Royal Men rule in Ring, Rackard, and Meagher Team of the Year

October 24, 2023

Meath joint-captains Charlie Ennis and Jack Regan lift the Christy Ring Cup ©INPHO/Ken Sutton

The Meath hurlers lead the way in this year’s Ring, Rackard, Meagher Champion 15  selection, claiming an impressive five spots on this formidable team, with a further five counties also represented. 

The Royal contingent in the 2023 Champion 15 is made up of defenders Sean Geraghty,  Simon Ennis, and James Toher, who are joined by their clinical forwards Jack Regan and Éamon Óg Ó Donnchadha. 

Nicky Rackard Cup victors, Wicklow, take up three places on the team with the full back jersey going to Andrew Kavanagh, while Christy Moorehouse and Andy O’Brien make up a  lethal full-forward line. 

The Derry hurlers’ fine Christy Ring Cup performances have yielded two awards in the shape  of defender Riche Mullan and midfielder Cormac O’Doherty. 

Nicky Rackard runners-up Donegal are represented by Luke White who takes up the number  1 jersey, and wing back Danny Cullen, after their fine performances in the competition. 

Monaghan’s Lory Meagher Cup success is reflected in the shape of Niall Garland and forward  Niall Arthur who both claim a spot on this year’s Champion 15 selection. The remaining slot  on this stunning team goes to Lancashire forward Conor Madden, who takes up the wing  forward position. 

Players from the Ring, Rackard, and Meagher were asked to nominate outstanding performers in their competitions, with an independent selection committee adjudicating on the final team based on player performances, supported by video footage and county  nominations. 

The awards will be presented at a gala black-tie function in Croke Park this Friday night. The show will be streamed live on from 7pm and will also feature the awards for the Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year and the Tailteann Cup Team of the Year - as well as the  presentation of the overall Players of the Year in these championships. Tomorrow will see  the Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the year announced and the Tailteann Cup team of the year will then be announced on Thursday. 

Champion 15 Team of the Year 2023 

1 Luke White (Donegal - Nickey Rackard) 

2 Seán Geraghty (Meath – Christy Ring) 

3 Andrew Kavanagh (Wicklow - Nickey Rackard) 

4 Simon Ennis (Meath – Christy Ring) 

5 Richie Mullan (Derry – Christy Ring) 

6 James Toher (Meath - Christy Ring) 

7 Danny Cullen (Donegal - Nickey Rackard) 

8 Cormac O’Doherty (Derry – Christy Ring)

9 Niall Garland (Monaghan – Lory Meagher) 

10 Conor Madden (Lancashire – Lory Meagher) 

11 Jack Regan (Meath – Christy Ring) 

12 Éamon Óg Ó Donnchadha (Meath – Christy Ring) 

13 Christy Moorehouse (Wicklow – Nickey Rackard) 

14 Andy O’Brien (Wicklow – Nickey Rackard) 

15 Niall Arthur (Monaghan - Lory Meagher) 

Most Read Stories