Meath 2024

Replying To royaldunne:  "Just had a quick glimpse there now on pp for all ire betting. 125/1 is Meath price which surprised me tbh. As we are the only team in theory who are actually qualified. Last year we were 80/1, previous year 66/1 . Same year before. Think the best in past number of years was 40/1. Now I'm not saying that the odds matter as we could be 20/1 we still wouldn't win it. But rather than been a little improved from been guaranteed all ire football it seems the heads in pp believe we are worse off this year. we are same price as Down who are highly unlikely to qualify for all ire, and we'll behind Kildare and cork who are no certs to be involved either. I can't understand the thinking behind it in the slightest."
We're going to be in tier 4 for the draw as Tailteann cup winners so we have to play a tier 1, 2 and 3 team.

If Cork get to a Munster final they will have to play a tier 1, 3 and 4 team. Same for Kildare or Louth if they make a Leinster final so they both would have easier fixtures on paper.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 15/10/2023 12:33:48    2508432

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "We're going to be in tier 4 for the draw as Tailteann cup winners so we have to play a tier 1, 2 and 3 team.

If Cork get to a Munster final they will have to play a tier 1, 3 and 4 team. Same for Kildare or Louth if they make a Leinster final so they both would have easier fixtures on paper."
I get what you saying but the same applies to us. If we get to Leinster final. We automatically go into tier 2, in same boat as Kildare and cork in that sense. Only way we end up using the tc position is we we fail on all other options ie provincial final and league position

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/10/2023 17:15:39    2508477

Hearing that Barry Dardis and Adam McDonell are also called in….. great times to be a royal

DefenceWinsChampionships (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 16/10/2023 13:38:08    2508636

Replying To DefenceWinsChampionships:  "Hearing that Barry Dardis and Adam McDonell are also called in….. great times to be a royal"
Both are more than worthy of their call ups. But, why does this mean great times to be a royal?

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 937 - 16/10/2023 14:03:09    2508645

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "We're going to be in tier 4 for the draw as Tailteann cup winners so we have to play a tier 1, 2 and 3 team.

If Cork get to a Munster final they will have to play a tier 1, 3 and 4 team. Same for Kildare or Louth if they make a Leinster final so they both would have easier fixtures on paper."
Seeding is as follows:

Seed 1 - Provincial champions
Seed 2 - Provincial runners-up
Seed 3 - The next four ranked by league status
Seed 4 - Tailteann Cup Winners and the next three ranked by league status.

However, if any of the other factors would bring us up the seeding, it would automatically apply. If Meath were to win the Leinster Championship we would be seed 1, if were to to be runners up we'd be seed two etc. If our league position put us into seed 3, then that's where we'd be.

But either way, it doesn't matter what seed you are because the fact the provincials have such a bearing on it means you're going to get lobsided groups anyway. Seeding is not so much a factor until they fix the seeding system.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 16/10/2023 14:05:44    2508646

Replying To royaldunne:  "Gonna slightly disagree with you here. I'd still have hogan as no1. He didn't really do anything wrong Brennan was good no doubt but that was against div 3/4 teams. Think hogan for kick outs and indeed shot stoping gets the nod from me. Just though"
Hogan's kickouts were terrible. He got into this habit of delaying kickouts for an eternity
Got blown for it against Clare as far as I remember.
He let in a couple of howlers as well. Was hit and miss on the 45s/frees.
Brennan Was way more consistent with the above (bar frees) and also looked really comfortable under a high ball.

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 356 - 16/10/2023 23:44:50    2508753

On present track Meath without the tailteann booby prize route looks like not winning a game next year. We are hoping the manager sees the best players and picks them, but not expecting him to.
Better management needed. May have to be imported.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 17/10/2023 10:43:29    2508777

Replying To Selwyn:  "Hogan's kickouts were terrible. He got into this habit of delaying kickouts for an eternity
Brennan Was way more consistent with the above (bar frees) and also looked really comfortable under a high ball."
Well-said Selwyn, to me Hogan never really impressed as a keeper, didn't command his area or high balls, kick outs were average at best and he was easily beaten at his near post. That Offaly game in Tulsa pre I called the goal from almost 40 yards out, the Offaly player drove in towards his near post knowing Harry's weak on that side. 45's and long range frees were pot luck at best. I'm not criticising the lad but he also is very quiet for a keeper, you need to roar and shout at your defence which he didn't seem to do. Now I'm not knocking the lad, fair play to him for doing what he has I could only dream of being as good as he is. To get to that next level you need more. We've been blessed down the years with the likes of Smith/McQuillan, sully and brendan murphy

Brennan has come in during the TC and immediately started barking at lads, organising them, where they needed to be. A keeper needs a bit of madness in him and Brennan has it. Now maybe he's done well in TC level and might not do it after this, but he's earned the right during the league. His kick outs are better if lower risk but our kick outs needed something and even if it's a ball to a corner back it's better than it's constantly coming back at you like it was at times with Colgan, marcus Brennan and Harry. Now that ball might get gobbled up at Division 2 level but retaining possession is better than not.

Have we heard of anymore additions to the panel, from what's being reported here we've

Mark Coffey
Ruairi Kinsella
Cathal finnegan
Jack kinlough
James Conlon
Adam McDonnell
Barry Dardis

Is there anyone else worth further consideration?

Was Ross Ryan injured during the TC? Surely he's someone who might come in?

Anyone already involved that we think might be a breakout star this upcoming season ala Adam O'Neill, Sean Coffey and Conor Gray? I'm interested to see if John O'Regan can make a claim at the #6 jersey . Maybe it's still a year or 2 away for him but if he's good enough he's old enough. Will Brian O'Halloran be someone who gets some game time this year too. That #4 jersey has been a bit of a lottery with flood/O'Higgins last season, so maybe that's an opportunity for him. Does Ciaran Caulfield have another couple of gears in him, raw materials were there as a middle 8 player. Still think we lack a playmaker at 11 to link everything together and get ball into Morris and Lynch, for me that's where I'd like Matt Costello to play

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 17/10/2023 11:27:09    2508790

Replying To Ashrules:  "On present track Meath without the tailteann booby prize route looks like not winning a game next year. We are hoping the manager sees the best players and picks them, but not expecting him to.
Better management needed. May have to be imported."
Ash you're a great lad for throwing this rhetoric out. But never answer.. you're not the only one mind…

But I'll play the game …. Who are all these best players that aren't being picked by O'Rourke and co. Bar Conor McGill I don't think there's many others… and I dunno if he's that missed to be honest

and have you considered that maybe some of those you're talking about don't want to play inter county and have said as much to Colm. I take my hat off to anyone that does commit to that level as it's a full time job on top of their studies or work life. Never mind a family/ girl or boyfriend on top of that. Some lads actually wanna enjoy their lives too.

So come on, you that seems to know better than everyone, gives us 5 players not currently involved that O'Rourke isn't picking??

You'd swear we've a david Clifford or brian Fenton down the back of the couch…

I don't expect an answer cos you're great with the grandiose statements but like a few on here you never have the bottle to back up those statements when it's put to you.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 17/10/2023 11:35:43    2508793

Replying To Selwyn:  "Hogan's kickouts were terrible. He got into this habit of delaying kickouts for an eternity
Brennan Was way more consistent with the above (bar frees) and also looked really comfortable under a high ball."
Hogan certainly not a no hoper and showed potential but i felt his decision making at times was suspect at times so for me Brennan nudged ahead after his performances in the TC.

That being said Brennan was playing against extremely poor opposition where it was clearly much easier to get his kick outs away etc so it will be interesting to see how he does playing at a higher level in Div 2.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 17/10/2023 12:15:52    2508807

Replying To brian:  "Ash you're a great lad for throwing this rhetoric out. But never answer.. you're not the only one mind…

But I'll play the game …. Who are all these best players that aren't being picked by O'Rourke and co. Bar Conor McGill I don't think there's many others… and I dunno if he's that missed to be honest

and have you considered that maybe some of those you're talking about don't want to play inter county and have said as much to Colm. I take my hat off to anyone that does commit to that level as it's a full time job on top of their studies or work life. Never mind a family/ girl or boyfriend on top of that. Some lads actually wanna enjoy their lives too.

So come on, you that seems to know better than everyone, gives us 5 players not currently involved that O'Rourke isn't picking??

You'd swear we've a david Clifford or brian Fenton down the back of the couch…

I don't expect an answer cos you're great with the grandiose statements but like a few on here you never have the bottle to back up those statements when it's put to you."
I have been very critical of COR and his team and I am still not sure they are cut out for it. However this waffle people come out with about the best players not being picked is bizarre. Was the same with the previous management and the one before that. So i will ask can the people who constantly push this narrative please give us the names of 5 players who are not being picked that are better than what is there already.

And I'm not talking about lads who could slip in to the squad at no 26 to 30 instead of the lads who are currently 26 to 30 because we all know we have loads of them.

But apart from McGill who I do think should still be in there I'd love these people to give us 5 names who aren't being picked that would make the starting 15 better or even the first 5 subs?

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 17/10/2023 12:32:01    2508814

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Hogan certainly not a no hoper and showed potential but i felt his decision making at times was suspect at times so for me Brennan nudged ahead after his performances in the TC.

That being said Brennan was playing against extremely poor opposition where it was clearly much easier to get his kick outs away etc so it will be interesting to see how he does playing at a higher level in Div 2."
Fair points Blackspot, well said.

I think TBF against Down in both games that Brennan did pretty well and Down were a better team than some teams we faced during the league. As you rightly say let's see how he does in division two next season.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 17/10/2023 12:34:00    2508816

Replying To brian:  "Fair points Blackspot, well said.

I think TBF against Down in both games that Brennan did pretty well and Down were a better team than some teams we faced during the league. As you rightly say let's see how he does in division two next season."
Yeah down were decent but I still think looking at Div 2 next year every team will be a level up so a great test for Brennan. Hopefully the case will be 2 good young keepers fighting it out for the no 1 spot pushing each other in training . That can only be a good thing.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 17/10/2023 12:37:25    2508819

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I have been very critical of COR and his team and I am still not sure they are cut out for it. However this waffle people come out with about the best players not being picked is bizarre. Was the same with the previous management and the one before that. So i will ask can the people who constantly push this narrative please give us the names of 5 players who are not being picked that are better than what is there already.

And I'm not talking about lads who could slip in to the squad at no 26 to 30 instead of the lads who are currently 26 to 30 because we all know we have loads of them.

But apart from McGill who I do think should still be in there I'd love these people to give us 5 names who aren't being picked that would make the starting 15 better or even the first 5 subs?"
Again well said. I don't think I ever labelled any previous management with it, now I might've said they fell out with a few lads and every manager will (Conor McGill for current management) but we don't have 5 lads that could come in right now and dramatically improve this squad and push them on further. As you say you might get lads that are better in the 26-30 spots and you'd assume those lads are involved in the development panel or will be with the u20's which Colm wasn't afraid to use when needed (I.e Ronan Ryan and Sean Coffey after the league) and the 20's once they were knocked out of that championship (Gray, Caulfield,Frayne, O'Regan, O'Halloran and others)

As I say Ashrules won't respond cos he knows he's not got the answers.

Blackspot you've a good eye for talent, is there anyone you'd like to see get a chance? I'm assuming we'll not see Conor McGill, so anyone else for you?

Jason Scully should hopefully be fit for 2024 to and he'll certainly add something.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 17/10/2023 12:48:31    2508822

Replying To brian:  "Again well said. I don't think I ever labelled any previous management with it, now I might've said they fell out with a few lads and every manager will (Conor McGill for current management) but we don't have 5 lads that could come in right now and dramatically improve this squad and push them on further. As you say you might get lads that are better in the 26-30 spots and you'd assume those lads are involved in the development panel or will be with the u20's which Colm wasn't afraid to use when needed (I.e Ronan Ryan and Sean Coffey after the league) and the 20's once they were knocked out of that championship (Gray, Caulfield,Frayne, O'Regan, O'Halloran and others)

Blackspot you've a good eye for talent, is there anyone you'd like to see get a chance? I'm assuming we'll not see Conor McGill, so anyone else for you?

Jason Scully should hopefully be fit for 2024 to and he'll certainly add something."
Sorry I didn't mean had done I was referring to the post you were replying to.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 17/10/2023 13:52:08    2508839

Replying To brian:  "Again well said. I don't think I ever labelled any previous management with it, now I might've said they fell out with a few lads and every manager will (Conor McGill for current management) but we don't have 5 lads that could come in right now and dramatically improve this squad and push them on further. As you say you might get lads that are better in the 26-30 spots and you'd assume those lads are involved in the development panel or will be with the u20's which Colm wasn't afraid to use when needed (I.e Ronan Ryan and Sean Coffey after the league) and the 20's once they were knocked out of that championship (Gray, Caulfield,Frayne, O'Regan, O'Halloran and others)

Jason Scully should hopefully be fit for 2024 to and he'll certainly add something."
I think just the lads that have been mentioned already in if the reports are correct. Jack Kinlough who I think we could see in the league despite him being u20 again this year. Ruari Kinsella Adam McDonnell.

My mind isn't made up on E Frayne in terms of him being a top class inter county forward as I think possibly he might lack a small bit of pace for the top level. However I am looking forward to seeing him and think he could well solve our free taking issues .

I've always liked Ben Wyer. He goes about his business quietly and you don't see much of him in the game but his man tends to be quiet also and I know he was in last year but I would like to see more of him in a Meath jersey to see if he is up to it.

Hopefully the rumors of Cian McBride coming home are true also although we need to be careful of putting too much pressure on a lad who has been out of the game for 3 years now and was a kid when he left so no guarantee he would have made the grade and no guarantee he will slot into inter county level but I am sure he will be looked at if home.

I was at the Junior and Intermediate finals and Conor McWeeney was exceptional. Haven't seen too much of him but it was as good a performance in a final as i can remember . Now without being too disrespectful to the grade but it was junior so that has to be taken into account but he could be worth a look when kilbride are finished. which won't be any time soon because I can see them emulating Castletown and winning leinster .

Alan Bowden I have seen a good bit and is another one I am sure will be looked at.

Cathal Finnegan another one but I think he might fall into the category of excellent club player rather than a really good inter county player and this where our problem is. IMO we seem to forever producing players who max out at club level and who can just about hold their own at Div Inter County level which will get us no closer to where we want to get too.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 17/10/2023 14:14:27    2508843

4 lads from the Summerhill team who I think would improve the team are Adam McDonnell at wing back, Adam Flanagan midfield, Conor Frayne at center forward and Barry Dardis in the corner.

Flanagan and Dardis have been around before, I still don't think Flanagan is the answer but he would improve our midfield options and would give us something for 20 minutes to close a game out. Dardis is the same, he could come on with 15/20 minutes to go win a couple of marks, he's big and powerful so would be a handful for most corner backs.

Frayne could excel but would need to be played out the field as a playmaker while McDonnell's biggest issue is his size, if he bulked up 5kg and maintained his speed then he would be a very good asset at wing back.

We all know there's no Clifford, Glass, Walsh O Shea, or Fenton in Meath but we need to unearth depth.

At the minute this is what your squad looks like:

GK: Brennan & Hogan

Defenders: Keoghan, Ryan, O Neill, Harnan, Flood, O Higgins, McEntee

Midfield: Flynn, Gray, Jones

Forwards: McGowan, O Sullivan, Scully, Morris, O Reilly, Walsh, Costello, Caufield, O Connor

21 lads named above, still short a couple of defenders especially a full back and wing back cover. Could do with another option at midfield, we're only 1 injury away from the bare bones. Forwards are stacked but no one has shown consistent for scoring 3/4 pts for 4 or 5 matches

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 17/10/2023 14:25:03    2508846

FairPlay Blackspot and username, least you'll put your heads above the parapet and suggest things. Thing you're making good points re maybe players maxing out at club level, but I suppose they deserve a chance.

Had a think about Conor McWeeney but isn't he 18?? Still 2 years at underage, maybe let him develop and see where we end up. Would the O'Leary brothers be worth a shout?

Think one of you mentioned Wyer, and agree he's the type of corner back you want, that's not heard of but neither is his man. Dunno if that'll translate at county level but give him a chance. Maybe Adam O'Neill goes out to half back this year and we'll need a CB.

Would anyone be against the o'hare brothers from rathkenny? Think they've been involved before but maybe take another look.

Username I see you omitted Aaron lynch, was that an oversight?? Or deliberate?

I also assume Shane Mac. Will return, if for nothing else his experience would help a relatively young squad?

Michael murphy and Cian Rodgers we're also involved during the TC, might they get some game time.

Will the likes of Crosby, Clarke, Harkin etc be brought back into the set up?

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 17/10/2023 14:54:31    2508854

Replying To brian:  "FairPlay Blackspot and username, least you'll put your heads above the parapet and suggest things. Thing you're making good points re maybe players maxing out at club level, but I suppose they deserve a chance.

Had a think about Conor McWeeney but isn't he 18?? Still 2 years at underage, maybe let him develop and see where we end up. Would the O'Leary brothers be worth a shout?

Think one of you mentioned Wyer, and agree he's the type of corner back you want, that's not heard of but neither is his man. Dunno if that'll translate at county level but give him a chance. Maybe Adam O'Neill goes out to half back this year and we'll need a CB.

Would anyone be against the o'hare brothers from rathkenny? Think they've been involved before but maybe take another look.

Username I see you omitted Aaron lynch, was that an oversight?? Or deliberate?

I also assume Shane Mac. Will return, if for nothing else his experience would help a relatively young squad?

Michael murphy and Cian Rodgers we're also involved during the TC, might they get some game time.

Will the likes of Crosby, Clarke, Harkin etc be brought back into the set up?"
Actually don't know how old McWeeney is I assumed he was older. That's a serious performance for an 18 year old to put in in a final. Leave off to develop so.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 17/10/2023 15:19:45    2508861

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "4 lads from the Summerhill team who I think would improve the team are Adam McDonnell at wing back, Adam Flanagan midfield, Conor Frayne at center forward and Barry Dardis in the corner.

Flanagan and Dardis have been around before, I still don't think Flanagan is the answer but he would improve our midfield options and would give us something for 20 minutes to close a game out. Dardis is the same, he could come on with 15/20 minutes to go win a couple of marks, he's big and powerful so would be a handful for most corner backs.

Frayne could excel but would need to be played out the field as a playmaker while McDonnell's biggest issue is his size, if he bulked up 5kg and maintained his speed then he would be a very good asset at wing back.

We all know there's no Clifford, Glass, Walsh O Shea, or Fenton in Meath but we need to unearth depth.

At the minute this is what your squad looks like:

GK: Brennan & Hogan

Defenders: Keoghan, Ryan, O Neill, Harnan, Flood, O Higgins, McEntee

Midfield: Flynn, Gray, Jones

Forwards: McGowan, O Sullivan, Scully, Morris, O Reilly, Walsh, Costello, Caufield, O Connor

21 lads named above, still short a couple of defenders especially a full back and wing back cover. Could do with another option at midfield, we're only 1 injury away from the bare bones. Forwards are stacked but no one has shown consistent for scoring 3/4 pts for 4 or 5 matches"
You left out Sean Coffey who did well in Tailteann Cup this year.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 17/10/2023 15:57:11    2508872