Ulster Senior Football Championship- Monaghan V Cavan

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "This team is a bold team as we all know it's do or die so let's give it a lash
Galligan or Farrelly

2. McLoughlin Honest player you have to start him
3. Faulkner
4, Brady ? mark on Brady he has to realise he is playing for the county and his team

5. McVitty C/lough
6. C Rehill C/lough
7. N Murray C/Gaels if ready

8. James Smith C/lough
9. Peter Corrigan K/court

10. Martin Reilly K/Garry
11. Gearoid McKiernan C/Gaels
12. Barry Reilly K/court
13. Tinnelly K/court
14. P Lynch C/Lough
15. Gumley Ballinagh

Subs: G Smith Oisin Pierson K Clarke Cusack J Brady Ramor C O'Reilly if available Madden Corrigan Kingscourt Conroy Galligan if fit, There are several others out there especially from Killygarry"
Great team Sean, unfortunately if you pick that team for Saturday I think we will be playing 10 against 15 as around 5 of them arent on the panel. But sure we should do that anyway for a bit of craic!

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 28/10/2020 16:52:58    2302565

Sean has Fintan Cahill and Eddie Reilly on the subs bench

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 28/10/2020 17:17:56    2302576

Brady ramor

Magee ramor
Enda ó connell castlerahan
Cooke Xlough

Stuart Xlough
Brian ó connell ramor
Reilly castlerahan

Corrigan kingscourt
Wright castlerahan

Tinnley kingscourt
Reilly kingscourt
Oisín ó connell castlerahan

Tierney lavey
Lynch Xlough
Adrian Smith Xlough

Subs
McDermot ballinagh
Maguire ramor
Tully kingscourt
Paddy reilly xlough
Shavely Xlough
Farrelly kingscourt
Cusack lavey
James brady ramor
Donoghue gowna

Just a selection of players who I don't think are in with the county but could do a good job for us next year

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 28/10/2020 17:29:19    2302581

Replying To tom84:  "Brady ramor

Magee ramor
Enda ó connell castlerahan
Cooke Xlough

Stuart Xlough
Brian ó connell ramor
Reilly castlerahan

Corrigan kingscourt
Wright castlerahan

Tinnley kingscourt
Reilly kingscourt
Oisín ó connell castlerahan

Tierney lavey
Lynch Xlough
Adrian Smith Xlough

Subs
McDermot ballinagh
Maguire ramor
Tully kingscourt
Paddy reilly xlough
Shavely Xlough
Farrelly kingscourt
Cusack lavey
James brady ramor
Donoghue gowna

Just a selection of players who I don't think are in with the county but could do a good job for us next year"
Cool. Which 23 of the current panel are you dropping to add these in?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 28/10/2020 18:12:03    2302592

Replying To fredflint:  "Cool. Which 23 of the current panel are you dropping to add these in?"
just a suggestion of a few players that could make a difference next year.
A couple of lads need to be moved on and fresh players to improve the team.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 28/10/2020 18:57:03    2302600

Replying To fredflint:  "Great team Sean, unfortunately if you pick that team for Saturday I think we will be playing 10 against 15 as around 5 of them arent on the panel. But sure we should do that anyway for a bit of craic!"
Read the post before you make a fool of yourself. I know some are not on the panel but on performances they deserve a chance.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 28/10/2020 20:48:47    2302647

Replying To fredflint:  "Cool. Which 23 of the current panel are you dropping to add these in?"
Why the negativity fred the flint people are expressing their views why don't you respect that.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 28/10/2020 20:50:02    2302648

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Read the post before you make a fool of yourself. I know some are not on the panel but on performances they deserve a chance."
Yes but players you have named have opted out of county football so, even if given a "chance", why do you think they'll suddenly commit?

Another lad above has named a team of Castlerahan and Ramor lads that have no interest in okaying inter county football. Most of the names above have been approached and declined the call.

You might as well be naming Eddie Reilly & Dermot McCabe.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 29/10/2020 05:21:55    2302712

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Why the negativity fred the flint people are expressing their views why don't you respect that."
Because this is a thread about Cavan v Monaghan in the Ulster Championship in 2 days time and you and others are using it to pick teams full of players that aren't in the panel!! Why dont you go and start another thread called "Who should be in the Cavan Panel in 2021" and then you can make teams to your hearts content.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 29/10/2020 08:30:39    2302722

Replying To fredflint:  "Because this is a thread about Cavan v Monaghan in the Ulster Championship in 2 days time and you and others are using it to pick teams full of players that aren't in the panel!! Why dont you go and start another thread called "Who should be in the Cavan Panel in 2021" and then you can make teams to your hearts content."
Well said. Can we keep the discussion to the big game which is throwing in about 50 hours from now.

I must say, I had written off any interest in the championship but the closer it gets the more I am getting that sick feeling in the gut. The more I think about it the more hopeful I am becoming. That is not good!

Reasons for optimism

Midfield- this is they key one. if Thomas Galligan starts I think we have the clear edge. Meath wiped the floor with Monaghan the last day and they have very few real options. Niall Kearns would tip the scales in the other direction but he is going to miss out. James Smith adds to the advantage for sure

Gearoid- he is due a big game. maybe not from midfield though. If he can get 3-4 points from half forward we are moving towards win

Fitness- Cavan were stuck to the ground early on against Roscommon but still finished stronger. i am taking that as an indication of training schedule not lack of conditioning

Killian Clarke- lesson learned the last day, he is not ready. Best not to learn that against McManus

Scoring rate- referred to on the podcast how many chances the team are creating. Increase conversion by a few percentage points and it moves the scoring up significantly. Some days they just go over. Saturday maybe?

Monaghan's back line- unusually leaky of late. They are missing the big presence of Corey, Walsh and Mone. Drew Wylie has gone missing. Strange to say but they have not got that much cover defensively looking at their bench for the last 2 games

Stop McManus, stop Monaghan. We have heard a lot about the players coming through- Hanlon, McCarthy, Woods etc but they have not delivered big scores in any game. Cavan's defence knows what it has to do.

The X factor- Cavan's route to victory is unknown outside the panel. Stephen Smith, James Smith, Pierson, Cormac O'Reilly, Conor Smith. We know the quality of these lads and any one of them can make their name in 2 days time. That's a big contrast to the 'McManus plus 14' team facing us.

Tactical awareness- Mickey Graham has been struggling with circumstance but he has that innate football brain. I would back him to be able to prep a plan for the lesser team on paper. Seamus McEnaney has won nothing of note in a long career and seems to be reliant on being able to get a mercenary group of advisers in place. He also seems to panic in response to second half changes in momentum, with poor sub decisions made. Cavan have been finishing games well and can exploit that.

Discipline- most of Cavan's red card merchants have departed the scene. Monaghan have a few lads who regularly get the line when it matters. Ciaran Brannigan has history with a few of them so Cavan should ramp up the pressure from the off.

Slow starters v poor finishers is what we have. If Cavan can be within 3 to 5 points at half time then I think they will win the game.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 29/10/2020 11:09:13    2302760

If it's weather like today, it could the difference of a quality free taker. McManus will punish inside the 45, and Beggan has the distance beyond that
Cavan aren't as reliable from frees, so will have to to take most of the chances from play

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 29/10/2020 12:27:25    2302796

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Well said. Can we keep the discussion to the big game which is throwing in about 50 hours from now.

I must say, I had written off any interest in the championship but the closer it gets the more I am getting that sick feeling in the gut. The more I think about it the more hopeful I am becoming. That is not good!

Reasons for optimism

Midfield- this is they key one. if Thomas Galligan starts I think we have the clear edge. Meath wiped the floor with Monaghan the last day and they have very few real options. Niall Kearns would tip the scales in the other direction but he is going to miss out. James Smith adds to the advantage for sure

Gearoid- he is due a big game. maybe not from midfield though. If he can get 3-4 points from half forward we are moving towards win

Fitness- Cavan were stuck to the ground early on against Roscommon but still finished stronger. i am taking that as an indication of training schedule not lack of conditioning

Killian Clarke- lesson learned the last day, he is not ready. Best not to learn that against McManus

Scoring rate- referred to on the podcast how many chances the team are creating. Increase conversion by a few percentage points and it moves the scoring up significantly. Some days they just go over. Saturday maybe?

Monaghan's back line- unusually leaky of late. They are missing the big presence of Corey, Walsh and Mone. Drew Wylie has gone missing. Strange to say but they have not got that much cover defensively looking at their bench for the last 2 games

Stop McManus, stop Monaghan. We have heard a lot about the players coming through- Hanlon, McCarthy, Woods etc but they have not delivered big scores in any game. Cavan's defence knows what it has to do.

The X factor- Cavan's route to victory is unknown outside the panel. Stephen Smith, James Smith, Pierson, Cormac O'Reilly, Conor Smith. We know the quality of these lads and any one of them can make their name in 2 days time. That's a big contrast to the 'McManus plus 14' team facing us.

Tactical awareness- Mickey Graham has been struggling with circumstance but he has that innate football brain. I would back him to be able to prep a plan for the lesser team on paper. Seamus McEnaney has won nothing of note in a long career and seems to be reliant on being able to get a mercenary group of advisers in place. He also seems to panic in response to second half changes in momentum, with poor sub decisions made. Cavan have been finishing games well and can exploit that.

Discipline- most of Cavan's red card merchants have departed the scene. Monaghan have a few lads who regularly get the line when it matters. Ciaran Brannigan has history with a few of them so Cavan should ramp up the pressure from the off.

Slow starters v poor finishers is what we have. If Cavan can be within 3 to 5 points at half time then I think they will win the game."
Fair good reading of it there fella. Agree with a lot of it, though I think M Graham cost a place in Div 2 getting ready for this one, they'll be a different animal on Saturday because of it.
Killian Clarke will be good to go, you can have no worries there. He won't pick up Mc Manus anyway, that will be Faulkner I would imagine
I agree with you Re. midfield but the weather and quick kick outs will even that up
It wil inevitably come down to discipline, work rate and where the scores come from as you say.
We have more potential in that regard than you might think, though, O Hanlon, Woods, K Hughes, Mccarthy can all take scores, its time they stepped up to the mark and delivered consistently. It should be a tight low scoring affair

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 29/10/2020 12:41:13    2302805

This 1 u shouldn't read to much into as we were so depleted we hadn't really a strong bench to call on, also ye were back within 2 or 3 with 15 minutes to go and lost by the same so I dont see where you thought ye had a huge finish.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 29/10/2020 16:41:17    2302884

Replying To FoolsGold:  "It's not BS. Go and get yourself informed maybe.
Your said McCabe was gone last year's when he wasn't."
Total BS. Minor is now Under 17. Anyone out of Minors can play Senior.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 29/10/2020 23:36:06    2302985

Replying To seamusorinn:  "Total BS. Minor is now Under 17. Anyone out of Minors can play Senior."
No, that's not true either.

A player who turned 18 last Nov/Dec is eligible to play in the upcoming intercounty championship. A player who turned 18 on or after Jan 1 isn't eligible.

So some 18 year olds are eligible.

Not all who are overage for minor are eligible.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 30/10/2020 09:38:07    2303006

Replying To seamusorinn:  "Total BS. Minor is now Under 17. Anyone out of Minors can play Senior."
No they can't. McGovern turned 18 in August and therefore wasn't eligible to post Senior.
If earlier he would have been ok

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 30/10/2020 10:45:29    2303016

Replying To cavanman47:  "No, that's not true either.

A player who turned 18 last Nov/Dec is eligible to play in the upcoming intercounty championship. A player who turned 18 on or after Jan 1 isn't eligible.

So some 18 year olds are eligible.

Not all who are overage for minor are eligible."
That's what I was talking about about before you jumped in with the BS comment

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 30/10/2020 10:53:57    2303019

Replying To FoolsGold:  "That's what I was talking about about before you jumped in with the BS comment"
You said 18 year olds can't play Senior. . .they can.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 30/10/2020 12:05:02    2303054

Players who turned 18 in this year is what I meant . McGovern played U17 last year,so shouldn't have been that hard to understand

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 30/10/2020 12:09:14    2303056

Im still laughing at the Quiet Mans selection for this weekend,proper laugh out loud stuff.

I imagine colin gumley himself would be very surprised to get the call up seeing as he retired from the club scene a few years now. Classic!

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 30/10/2020 13:37:02    2303077