All Ireland Football Championship 2025 - 3 Like(s)
Replying To legendzxix: "Watched back The Sunday Game this evening, skipping the first hour until the football.
Cavan had great hunger. Mayo then were off it. The combination that would setup an upset. Cavan and Down both delivered the results that should go along way to seeing them advance from their groups.
Clare should be in the Tailteann Cup. Clare are making a mockery of All Ireland qualification. It is ridiculous that 3rd in Division 3 Clare can beat 5th in Division 4 Tipperary to qualify for the All Ireland championship ahead of the Division 3 winners Offaly, Division 3 runners up Kildare and even Westmeath who were in Division 2." The Munster football championship has been making a mockery of the all Ireland championship for years and Kerry have been the beneficiaries of it!
Pjm111 (National) - 20/05/2025 05:33:37
Sunday Game Team Of The Year - 1 Like(s)
Replying To foreveryoung: "This would be my Team of the Year
Goalkeeper: Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)
Full-back line: Mikey Butler (Kilkenny), Huw Lawlor (Kilkenny), Dan Morrissey (Limerick)
Half-back line: Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick), John Conlon (Clare), Kyle Hayes (Limerick)
Midfield: Darragh O'Donovan (Limerick), Willie O'Donoghue (Limerick)
Half-forward line: Tom Morrissey (Limerick), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Shane O'Donnell (Clare)
Full-forward line: Aaron Gillane (Limerick), Conor Whelan (Galway), Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)
The Sunday Game crowd got it almost right.
I like Tyrrell's no-nonsense analysis. Canning was lamenting Tony Kelly's absence. Well, as Jackie pointed out, for the second year in a row, Tony never showed up for work against Mikey Butler. He must be surely sick of Mickey's pocket by now. Conlon had a superb year and played no. 6 throughout. TJ is all the superlatives that are used to describe him, and without doubt one of the finest hurlers we've ever seen, but it was a close call for me between himself and Lee Chin for the no. 11 position. Chin is a savage player." By Jackie Tyrrells logic would a lot of the Kilkenny lads fail to get an star then as they failed to show up on the biggest day? Reid was poor on Sunday & was held scoreless from play in both knock out games this year. Kelly scored from play and set up nearly a dozen more against Kilkenny. People seem to forget he was playing very deep after Ryan Taylor got injured.
The scoring stats from play this year tell the story, Kelly scored 5-22 from play and only 2 players, Cody & Whelan, are ahead of him. Kelly didn't get to play the likes of Westhmeath or Antrim either. There is no way TJ can get an all star ahead of TK based in their 6 championship games each this year.
Pjm111 (National) - 25/07/2023 09:39:03
All Stars - 1 Like(s)
Replying To CTGAA10: "Think a bit more controversy when hurling is announce..I'm expecting 6 clare,6 cork,2 kk and 1 limerick..I think tk will probably get one but he isn't in my 15..he had the final but outside of that he wasn't really not existent..I know this is a controversial opinion.for me one midfield position and a half back are only ones up for debate..the football is fair enough ,grimley and Paudie Clifford for me very unlucky but who would be left out??" Scoring 3 from play in the Munster final, 6 from play in the quarter final and 3 from play in the semi final along with the greatest 1-4 ever seen in a final. What world do you lot live in when consistency like that is "non existent".?Considering Gearoid Hegarty got an all star for 3,0,4, 2 and 1-2 across 5 games in Munster and scored a point in the semi final I take Hegarty was non existent outside the Munster final too so why did he get an star?
Pjm111 (National) - 02/11/2024 10:26:13