Hats, flags, scarves or headbands?

Great to hear them words on matchday. Most hawkers are sound and up for a bit of craic. And some find alternative stuff to bring in to matches. A few of us acquired a 'Match Traffic' sign heading into Nowlan Park a few years ago for Waterford v Wexford and it got plenty of use afterwards.
Have any of ye stories of mad stuff ye got from hawkers or elsewhere for matches or banter with hawkers or sure any craic on matchdays.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8115 - 25/08/2015 11:56:16    1775801

Whats a hawker ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 25/08/2015 12:13:21    1775819

A mate walked up to one & asked him if he wanted to buy a headband. It confused the hawker for a bit.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 25/08/2015 12:15:06    1775821

I miss the inflatables on the hill - especially the inflatable cans of dutch gold - used to have one meself but gave it to a mate as a house warming gift. big regret.
inflatable bananas used to be around as well if i remember correctly.

I think the hawkers are missing a trick by not selling county colour beach balls.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 25/08/2015 12:17:35    1775827

Must be a Cukchie thing Wayno !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8115 - 25/08/2015 13:42:48    1775897

beach balls good craic before a match, use to buy them in the pound shop back when we had pounds

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 25/08/2015 14:13:48    1775927

in killarney for the munster final replay this year..walking down into the town at around 4:30 and the usual "hats flags headbands" being said in full gusto and ofcourse with a couple of dublin accents aswell..it was cloudy at that time and it didnt seem like it would rain (how wrong were we there) so anyways had a couple in the town and at around 6:20 we head up to the stadium and as we get near it starts lashing rain..suddenly as quick as lightning the lads were shouting "ponchos ponchos" haha..they were so quick off the mark.fair play to them haha it was fairly funny at the time in fairness

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 25/08/2015 14:27:50    1775945

Wayno a hawker is one of those traders you see around croker on match days selling hats scarves flags and sweets etc! Years ago they were allowed to sell inside the ground as well,if memory serves me correct they sold mainly sweets chocolate and fruit! Manys the time i saw culchies haggling with them over the price of an apple or banana, tight buggers!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 941 - 25/08/2015 14:37:22    1775952

Hawker is a new one one me!

Was down in thurles for the Dub v Waterford hurling 1/4... A dublin oul wan came into the pub and selling the most brutal headbands for €2 or 3 for a fiver! Poor woman looked down on her luck and prob used the pass to go to Thurles for the day to make a few bob, ended up buying the 3 off her

the inflatables back in the day on the hill were great craic and also when the Hill used to sing 'Hey Baby' after the dance version came out! I was only 13 or 14 at the time I would say! The latter is off point but just jogged a memory

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 25/08/2015 14:38:19    1775953

http://www.irishwholesaleflags.com/accessories/69-woollen-plaited-headbands.html

Hopefully the internet won't put some of them out of business.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8115 - 25/08/2015 16:01:48    1776031

I remember when the hawkers used to sell bars of chocolate outside Croke Park for 30p each or 3 for a £1....they knew how to offer a bargain!

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 25/08/2015 17:14:08    1776117

Ive a good pal,that has hawked headbands,flags and scarves for over 20 years.Hes never had it so bad,and came back from Thurles earlier in year with 16 euro.The Dubs games are no good to him either.It seems to be a dying trade.The lads around Ballybough still make a few bob,ahem...minding peoples cars around the side streets and alleyways of the north inner city.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/08/2015 17:39:07    1776134

How come Dublin hawkers come to provincial and county grounds? Is it that lucrative a market?

whitefire (Limerick) - Posts: 177 - 25/08/2015 17:55:37    1776145

They offer a badly needed service Cuedrocket! Probably my imagination but are there a lot less flags at matches now than years ago. Moreso for 'safety' concerns than preventing people having a good view.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8115 - 25/08/2015 18:10:24    1776148

Any of them have a Hawker's Licence?
Didn't think so.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 25/08/2015 20:27:03    1776240

They should be exempt from needing a licence, ppart of the culture of matchday and they just add to the craic.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8115 - 25/08/2015 21:08:14    1776260