Cratloe end nine-year wait for Clare SFC honours

October 16, 2023

Cathal McInerney and Sean Collins of Cratloe celebrate scoring a goal ©INPHO/Natasha Barton

Cratloe were crowned Clare senior football champions for the first time since their double-winning year of 2014 and a third time overall following a 1-10 to 1-8 victory over St Breckan’s at Cusack Park yesterday.

After knocking out the last two winners, Éire Óg and Kilmurry-Ibrickane, in the quarter and semi-finals, Colm Collins' charges regained the Jack Daly Cup with a deserved win over final newcomers St Breckan's. The crucial score was supplied by Cathal McInerney 12 minutes into the second half when he intercepted a misplaced kickout by Mark O'Donnell and lobbed it over the goalkeeper's head for a goal.

The winners were never headed after they raced into a 0-6 to 0-2 lead, with McInerney scoring three times. St Breckan's fought back to trail by two at the interval before Joe McGann left the minimum in it three minutes after the restart.

But that was as close as they came as Cratloe responded with an unanswered 1-3 before a stunning late goal from McGann proved to be no more than a consolation score for Breckan's.


Most Read Stories