Brilliant Ballygunner complete historic three-in-a-row

December 04, 2023

Ballygunner's Kevin Mahony scores a goal against Clonlara. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Ballygunner became the first team to win three successive Munster Club SHC titles with a 2-24 to 0-17 destruction of first-time finalists Clonlara at FBD Semple Stadium.

The long-time Waterford kingpins equalled Blackrock’s record of five O’Neill Cups with a breathtaking display which marks them out as strong contenders for a second Tommy Moore Cup in three seasons. The result was never in doubt after two Dessie Hutchinson goals in the space of five minutes helped the winners to a 2-12 to 0-9 half-time lead.

John Conlon opened the scoring for the Clare champions straight from the throw-in, but it proved to be a false dawn as the Gunners’ stormed back with four-in-a-row from man of the match Peter Hogan, Kevin Mahony and Pauric Mahony (two) before Hutchinson’s first major in the 14th minute put them in the driving seat.

With Mahony firing 0-10, including 0-7 from placed balls, Ballygunner stretched their advantage to 2-21 to 0-12 before Paraic O’Loughlin managed a couple of late consolation points for Clonlara.

Ballygunner will face six-in-a-row Galway champions St Thomas’ on the weekend after next for a place in the All-Ireland Club SHC final.

Most Read Stories