Jersey swapping

There is one thing that bugs me in GAA-players swapping jerseys at the end of games.Last sunday Tipperary had probably their greatest ever victory in their football history and yet after the game a lot of the players were going around with Galway jerseys on them. To me it does not look right.
Another thing is -who pays for these swapped jerseys? I am sure it is not the players themselves.It will be the county boards.An unwanted additional on cash strapped boards.

edu (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 02/08/2016 10:02:47    1893885

Replying To edu:  "There is one thing that bugs me in GAA-players swapping jerseys at the end of games.Last sunday Tipperary had probably their greatest ever victory in their football history and yet after the game a lot of the players were going around with Galway jerseys on them. To me it does not look right.
Another thing is -who pays for these swapped jerseys? I am sure it is not the players themselves.It will be the county boards.An unwanted additional on cash strapped boards."
Maybe Tipperary, rightfully, think that they'll have bigger days yet in 2016.

The players get feck all for the blood sweat and tears they give to their counties. They're the reason people go to matches and they bring in the the money for county boards. A few jersies from games that they might frame to hang on their wall or donate to charity isn't a lot to hope for.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7952 - 02/08/2016 10:31:00    1893903

I remember the day when the County officials would have had you well warned before the game not to swap your jersey at the final whistle and even went as far as going in to the opposition changing rooms after the game with a handful of their jerseys (which had been swapped regardless of the warnings) looking for ours back. Of course the Belfast lads were always that bit more streetwise and had theirs well concealed and out of the changing rooms before the gather up began.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 02/08/2016 10:48:06    1893913

are the jersies not supplied by the kit suppliers and therefore at no cost to county board - could be wrong but i always assumed this

if it was me after such a monumental victory id be inclined to keep my own jersey as souvenir

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 02/08/2016 10:59:11    1893921

are the jersies not supplied by the kit suppliers and therefore at no cost to county board - could be wrong but i always assumed this
if it was me after such a monumental victory id be inclined to keep my own jersey as souvenir
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:479 - 02/08/2016 10:59:11
No they wouldn't, Counties would still be paying for gear. There would still be substantial costs.
You may prefer to keep the jersey but tipp players will have other gear from that day but wont or mightn't ever play Galway at this stage again or play galway again in career so why not exchange the jersey

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/08/2016 12:31:31    1893979

keeping a jersey would be admission that you had no chance of winning the semi in my view.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 02/08/2016 12:38:46    1893984

ormondbannerman do the counties not sign a deal with the relevant kitsupplier and get the jerseys supplied as part of of the deal, could be wrong but i didnt think the county teams paid for jersies -- most of county sides tend to swap them after championship certainly limerick teams anyway

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 02/08/2016 12:47:55    1893990

Replying To perfect10:  "keeping a jersey would be admission that you had no chance of winning the semi in my view."
How do you come to that conclusion?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 02/08/2016 12:51:26    1893993

Replying To perfect10:  "keeping a jersey would be admission that you had no chance of winning the semi in my view."
I wouldn't necessarily say that, but it did strike me that Tipp looked like they had won their All-Ireland final on Sunday.

It reminded me a bit of Donegal in 2014 after beating Dublin - we all know what happened next.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5245 - 02/08/2016 13:22:57    1894013

Replying To janesboro:  "are the jersies not supplied by the kit suppliers and therefore at no cost to county board - could be wrong but i always assumed this

if it was me after such a monumental victory id be inclined to keep my own jersey as souvenir"
I was thinking the same myself but then again Ronan O Gara swapped his Ireland jersey with Steven Jones after they won the Grand slam in Cardiff in 09, which is probably the greatest Irish team sporting achievement of recent times

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 02/08/2016 13:32:16    1894017

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Maybe Tipperary, rightfully, think that they'll have bigger days yet in 2016.

The players get feck all for the blood sweat and tears they give to their counties. They're the reason people go to matches and they bring in the the money for county boards. A few jersies from games that they might frame to hang on their wall or donate to charity isn't a lot to hope for."
Not for the first time I find myself in complete agreement , each to there own , I've known lads win medals and treasure them and I've known lads who've won them and never look or think of them again , when asked why not have them on a mantelpiece one lad pointed to his head and said its all in there , suspect keeping a jersey is similar to some they are a treasure a memento etc to others the piece of clothing I wore when representing my county , personally Id think its more important what you do in the jersey than what you do with it afterwards

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 02/08/2016 13:56:26    1894028

Replying To waynoI:  "How do you come to that conclusion?"
well if i were a player,i would be throwing that jersey away to whoever wanted it and believing that i was going to win the semi final.
you only keep jerseys if you win something in them.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 02/08/2016 15:34:56    1894085

ormond do the counties not sign a deal with the relevant kitsupplier and get the jerseys supplied as part of of the deal, could be wrong but i didnt think the county teams paid for jersies -- most of county sides tend to swap them after championship certainly limerick teams anyway
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:482 - 02/08/2016 12:47:55
They will do some deal but county boards will be paying for gear in some form or another....
if it was me after such a monumental victory id be inclined to keep my own jersey as souvenir"
I was thinking the same myself but then again Ronan O Gara swapped his Ireland jersey with Steven Jones after they won the Grand slam in Cardiff in 09, which is probably the greatest Irish team sporting achievement of recent times
Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts:114 - 02/08/2016 13:32:16
Up to players and for all irish rugby games etc the players will have at least 2 jersies with date/team of game stitched into jersey so ....

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/08/2016 22:28:01    1894375