Cavan Seniors 2026

Any thoughts on the new season?
It seems like a long time ago since the defeat in Killarney
Thankfully the McKenna cup is back.
Division 2 looks fairly average outside Tyrone.
And we've been given a nice Ulster championship draw - we'll be looking for four in a row over Monaghan

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 436 - 18/12/2025 20:22:50    2648796

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Any thoughts on the new season?
And we've been given a nice Ulster championship draw - we'll be looking for four in a row over Monaghan"
If we execute a decent kick out plan and have the right fellas ready to get the breaking ball we'll have a lot more quality possession than 2025. We have the range of skills and ability. We need to grow confidence and belief. Persevere during the match. Our forwards need to give it a lash and go for it. Break the line and bury it more often. Life's too short.

jokerjinx (Cavan) - Posts: 4 - 18/12/2025 22:27:12    2648810

Heard there was a recent senior challenge against Dublin, anyone hear how it went?

JumpinJackFlash (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 22/12/2025 01:19:04    2649151

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Any thoughts on the new season?
And we've been given a nice Ulster championship draw - we'll be looking for four in a row over Monaghan"
Are you having a laugh? you think Division 2 is average?

Cavan
Cork
Derry
Tyrone
Louth
Meath
Offaly
Kildare

Kildare and Offaly should be beatable, but the rest are far from easy and given the fact that we have lost a few players to retirement and not committing in 2026.

Pologrounds2025 (Cavan) - Posts: 56 - 22/12/2025 16:24:19    2649216

I watched last summers Kerry game back over the Christmas and did my own stats.
Kerry 3-20 Cavan 1-17

Kerry score source:
Cavan kickout= 0-5
Kerry kickout= 1-3
Turnovers= 2-12

Cavan score source:
Cavan kickout= 1-5
Kerry kickout= 0-3
Turnovers= 0-7
Throw in= 0-1
Breaches= 0-1

Wides:
Kerry=9 Cavan=5
Off post:
Kerry= 1 Cavan= 0
Short:
Kerry= 1 Cavan=2
Saved:
Kerry=7 Cavan=1

Total Cavan turnovers lost= 26
Total Cavan turnovers won= 21
Most turnovers won: B. O'Connell (6), Kerry unforced errors (4), C. Brady (3), N. Carolan (3)

Kerry kickouts won= 9/15 (60%)
Cavan kickouts won= 16/30 (53%)

Fiftyball (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 03/01/2026 16:20:30    2649538

Replying To Fiftyball:  "I watched last summers Kerry game back over the Christmas and did my own stats.
Kerry 3-20 Cavan 1-17

Kerry score source:
Cavan kickout= 0-5
Kerry kickout= 1-3
Turnovers= 2-12

Cavan score source:
Cavan kickout= 1-5
Kerry kickout= 0-3
Turnovers= 0-7
Throw in= 0-1
Breaches= 0-1

Wides:
Kerry=9 Cavan=5
Off post:
Kerry= 1 Cavan= 0
Short:
Kerry= 1 Cavan=2
Saved:
Kerry=7 Cavan=1

Most turnovers won: B. O'Connell (6), Kerry unforced errors (4), C. Brady (3), N. Carolan (3)

Cavan kickouts won= 16/30 (53%)"
fair play to you must have had an exciting christmass

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 509 - 03/01/2026 21:37:55    2649613

Dermot McCabe has pledged and promised to get Cavan out of Division 2 this year ….. into Division 3

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 971 - 04/01/2026 09:14:05    2649648

Replying To veterngaa:  "Dermot McCabe has pledged and promised to get Cavan out of Division 2 this year ….. into Division 3"
I'd hold back on the celebrations for a while there Tom. That Cavan team who lined out last night are a long way off what will be playing in the league. Your own crowd looked very ordinary and will struggle in Division One. Apart from the Scotstown lads, you haven't a huge pile coming back. As for Scotstown themselves. That Brigids game finished in farcical fashion. Putting your goalie in on the square and ballooning the ball in there is 1970s stuff. It's crazy that your 34 year old goalie is what you pins hopes of success on. Other than Beggan, no other Scotstown player is going to provide a scoring threat in the top division. Against a young and naive Cavan defence, Garland did OK. He's not getting that chance against the teams in the top division. Those are the facts, Tom.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 226 - 04/01/2026 20:38:00    2649787

Replying To veterngaa:  "Dermot McCabe has pledged and promised to get Cavan out of Division 2 this year ….. into Division 3"
Tom must be devastated at the United Parishes plus transfers failing to make Croker.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 546 - 05/01/2026 12:42:42    2649865

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "I'd hold back on the celebrations for a while there Tom. That Cavan team who lined out last night are a long way off what will be playing in the league. Your own crowd looked very ordinary and will struggle in Division One. Apart from the Scotstown lads, you haven't a huge pile coming back. As for Scotstown themselves. That Brigids game finished in farcical fashion. Putting your goalie in on the square and ballooning the ball in there is 1970s stuff. It's crazy that your 34 year old goalie is what you pins hopes of success on. Other than Beggan, no other Scotstown player is going to provide a scoring threat in the top division. Against a young and naive Cavan defence, Garland did OK. He's not getting that chance against the teams in the top division. Those are the facts, Tom."
Killian Lavelle
Michael Hamill
Bobby Mc Caul
Louis Kelly
Ryan Wylie
Dylan Byrne
Stephen O Hanlon
Ryan Mc Anespie
Aaron Carey

6 of the above played an all Ireland quarter final last yr. Lavelle would have played.

Plus 8/9 scotstown lads, Little do you know.

Good to see Gearoid back, what's another year.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 455 - 05/01/2026 14:03:35    2649891

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Killian Lavelle
Michael Hamill
Bobby Mc Caul
Louis Kelly
Ryan Wylie
Dylan Byrne
Stephen O Hanlon
Ryan Mc Anespie
Aaron Carey

6 of the above played an all Ireland quarter final last yr. Lavelle would have played.

Plus 8/9 scotstown lads, Little do you know.

Good to see Gearoid back, what's another year."
Nonsense. The Scotstown players and most mentioned there are good players but they're the old tried and tested. You're bang ordinary and it's great to see. We're going for 5 in a row against you in Clones. Your gang has won 3 Ulsters in the last 30 years. You're no more competing for the top table than we are. Other than your 34 year old goalie, the rest of your score threats are nothing to see rite home about. And to sneer at Gearoid Mckiernan continuing to play when your 34 year old goalie is near your top scorer!!! The irony!!!

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 226 - 05/01/2026 21:25:58    2649973

Poor stuff in Temp last night, conditions werent great but Fermanagh the better team overall, Cavan very laboured in their play whereas Fermanagh moved the ball quickly and similar to Monaghan last week, were able to score at their ease sometimes. The other worrying factor was how easy is was for both Monaghan and Fermanagh to cut us open at times to create goal chances. A lot of work needed for the league kicking off in a few weeks, apart from a few new debuts, there wasnt much positives to take from the McKenna Cup campaign. Cavan need to be more direct and get the ball in early, again, similar to previous years, very slow on the ball and too much backward and sidewards passing.

Pologrounds2025 (Cavan) - Posts: 56 - 08/01/2026 09:30:21    2650235

Replying To Fiftyball:  "I watched last summers Kerry game back over the Christmas and did my own stats.
Kerry 3-20 Cavan 1-17

Kerry score source:
Cavan kickout= 0-5
Kerry kickout= 1-3
Turnovers= 2-12

Cavan score source:
Cavan kickout= 1-5
Kerry kickout= 0-3
Turnovers= 0-7
Throw in= 0-1
Breaches= 0-1

Wides:
Kerry=9 Cavan=5
Off post:
Kerry= 1 Cavan= 0
Short:
Kerry= 1 Cavan=2
Saved:
Kerry=7 Cavan=1

Cavan kickouts won= 16/30 (53%)"
Interesting stats. I suppose 2-12 from turnovers tells it's own story. Although Kerry put on alot of pressure all over the field that day and we were given a very harsh black card. We were definitely second best but had an opportunity in the second half. If I remember correctly Jason McLoughlin also had a very good game that day on Sean O'Shea

The McKenna Cup was poor enough but all will be quickly forgotten about if we win in Cork.

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 436 - 09/01/2026 12:01:49    2650376

Is cavan really that stuck for players that they have to play a student on Wednesday who played with his college on the Tuesday? No-one involved know the rules? And even if there were no rules, where's the regard for player welfare. And players really need to man up, they'll be complaining about workload when they're injured.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1745 - 10/01/2026 08:12:45    2650493

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Interesting stats. I suppose 2-12 from turnovers tells it's own story. Although Kerry put on alot of pressure all over the field that day and we were given a very harsh black card. We were definitely second best but had an opportunity in the second half. If I remember correctly Jason McLoughlin also had a very good game that day on Sean O'Shea

The McKenna Cup was poor enough but all will be quickly forgotten about if we win in Cork."
Yeah McLoughlin had a good game. He did a great bit of defending on Clifford where he showed him onto his right foot and Clifford shot wide

Fiftyball (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 10/01/2026 18:03:43    2650581

My own stats from the Fermanagh game.
Fermanagh 1-12 Cavan 1-10

Scorers: C. McGovern (1-1), R. Donohoe (0-3), C. O'Reilly (0-2), P. Lynch (0-2), G. McKiernan (0-1), C. Shekleton (0-1)

Last pass/Assists: T. Madden (4), Ci. Brady (1), G. McKiernan (1), P. Corrigan (1), P. Lynch (1), C. O'Reilly (1), D. Lovett (1).

Fermanagh score source:
Cavan kickout= 0-2
Fermanagh kickout= 0-4
Turnovers= 1-3
Shots dropped short= 0-3

Cavan score source:
Cavan kickout= 0
Fermanagh kickout= 0
Turnovers= 1-7
Shots dropped short= 0-3

Wides:
Fermanagh=2 Cavan=7
Short:
Fermanagh= 5 Cavan=6
Saved:
Fermanagh=1 Cavan=0

Total Cavan turnovers lost= 12
Total Cavan turnovers won= 17
Most turnovers won: Fermanagh unforced errors (5), J. McLoughlin (4),  T. Hoffman (3)

Fermanagh kickouts won= 11/16 (69%)
Cavan kickouts won= 7/14 (50%)

Fiftyball (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 10/01/2026 18:12:08    2650583

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "Is cavan really that stuck for players that they have to play a student on Wednesday who played with his college on the Tuesday? No-one involved know the rules? And even if there were no rules, where's the regard for player welfare. And players really need to man up, they'll be complaining about workload when they're injured."
The playing of players was pre-arranged with a total disregard for the rules - McKenna cup is mainly about getting players minutes in competitive games to get them ready for the league.
As for players needing to man up - if a player is on a sports scholarship with his college and also on a County Team, what's he supposed to do? play for the college and get dropped from County or play for the County and lose his scholarship - but with those players from Wednesday night, if they played college football Tuesday night, the county manager shouldve excused them from Wednesday night.

Pologrounds2025 (Cavan) - Posts: 56 - 12/01/2026 09:30:40    2650744

Replying To Fiftyball:  "Yeah McLoughlin had a good game. He did a great bit of defending on Clifford where he showed him onto his right foot and Clifford shot wide"
Lads, give over its history, Kerry played in 1st gear that day, they toyed with us and could've lifted it at any stage. We are millions of light years away from competing against Kerry or indeed any of the top teams. New manager in, needs to bring new ideas, new players and find some sort of identity, but it needs time and patience, its not going to happen this year or indeed in the next 3 years but it needs time.

Pologrounds2025 (Cavan) - Posts: 56 - 12/01/2026 09:34:47    2650745

Replying To Pologrounds2025:  "Lads, give over its history, Kerry played in 1st gear that day, they toyed with us and could've lifted it at any stage. We are millions of light years away from competing against Kerry or indeed any of the top teams. New manager in, needs to bring new ideas, new players and find some sort of identity, but it needs time and patience, its not going to happen this year or indeed in the next 3 years but it needs time."
In Fairness, yous are quite good at giving history lessons

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 455 - 14/01/2026 13:24:24    2651035

Replying To monaghanmad:  "In Fairness, yous are quite good at giving history lessons"
5 All Irelands & 40 Ulster Titles is a fair bit of history alright, compared to 0 all Irelands & 16 Ulster's !

Pologrounds2025 (Cavan) - Posts: 56 - 15/01/2026 11:35:24    2651131