Minors 2017

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Best of luck to all involved today . Hope we can keep the scoreboard respectable at least.
Clifford is the man that will do the damage but I know our management team will have a plan to curtail him. Well hopefully anyway."
He's on 1-5 already and it's only the start of the second half.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 20/08/2017 14:22:16    2035537

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Best of luck to all involved today . Hope we can keep the scoreboard respectable at least.
Clifford is the man that will do the damage but I know our management team will have a plan to curtail him. Well hopefully anyway."
What was this plan? We haven't had one all year. Credit to players for getting so far in spite of this.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 20/08/2017 14:57:04    2035548

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "What was this plan? We haven't had one all year. Credit to players for getting so far in spite of this."
I'm sure sean will tell us what our plan was to deal with Kerry's attack? They played 1 or 2 sweepers against us, that was their plan.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 20/08/2017 15:01:36    2035549

Replying To fredflint:  "I'm sure sean will tell us what our plan was to deal with Kerry's attack? They played 1 or 2 sweepers against us, that was their plan."
Just kept putting different players in him. No actual gameplan to try and nullify him. We have some seriously talented players but were held back by no gameplan.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 20/08/2017 15:13:37    2035552

No reason why this Cavan Minor team should lose this match and I am not expecting anything else but a win be positive.

seanorinn (Cavan) - Posts:3645 - 17/08/2017 11:29:03 2034619

Please tell us why you expected nothing but a win, I'd love to hear your rationale.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 20/08/2017 16:17:39    2035576

Some of our lads gave their all today.
The amount of fumbling was embarrassing though. Very few Kerry fumbles. Our lads had the jitters.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 20/08/2017 17:30:06    2035618

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Some of our lads gave their all today.
The amount of fumbling was embarrassing though. Very few Kerry fumbles. Our lads had the jitters."
No reason why this Cavan Minor team should lose this match and I am not expecting anything else but a win be positive.

Please tell us why you expected nothing but a win, I'd love to hear your rationale.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts:15 - 20/08/2017 16:17:39 2035576

First question I will ask you does the score reflect the game.
What was it Clifford scored 1-10 I think a supreme performance from an extremely mature minor this I can say without contradiction a superb athlete.
My opinion about this Cavan team was on their efforts in their preparation for this game and sadly they fell short and for some reason changed their game plan when they were holding their own. When they started pumping the long ball into the Kerry defense they put them under pressure and then stopped.
I will hold my hand up and say yes the better team won there is no question about that but I was never going to say on here they were going to lose for to say so would be very disrespectful and negative to my adopted county minors.
I got soaked but this was the last county minor team to represent Cavan I will ever see in my life time.
I have to say many were found wanting and what can I say it's minors for you.

I will say this however as regards maturity there was no comparison so maybe going forward strength and conditioning has to be the order of the day at all county levels for we are way of the the mark along side them and the Kerry and Mayo senior players as well.
Lesson learnt here I hope for the future that more time has to be spent in the gym than out playing football for every training session. It really was a joy to watch the ability of these players knocking over scores from all angles and from either foot. This will go back to my previous post in another topic where we need to bin the manual and teach the youngsters how to use both feet before they are let near any so called coaches. Am I fuming you bet I am not by being beaten by a special team but by the total lack of strength and phasic in all our team's.
Clapping yourself's on the back because you got it right means nothing to me.
Congratulations to the lad's they did their best and fell short. I feel sorry for them for they must be feeling very low right now. Don't take it to heart lad's enjoy your game you did your best now move on to the next stage of your development in what ever sport you take on.
Is mise Sean o'Rinn

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 20/08/2017 18:40:22    2035661

Replying To seanorinn:  "No reason why this Cavan Minor team should lose this match and I am not expecting anything else but a win be positive.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts:15 - 20/08/2017 16:17:39 2035576

First question I will ask you does the score reflect the game.
What was it Clifford scored 1-10 I think a supreme performance from an extremely mature minor this I can say without contradiction a superb athlete.
My opinion about this Cavan team was on their efforts in their preparation for this game and sadly they fell short and for some reason changed their game plan when they were holding their own. When they started pumping the long ball into the Kerry defense they put them under pressure and then stopped.
I will hold my hand up and say yes the better team won there is no question about that but I was never going to say on here they were going to lose for to say so would be very disrespectful and negative to my adopted county minors.
I got soaked but this was the last county minor team to represent Cavan I will ever see in my life time.
I have to say many were found wanting and what can I say it's minors for you.

I will say this however as regards maturity there was no comparison so maybe going forward strength and conditioning has to be the order of the day at all county levels for we are way of the the mark along side them and the Kerry and Mayo senior players as well.
Lesson learnt here I hope for the future that more time has to be spent in the gym than out playing football for every training session. It really was a joy to watch the ability of these players knocking over scores from all angles and from either foot. This will go back to my previous post in another topic where we need to bin the manual and teach the youngsters how to use both feet before they are let near any so called coaches. Am I fuming you bet I am not by being beaten by a special team but by the total lack of strength and phasic in all our team's.
Clapping yourself's on the back because you got it right means nothing to me.
Congratulations to the lad's they did their best and fell short. I feel sorry for them for they must be feeling very low right now. Don't take it to heart lad's enjoy your game you did your best now move on to the next stage of your development in what ever sport you take on.
Is mise Sean o'Rinn"
A great post. Fair play Sean.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 20/08/2017 19:10:22    2035677

Played well in patches.. lots of elementary mistakes which were probably down to weather conditions. Kerry looked like they could score a goal every time they went forward.
But 2-10 is a reasonable score against such a good Kerry team.
Hopefully our lads will learn from the Croke Park experience.
Clifford is a special player and worth the entrance fee alone. For his size and ability I'd say he is unmarkable in minor grade. Best Minor I've seen in a long time .
He has some big future in the game I'd say.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 20/08/2017 19:31:32    2035686

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Played well in patches.. lots of elementary mistakes which were probably down to weather conditions. Kerry looked like they could score a goal every time they went forward.
But 2-10 is a reasonable score against such a good Kerry team.
Hopefully our lads will learn from the Croke Park experience.
Clifford is a special player and worth the entrance fee alone. For his size and ability I'd say he is unmarkable in minor grade. Best Minor I've seen in a long time .
He has some big future in the game I'd say."
Probably end up in Australia.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 20/08/2017 19:42:09    2035697

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Just kept putting different players in him. No actual gameplan to try and nullify him. We have some seriously talented players but were held back by no gameplan."
Would agree with this comment. Thought our lads done exactly what they have being doing in every championship game so far & that is playing with great heart & guts. In the Ulster final they were clearly outclassed by Derry but battled gamely & the same today fighting back to 5pts with about 15 mins left. Tremendous attribute in any team to have that never say die attitude. However Clifford was outstanding & a fantastic prospect but we seemed to have absolutely no game plan to deal with him. Playing him one on one was a disaster from the start. Surely we should have played with a sweeper in front of him ??? In my opinion the rest of the Kerry forwards were well marshalled & if Clifford influence was curtailed we would have been very close to winning that game. Anyway congrats to players & management great to have an active interest in an all Ireland semi again

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 20/08/2017 22:53:40    2035772

Credit to the young lads who worked very hard in every game. They can hold their heads up high. What a shame they were set up so poorly. Played a sweeper who was clearly not told how to play the role. He was too far away from Clifford and when ball went in he never doubled up in him. Kick out strategy involved lads running over and back across the field into areas occupied by their own players - clearly not worked on. Two long balls and two goals but a big smith or Patterson wasnt sent until the game was over. We probably wouldn't have won anyway but why not give the team a fighting chance. Kerry took us serious, doubling and tripling up on madden when he got the ball. They done their homework and devised a game plan. We go man to man. I hope the county board take a very close look at this set up.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 20/08/2017 23:43:37    2035790

Our lads did well in the unfamiliar surrounds of croker

Well done to John and the team
And fup the begrudgers

potnorwindow (Cavan) - Posts: 363 - 21/08/2017 02:49:17    2035814

Folks, there is nothing to be ashamed of in the performance of the Minors yesterday. Beaten by a stronger team but there is no reason why some of these young men won't represent the County at Senior level. Indeed it may be that we will find the elusive forward(s) that we need from this bunch of players.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 21/08/2017 07:22:12    2035820

Congrats to management and the team for getting this far, but lets be honest, we were out classed. double scoring . 2.22 = 24 2.10 = 12
Double scores converted.
We didn't seem to have a game plan. We hoofed in a few high balls and got breaks from them but other than that we looked lost.
Kerry looked like they were in 2nd gear for most of the game.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 21/08/2017 10:53:58    2035878

Replying To kildare blue:  "Folks, there is nothing to be ashamed of in the performance of the Minors yesterday. Beaten by a stronger team but there is no reason why some of these young men won't represent the County at Senior level. Indeed it may be that we will find the elusive forward(s) that we need from this bunch of players."
Young Pearson looks a real talent.

I know Clifford stole the show but the next best player on the field I thought was James Smith. He was exceptional in a team so heavily beaten.

Our keeper was outstanding with his kickouts for the most part.

There's a few guys on that team will be senior Cavan players in the next 2-3 years.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 21/08/2017 10:56:04    2035880

Hard luck to the lads yesterday. they just weren't good enough but thats never anything to be ashamed of when you give every last ounce. look!!!! Kerry had Clifford. now what are the chances of cavan not getting to a semi final in 40 + years and they come up against a once in a lifetime prodigy. Kerry are a good side but he is playing at a completely different level. As for Cavan, when the dust settles and i think it will fairly fast a lot of people will realise what is here. There are a number of lads there that have a very bright future. Smith i think is outstanding and easily the second best player on show yesterday. that is quite an achievement. Pierson and Madden are just what Cavan need. there's a great attitude too. they'll not give up!!!!! now its time to get them in the gym, get a few stone on them and get a coach that will look after them and help them reach their potential

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 21/08/2017 11:34:41    2035908

Replying To StirringIt:  "Congrats to management and the team for getting this far, but lets be honest, we were out classed. double scoring . 2.22 = 24 2.10 = 12
Double scores converted.
We didn't seem to have a game plan. We hoofed in a few high balls and got breaks from them but other than that we looked lost.
Kerry looked like they were in 2nd gear for most of the game."
Congrats to management and the team for getting this far, but lets be honest, we were out classed. double scoring . 2.22 = 24 2.10 = 12
Double scores converted.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts:294 - 21/08/2017 10:53:58 2035878

I don't want to really get into a discussion with you but do you feel the score was a reflection off the game. Three clear cut chances missed in the first half alone any other time they would have been in the back of the net. Yes this Kerry team are special thats for sure and I hope the county board look at the physic of these lads along side ours and realise money is being wasted in the wrong area "Coaching ???" this has to be looked into very soon because it's not doing what it was set out to do. We have to strengthen up our lads and this applies across the board now one can see why Cavan are going no place fast just look at out teams even if only along side Tyrone let alone Kerry Dublin Mayo

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 21/08/2017 12:05:32    2035939

Replying To seanorinn:  "Congrats to management and the team for getting this far, but lets be honest, we were out classed. double scoring . 2.22 = 24 2.10 = 12
Double scores converted.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts:294 - 21/08/2017 10:53:58 2035878

I don't want to really get into a discussion with you but do you feel the score was a reflection off the game. Three clear cut chances missed in the first half alone any other time they would have been in the back of the net. Yes this Kerry team are special thats for sure and I hope the county board look at the physic of these lads along side ours and realise money is being wasted in the wrong area "Coaching ???" this has to be looked into very soon because it's not doing what it was set out to do. We have to strengthen up our lads and this applies across the board now one can see why Cavan are going no place fast just look at out teams even if only along side Tyrone let alone Kerry Dublin Mayo"
Kerry were in 2nd gear. Our keep brought off 3 great saves. Clifford could have had 2 more goals. We got off lightly . Yes we scored 2-10 which took the bad look of the scoreboard.
But Kerry were far superior .

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 21/08/2017 12:29:27    2035966

I don't want to really get into a discussion with you but do you feel the score was a reflection off the game. Three clear cut chances missed in the first half alone any other time they would have been in the back of the net. Yes this Kerry team are special thats for sure and I hope the county board look at the physic of these lads along side ours and realise money is being wasted in the wrong area "Coaching ???" this has to be looked into very soon because it's not doing what it was set out to do. We have to strengthen up our lads and this applies across the board now one can see why Cavan are going no place fast just look at out teams even if only along side Tyrone let alone Kerry Dublin Mayo

Q1. Yes Sean, I do think the score was a reflection. Kerry could have had a few more goals IF they needed them. Misses don't count for anything. Just ask our seniors !!!!

Q2. These are Minors and next year Minor will be u17. As you seriously suggesting that players who are still developing physically should be put on a weights programme !!

Teens have difficulty with knowing how to use discretion in many things and exercise and healthy living is often one of those things. Many teens are introduced to the world of muscle building either as a part of their sports teams' regimen to increase their stamina and strength or through the many 'six-pack' articles in men's magazines. However, teens may do themselves more harm than good with muscle building.

Many of the sports teams for teenagers now insist they play harder and accomplish more than has ever before been accomplished. In order for them to accomplish more they are encouraged to 'buff up'. They are encouraged to lift weights by their coaches, their team mates as well as by society. The idea they may be the next sports star is not far from anyone's mind.

There are many dangers involved in weight training for the average adult let alone a young man or woman not quite through with their body's development. Doing too much too fast, lifting more than you should before your body is ready can be disastrous for someone just starting a muscle building program.

Teens that have not completely developed the musculature and the bone growth they will eventually achieve are in serious danger of damaging growing muscles and bones to the extent they will cause the growth plates (epiphyseal plates) of their bones to prematurely close causing a stunting of the growth of the teen. There are many injuries that can happen that will permanently injure muscles, tendons, and joints, causing pain and disability for the rest of their lives. The rupture of an Achilles tendon, for example, will cause pain for quite some time if not for the lifespan of the sufferer.

Moderation in all things is the key to a healthy life. A teenager should build up slowly to any exercise, especially one that can be quite dangerous if not done properly. Permanent injury is not something you wish to see happen to any child and avoid a lifetime of pain and suffering

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 21/08/2017 12:36:09    2035971