County Final Day Without The Gaels

Given their recent leagues performances this year (most of them without their County players), I think its guaranteed that the men from the barrack hill will once again grace the fields of Breffni park this year. Write them off at your peril but it's written in the stars, the hunger is back and the boys in blue are looking forward to it!

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 11/07/2022 14:38:48    2431417

Replying To brian:  "Sorry Tomsmith

County Final with the Gaels is like walking thinking you're Cinderella when all ye are is the ugly sister.....
The one no one else wants is Cavan Gaels...
The stain you just can't get out

The oul Gaels won't give anyone a good game cos they won't be there .... again...."
Good man Brian , A post like that from you is all the incentive a team like the Gaels need! Any more stupid comment?

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 16/07/2022 14:37:23    2432353

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Good man Brian , A post like that from you is all the incentive a team like the Gaels need! Any more stupid comment?"
After last Friday nights come back against Ramor, I think it's safe to say that Gael's have not gone away and will be in the reckoning coming the back end of the championship.

You'd be a fool to write them off and Jayo has them as hungry as ever. A few young lads brought through, coupled with the more experienced players, so it's up to the the likes of Gowna, Ramor and Crosserlough to try and stop them!

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 18/07/2022 15:00:17    2432737

Replying To cavanblueman:  "After last Friday nights come back against Ramor, I think it's safe to say that Gael's have not gone away and will be in the reckoning coming the back end of the championship.

You'd be a fool to write them off and Jayo has them as hungry as ever. A few young lads brought through, coupled with the more experienced players, so it's up to the the likes of Gowna, Ramor and Crosserlough to try and stop them!"
Cavanblueman

Tomsmith here

I just wonder what you mean when you say its up to Ramour ect tos top them..
Why not applaud a good team and say well do ne the greatest team / club in Cavan for the past 20 years or so.
I say its hard for a team like the Gaels to keep on top of Club football in Cavan when day in and day out you are playing weak opposition

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 21/07/2022 19:38:11    2433453

Tomsmith here

Very sad County Final to see the big Town team missing
While no disrespect to Killagarry/ Crubany is intended it is always great to see the Big Town team compete at the highest level.
The Gaels always took flair / style and finesse on to the field of play.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 09/10/2022 18:57:14    2443308

is it true Tom that the Gaels are trying to force an amalgamation with killagarry so that they can be competitive in the senior championship going forward Gearoid would be some addition to the kilagarry lads and the other 14 gaels players would really strengthen killagarrys subs bench.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 11/10/2022 11:00:14    2443539

Replying To cavanblueman:  "After last Friday nights come back against Ramor, I think it's safe to say that Gael's have not gone away and will be in the reckoning coming the back end of the championship.

You'd be a fool to write them off and Jayo has them as hungry as ever. A few young lads brought through, coupled with the more experienced players, so it's up to the the likes of Gowna, Ramor and Crosserlough to try and stop them!"
And try they did. Will killagarry rub in the salt this weekend

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 255 - 11/10/2022 13:04:56    2443568

Replying To tomsmith:  "Cavanblueman

Tomsmith here

I just wonder what you mean when you say its up to Ramour ect tos top them..
Why not applaud a good team and say well do ne the greatest team / club in Cavan for the past 20 years or so.
I say its hard for a team like the Gaels to keep on top of Club football in Cavan when day in and day out you are playing weak opposition"
Which of the weaker opposition do you think will win the championship

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 255 - 11/10/2022 13:10:23    2443569

Replying To Thejampot:  "Which of the weaker opposition do you think will win the championship"
Your a bigger eejit replying to this troll. The gaels are finished. They may go back into the transfer market again and see what other ace they can poach but may need more then one.

Mike_Clitoris69 (Cavan) - Posts: 230 - 11/10/2022 14:09:54    2443582

Replying To Mike_Clitoris69:  "Your a bigger eejit replying to this troll. The gaels are finished. They may go back into the transfer market again and see what other ace they can poach but may need more then one."
He's clearly trolled you too

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 12/10/2022 18:07:30    2443781

Weekends Predictions:

Killygarry v Gowna - Killygarry by 12

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 291 - 14/10/2022 09:01:27    2443925

Tomsmith here
This is the Cavan Gaels record over the past 20 years
2001, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2014, 2017 and
I might add only for a few dubious Referee decisions and or tactics used by the opposition we could have progressed up to and won afew more titles.
But what has been has been .... so we will wish our Country neighbours Killgarry well .
A lot of Town people would go out to the Country to view the Farm Animals / Fowl/ and Poultry) and enjoy it over the years
I exhort the Town people to reach out and offer parking to the Killygarry fans Cars / Buses and Tractors ect on match day

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 14/10/2022 09:26:41    2443928

Just wondering Tom will the ten gaels supporters go to the final now that their beloved gaels are not involved.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 14/10/2022 19:01:34    2444005

Breffniblueand white of a mere 225 Post

Tomsmith here
Yes Blue and white supporters from the Gaels Club will be in attendance and we will cheer on our Country Cousins the Killgarry lads .
Indeed quite alot of Killygarry ladies /Girls found good quality Husbands ( The great Mrs T came in the opposite Direction to make her great find)
While I feel that Gowns will have an edge because of teh teams that the beat on the way to the final me thinks that Killygarry will have the staying power.
As a supporter of the Great Gaels team who has suffered injustices on the field of play in the past. I hope that we have a good final

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 16/10/2022 10:38:16    2444168

Hope the great gaels team are able to field a reseve team soon see they conceeded today.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 16/10/2022 15:29:31    2444195

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here
This is the Cavan Gaels record over the past 20 years
2001, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2014, 2017 and
I might add only for a few dubious Referee decisions and or tactics used by the opposition we could have progressed up to and won afew more titles.
But what has been has been .... so we will wish our Country neighbours Killgarry well .
A lot of Town people would go out to the Country to view the Farm Animals / Fowl/ and Poultry) and enjoy it over the years
I exhort the Town people to reach out and offer parking to the Killygarry fans Cars / Buses and Tractors ect on match day"
That's the last 22 years....

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 16/10/2022 16:58:49    2444205

Gowna fully deserved winners. Killygarry had a good year getting to the win final, and should learn from it, But Gowna were a better all round team. Martin Reillys chipped goal kept Killygarry in the game in game, The second half Gowna were much the better team. They were very strong at midfield with Donahoe and Conor Brady, contributing 1-5 between them.

Ryan Donahoe worth a look with the County. Thomas Galligan is off to Oz ,so a vacany in midfield.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 16/10/2022 19:21:52    2444236

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Gowna fully deserved winners. Killygarry had a good year getting to the win final, and should learn from it, But Gowna were a better all round team. Martin Reillys chipped goal kept Killygarry in the game in game, The second half Gowna were much the better team. They were very strong at midfield with Donahoe and Conor Brady, contributing 1-5 between them.

Ryan Donahoe worth a look with the County. Thomas Galligan is off to Oz ,so a vacany in midfield."
Thats if Leitrim don't get him first I'm told.

Killygarry showed alot of inexperience on the day with some poor fouls and kickout strategy let them down at times.

They will learn from it. Takes losing one to win one they say.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 291 - 17/10/2022 12:03:16    2444303

Replying To drumalee11:  "Thats if Leitrim don't get him first I'm told.

Killygarry showed alot of inexperience on the day with some poor fouls and kickout strategy let them down at times.

They will learn from it. Takes losing one to win one they say."
He has played underage for Cavan hopefully he stays with his club mates and plays senior for Cavan.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 17/10/2022 13:40:47    2444323

Killygarry had a few frees in the first half which were the wrong angle for Conor Smith. I don't know Martin Reilly didn't take a few. They launched high ball into a small full forward line. Smith and Lovett aren't big players. Oisin Brady was coming out deep ,but no target man type inside.
The kickouts were poor too.

They lack a bit of size in defence also

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 17/10/2022 18:26:33    2444398