New Mayo manager to be named tonight

August 22, 2022

Ray Dempsey, Kevin McStay, Declan Shaw and Mike Solan are the names in the running.

There is white smoke in Mayo with the news that the county's new senior football manager will be revealed this evening.

Mayo GAA is keeping the identity of James Horan's successor a closely-guarded secret ahead of a county board meeting in MacHale Park at 7.30pm.

What is known is that four candidates were interviewed for the post - Ray Dempsey, Kevin McStay, Declan Shaw and Mike Solan. Dempsey's proposed backroom team includes Armagh great Oisin McConville, former Mayo defender and dual star Keith Higgins, ex-Kerry goalkeeper Declan O’Keeffe and former All-Ireland winning Mayo minor manager Enda Gilvarry.

McStay’s prospective backroom team features former Mayo manager Stephen Rochford, Donie Buckley, Liam McHale and ex-Belmullet boss Damien Mulligan.

Ex-Dublin full back Paddy Christie, former wing back Richie Feeney, Sligo U20 boss Dessie Sloyan and another retired Sligo player, Cormac Rowland, are on the Shaw ticket, while Solan’s proposed backroom team comprises former Armagh All-Ireland winner Aidan O’Rourke, Sligo All-Star Eamonn O’Hara, ex-League of Ireland manager Alan Murphy and former Mayo player Mark Ronaldson.

Most Read Stories