to the same stage next year for another rematch ged (Louth) - Posts: 317 - 12/05/2025 10:33:14 2608712 Link 0 |
Gutted for Keoghan & Menton to not get a Leinster title after all they've given to Meath over the last 10+ years. The soft goals ultimately cost us the game and gave Louth momentum, should have gone in at half time well in front and put the pressure on Louth. This young team will learn from this and it'll stand to them in the future, big game against Cork now in 2 weeks which we are well capable of winning and put ourselves in a strong position in the group, need to get a good crowd out to Pairc Tailteann and keep the momentum behind this team. LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 12/05/2025 10:38:41 2608715 Link 0 |
Overall better team won. UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 417 - 12/05/2025 10:44:12 2608721 Link 3 |
Probably the most balanced post on the game tbh. How Meath let that game slip is beyond me. it was there for the winning and each time let Louth back into it. The coin completely flipped regarding midfield domination in the 2nd half. Meath didnt win a single breaking ball in the 2nd half - lost all 10 of them. Great turnover for the Costello goal but that was it. Fans giving out about Menton, but it was he who ran back to try stop the final score. Where was JF in that 2nd half.? Frayne was very quiet in 2nd half also. Goalie took his 2 pointers well, but should have saved the 2nd goal. Couple of strange decisions by Robbie - Kinsella being one of them. I would also have brought on Cillian O'Sullivan in the last few minutes - his experience may have helped. But not marking Lennon or Mulroy tighter....! I think the conversation on 2010 can finally be put to bed now - Louth stopped Meath getting promoted to Division 1, and now followed it up by beating Meath in a Leinster final, with a slightly dubious late free which resulted in a 2 pointer. Full circle and some might call it karma. But whatever it is, both teams have done better than expected this season so far. With the groups both are now in, Louth should make it out - Meath now have some work to do though... #No More Talk of 2010 Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4246 - 12/05/2025 11:06:19 2608730 Link 0 |
What's all this talk about being gutted nonsense. Keogan gave away the penalty and a number of frees. He is way off the pace as a defender highlighted by the way Lennon ghosted by him for the goal. Menton should have been called ashore before half time he wasn't at the races. The standard of Meaths play was awful unable to win a breaking ball indeed unable to position themselves to win the breaking ball is even more worrying. I think we only scored 1-1 in the last 15 minutes and we expect to win a leinster title some of the posters here need a dose of reality. Were a division 2 league team and played like a division 3 team yesterday. If Brennan couldn't see the glaring inability to win a kickout or a breaking ball then he's a buffer and not up to the job.
latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 553 - 12/05/2025 12:38:55 2608779 Link 3 |
Then you look at your bench and realise there's not much to bring in to solve the breaking ball issues - apart from possibly Ronan Ryan!
GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 122 - 12/05/2025 13:03:24 2608794 Link 1 |