Allianz National Football League Div 2 2018

Hard luck to all yesterday. Disappointing but by no means a disaster. Was a tough battle. We are starting to get tested a lot more in the last couple of games which is no bad thing and there are plenty of areas for us to work on and plenty of scope for the players to improve. Consistency is an issue with us too so hopefully with more experience the younger lads will thrive. You can often learn more in defeat so if we regroup properly and come back more determined and cuter there's no reason why we can't beat Tipp at home. Would be great to get another crack at Roscommon before we go to Ballybofey.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 19/03/2018 11:58:58    2085748

Replying To kildare blue:  "The Tipperary game will tell the tale. Win and we will have 11 points and be promoted. Lose and we will will end up with 9 points and most likely finish third in the Division and miss out. The table won't lie after 7 games.

Forget the permutations, go out and beat Tipperary boys!"
The way the games fell in the group we had the 2 best teams in the last 2 games so it was likely it was always going to be decided on the last day. Huge difference in standard of div 2 to division 1 & while it would be extremely disappointing not to secure promotion given the position we put ourselves in if we are not able to beat either of the 2 best teams we have no business back in division 1. Am still confident that we can beat tipp especially if we get an extra week recovery. Home advantage & revenge for last year together with what should be a big vocal home support can also make a difference

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 19/03/2018 12:07:18    2085753

Replying To eamonnmac:  "A good performance to a point yesterday but Roscommon got 5 of the last 6 points when pressure really on. This is when we need the leaders emerging and there is a lack of. The messing with Johnson putting himself centre stage and wasting time on the free kick was annoying.

Ciaran brady,faulkner and mc loughlin , young Bradley too, and mc kiernan was great in spots but you need him to show at crunch times. Roscommon have a few very big talented footballers.

The ref was very poor and went against us i felt and we somehow with bad luck managed to miss the open goal we created. A fella commits a foul ,score a point and then gets a black card , does that score still stand ?

If we are not able to beat Roscommon or Tipp we are better off out of Division 1 and not ready for that standard.All likelihood is we will be coming straight down anyway.

We have home game against Tipp and a chance to avenge the loss in championship last year , in particular 2nd half collapse. To progress we need to be beating the likes of Roscommon and Tipp."
To progress we need to be in division one and play the top teams.
In our own hands now.
Not good to see us falling away in the last 10 minutes of the game.
Game was lost in those ten minutes!!!!!!

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 19/03/2018 12:44:15    2085775

The game yesterday is a better measure of where we are at relative to 2 years ago. We have work to do to beat Tipp otherwise we have no business in Dub 1 and will then be 2 years with no progress. Big questions to be asked now.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 19/03/2018 17:17:06    2085898

Replying To shannon414:  "The game yesterday is a better measure of where we are at relative to 2 years ago. We have work to do to beat Tipp otherwise we have no business in Dub 1 and will then be 2 years with no progress. Big questions to be asked now."
The way the games fell in the group we had the 2 best teams in the last 2 games so it was likely it was always going to be decided on the last day. Huge difference in standard of div 2 to division 1 & while it would be extremely disappointing not to secure promotion given the position we put ourselves in if we are not able to beat either of the 2 best teams we have no business back in division 1. Am still confident that we can beat tipp especially if we get an extra week recovery. Home advantage & revenge for last year together with what should be a big vocal home support can also make a difference
bond (Longford) - Posts: 150 - 19/03/2018 12:07:18
Bond revenge for what this Tip match was lost by one bad decision on the side line yes on the side line. Mossy Corr was by far the best Cavan player on the pitch he scored 2 points and was lording the middle of the park. Substituted for what reason I will never understand for he was playing with passion and heart, from that moment on Tip ran riot up the middle and the result was not because of what the players did but what management did plain and simple. I make no apology for saying this either.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/03/2018 19:47:56    2085969

What penalty decision was McGleenan giving out about not getting in his interview does anyone know?

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 19/03/2018 20:17:27    2085988

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "What penalty decision was McGleenan giving out about not getting in his interview does anyone know?"
Presume it was the Faulkner incident when Mackey's shot dropped short into the area. It was shown on tg4 tonight. Wasn't a penalty. What was a disgraceful decision though was the point that was allowed to stand after a roscommon player had clearly bodychecked the Cavan defender, leaving the shooter free. Black card was shown but the point given. Very strange call at a key moment.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 19/03/2018 20:52:44    2086017

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "Presume it was the Faulkner incident when Mackey's shot dropped short into the area. It was shown on tg4 tonight. Wasn't a penalty. What was a disgraceful decision though was the point that was allowed to stand after a roscommon player had clearly bodychecked the Cavan defender, leaving the shooter free. Black card was shown but the point given. Very strange call at a key moment."
Yeah that was wrong as it showed tonight ref seen it so either let it go no free no card or free put and card. Don't know how he booked him and let play continue. Taught he had bad day at the office but for both team was very hard on us first half and hard on Cavan second half

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 19/03/2018 21:09:25    2086026

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Yeah that was wrong as it showed tonight ref seen it so either let it go no free no card or free put and card. Don't know how he booked him and let play continue. Taught he had bad day at the office but for both team was very hard on us first half and hard on Cavan second half"

Wasn't the losing of the game for us tho. We were in control early on completely disappeared in midfield late in the 1st half. Then we went ahead in the 2nd and never kicked on.

Roscommon will beat Cork and go up. It makes our game with Tipp a winner takes all game regardless of their result v down. As said above, if we can't beat Tipp we have no business in division 1 - league tables don't lie after 7 games.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 19/03/2018 21:36:57    2086033

Replying To seanorinn:  "The way the games fell in the group we had the 2 best teams in the last 2 games so it was likely it was always going to be decided on the last day. Huge difference in standard of div 2 to division 1 & while it would be extremely disappointing not to secure promotion given the position we put ourselves in if we are not able to beat either of the 2 best teams we have no business back in division 1. Am still confident that we can beat tipp especially if we get an extra week recovery. Home advantage & revenge for last year together with what should be a big vocal home support can also make a difference
bond (Longford) - Posts: 150 - 19/03/2018 12:07:18
Bond revenge for what this Tip match was lost by one bad decision on the side line yes on the side line. Mossy Corr was by far the best Cavan player on the pitch he scored 2 points and was lording the middle of the park. Substituted for what reason I will never understand for he was playing with passion and heart, from that moment on Tip ran riot up the middle and the result was not because of what the players did but what management did plain and simple. I make no apology for saying this either."
Revenge quite obviously for losing at home to them last year. You may blame management for substituting a player maybe you are right & maybe you are wrong. The fact of the matter is that they beat us comprehensively in the end with their best player Quinlivan only featuring for the last 10 mins. Far to easy for people to criticize management here. As lion hearted as mossy was I don't think his substitution was the only reason we let a six point lead slip & lost by 4

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 19/03/2018 21:51:27    2086037

Replying To bond:  "Revenge quite obviously for losing at home to them last year. You may blame management for substituting a player maybe you are right & maybe you are wrong. The fact of the matter is that they beat us comprehensively in the end with their best player Quinlivan only featuring for the last 10 mins. Far to easy for people to criticize management here. As lion hearted as mossy was I don't think his substitution was the only reason we let a six point lead slip & lost by 4"
Revenge quite obviously for losing at home to them last year. You may blame management for substituting a player maybe you are right & maybe you are wrong. The fact of the matter is that they beat us comprehensively in the end with their best player Quinlivan only featuring for the last 10 mins. Far to easy for people to criticize management here. As lion hearted as mossy was I don't think his substitution was the only reason we let a six point lead slip & lost by 4
bond (Longford) - Posts: 151 - 19/03/2018 21:51:27 2086037

It was the turning point in the match if you were at it you know I am stating facts. I will not blame the manager for if you were at that match he had no input into any changes made FACTS this is my opinion anyway.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/03/2018 22:45:15    2086055

Replying To seanorinn:  "Revenge quite obviously for losing at home to them last year. You may blame management for substituting a player maybe you are right & maybe you are wrong. The fact of the matter is that they beat us comprehensively in the end with their best player Quinlivan only featuring for the last 10 mins. Far to easy for people to criticize management here. As lion hearted as mossy was I don't think his substitution was the only reason we let a six point lead slip & lost by 4

It was the turning point in the match if you were at it you know I am stating facts. I will not blame the manager for if you were at that match he had no input into any changes made FACTS this is my opinion anyway."
Sean please explain how a manager had no input to changes been made???? That's his job ... he has the final say ...

kupa (Monaghan) - Posts: 281 - 20/03/2018 09:47:38    2086110

So do we know yet when the Tipp match will take place?

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 20/03/2018 10:06:14    2086126

Replying To seanorinn:  "Revenge quite obviously for losing at home to them last year. You may blame management for substituting a player maybe you are right & maybe you are wrong. The fact of the matter is that they beat us comprehensively in the end with their best player Quinlivan only featuring for the last 10 mins. Far to easy for people to criticize management here. As lion hearted as mossy was I don't think his substitution was the only reason we let a six point lead slip & lost by 4

It was the turning point in the match if you were at it you know I am stating facts. I will not blame the manager for if you were at that match he had no input into any changes made FACTS this is my opinion anyway."
Yes I was at the game & I haven't a clue who made the substitution but surely no change was made without the managers approval????

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 20/03/2018 10:41:05    2086150

The fact of the matter is we are not good enough yet to play Div 1 football so another year in Div 2 would do us no harm at all.
At the start of the league posters were talking about relegation/ survival in Div 2.
Yes we got good results away in Cork and at home to Meath and Down but these 3 teams are a shadow of their former selves.
Our first major test against a team slightly above our level last Sunday and we failed.
So there really not much improvement on last year yet.
We won't beat Tipperary as they are slightly better than Roscommon and probably the most improved team in our Div.
Mattie needs time. He's only in his 2nd year. For long term progress hope we stay in Div 2 another year.
Div 1 football next year followed by relegation would just be a setback. On recent performances we would t survive up there.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 20/03/2018 11:37:16    2086184

So do we know yet when the Tipp match will take place?

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 20/03/2018 12:15:16    2086203

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "The fact of the matter is we are not good enough yet to play Div 1 football so another year in Div 2 would do us no harm at all.
At the start of the league posters were talking about relegation/ survival in Div 2.
Yes we got good results away in Cork and at home to Meath and Down but these 3 teams are a shadow of their former selves.
Our first major test against a team slightly above our level last Sunday and we failed.
We won't beat Tipperary as they are slightly better than Roscommon and probably the most improved team in our Div.
Mattie needs time. He's only in his 2nd year. For long term progress hope we stay in Div 2 another year.
Div 1 football next year followed by relegation would just be a setback. On recent performances we would t survive up there."
We beat Tipp without playing well at all. |So going into the game thinking you have no chance against them is a terrible attitude. And dispite what you think i reckon we are better than them and will beat them again should we face them

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 20/03/2018 12:16:28    2086204

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "The fact of the matter is we are not good enough yet to play Div 1 football so another year in Div 2 would do us no harm at all.
Div 1 football next year followed by relegation would just be a setback. On recent performances we would t survive up there."
Ild be shocked if ye did not beat them to be honest.
There good in semple, not so good outside it.
If ye stop them scoring goals I cant see Cavan losing.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 20/03/2018 12:51:17    2086216

Some nonsense by inaroundthehouse as usual. If you come in the top 2 you deserve and are good enough for Div 1. Thats the whole idea of a league. Even if we went up and came down again, it is better for the players and GAA community in Cavan as a whole to be playing the best teams, inviting the dubs to town getting a win in Castlebar. Only a fool would turn the opportunity down.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 20/03/2018 13:53:43    2086236

Replying To fredflint:  "Some nonsense by inaroundthehouse as usual. If you come in the top 2 you deserve and are good enough for Div 1. Thats the whole idea of a league. Even if we went up and came down again, it is better for the players and GAA community in Cavan as a whole to be playing the best teams, inviting the dubs to town getting a win in Castlebar. Only a fool would turn the opportunity down."
Some nonsense by inaroundthehouse as usual. If you come in the top 2 you deserve and are good enough for Div 1. Thats the whole idea of a league. Even if we went up and came down again, it is better for the players and GAA community in Cavan as a whole to be playing the best teams, inviting the dubs to town getting a win in Castlebar. Only a fool would turn the opportunity down.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 945 - 20/03/2018 13:53:43 2086236

Post Reply Link 0 0

I agree with you fredflint you can only improve by playing the top division.
Cavan V Tip next Sunday at 3PM in Breifni Park

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 20/03/2018 14:25:17    2086246