Kerry Dublin 2011 Final - Unfair Analysis

Just to make one quick point before the championship really lights up this year.
There is this common misconception out there that "Kerry lost, Dublin didnt win, or Dublin won by default last year cos Kerry handed it to them"

Can I just say this
At half time, Dublin were ahead
At full time, Dublin were ahead
For 55 minutes all in all of a 70 minute game Dublin were ahead

With 5 to go, Dublin put the foot down when it was needed and took back the lead they had had for most of the game and won it in the championship minutes.

So for people to say Kerry handed Dublin sam and it was a game Kerry should have won....have another read of the above....and cop on :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 23/05/2012 11:10:51    1178634

Spot on analysis Liam. Dublin deserving winners of what was a very entertaining All Ireland championship.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 23/05/2012 11:30:09    1178660

and i will tell you something else, had the exact same thing happened in reverse......
they would be saying we bottled it and Kerrys cuteness and know how won it for them :)

but when Dublin win it and kerry lose it.........we were gifted it and kerry left it after them !!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 23/05/2012 11:35:29    1178665

And why is it you thought that you had to point this out Liam, just for the record, WHO CARES? This is 2012, theres a new championship just gotten under way, thats what matters now, 2011 winners, thats water under the bridge but thanks for the timely reminder all the same.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/05/2012 11:42:38    1178674

Yep Kerry sure did hand it to them!!! ;)

ah no sure Dublin deserved it, but in fairness Liam, why do you need to bring this up again, you shouldn't give a damn about the perceptions of the media, etc.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 23/05/2012 11:52:06    1178684

Brend, cos the amt of people in here still going on about Kerry handing it to us and us winning it by default is pathetic, thats why.
Inaccurate and pathetic.
Shows up their own lack of knowlege all the same i spose :)

Brend, to be fair, you are not one of these eejits. You always gave due credit and fair play for that.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 23/05/2012 11:54:03    1178686

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

ah no sure Dublin deserved it, but in fairness Liam, why do you need to bring this up again, you shouldn't give a damn about the perceptions of the media, etc.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/05/2012 11:54:39    1178687

brendtheredhand

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Amen to that!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 23/05/2012 11:57:20    1178688

When people say handed it to them, i generally comes when a team plays a few sloppy passes straight to the opposition. Kerry done that at the worst time possible for them which turned out to let Dublin back into it.

Dublin won it fairly and fair play but Kerry handed it to them (in the above context) at the end.

Now, back to 2012!

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 23/05/2012 12:06:15    1178699

Who cares?

We won!

A few people have latched onto this thing that Kerry were in control for the whole match even though they weren't. I'm sure they have their reasons for it!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 23/05/2012 12:11:34    1178704

Kerry had the game won in my opinion. A combination of Kerrys sloppiness, Dubs moving it up a notch and a bit of dodgy refereeing contributed to a Dublin victory. But why are you bothered? Its wont be written in the history books. Move on like a good chap.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 23/05/2012 12:18:24    1178711

Well i didnt see it that way Liam.
Dublin deserved the title, and were worthy 2011 champions.
If anything, i felt Dublin showed Kerry too much respect, and otherwise Dublin could have won by a larger margin.
Dublin looked as if they could have still moved up a gear in that game, or at least i felt they were capable of moving up a gear.
I didnt think Kerry could physically up the tempo any further, they had reached their limits.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 23/05/2012 12:23:35    1178716

Liam...

We're a lucky, mediocre team. That got it handed to us by pure luck and favourable ref decisions…

That's all there is to it. That's why we won…

The lads have heard as much all year. Loud and clear…

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/05/2012 12:23:41    1178717

Jeez lads, do you's still need your egos massaged or what, ye won, thats all that matters at the end of the day, ye won. Now move along, theres nothing to see here.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/05/2012 12:28:15    1178722

Seriously, you dubs are to paranoid. You won it fair and square and deserved it.

When you "bottled it" in other years Cork or Kerry didn't take offense from people saying it, so you shouldn't either. Dublin were the best team in Ireland in 2011. Kerry looked like they had it won but weren't good enough to close it out. Just as I think Dublin should have beat Cork in 2010, I think Kerry should have beat Dublin in 2011. But I'll say it again, the name on the trophy is what counts.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 23/05/2012 12:31:16    1178723

I'd only love someone to hand us an All Ireland its been so long

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 753 - 23/05/2012 12:49:22    1178735

Well, they won it and thats it.

People will talk about finals for years to come, sure if the truth be known, some of us in mayo still talk of 96 of the one that got away, thats part of the craic of been a supporter, surely.

For my tuppence, i thought Kerry did throw it away, very unkerry like to try and sit on a lead like they did and why they wern't more cynical towards the end , baffled me tbh. One disruption ie a bit of a scrap towards the end and the sam was heading for tralee. Ref was poor too, Dublin got away with a lot that day.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 23/05/2012 12:52:31    1178738

Bloody hell, you're about 12 months out of date with this, let it go!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 23/05/2012 12:59:39    1178743

Who gives a rats , At the end of the day Dublin won the All Ireland last year. Its insignificant wether they won it by 10 points playing exquisit ball , or by a point playing poor ball. In my opinion Dublin got the run of the green last year with a few decisions in a few games. Tyrone game apart i didnt think we played fantastically well in any game. Maybe the Kildare game (We absolutely murdered them but the 1-1 Kildare scored in the last few mins , Along with "that" free kick incident took the gloss of the Dublin performance , Where the 5 point lead Dublin had should have been more before we almost threw it away thanks to complacency) , It was Dublin who just wanted it more than anyone else it seemed last year , their hunger, Desire and determination, Combined with a bit of luck won them the All Ireland, That bodes well for when we actually do fully click. This is only the beginning, This Dublin team if managed correctly and if they stay focused , Could win a few more all irelands in the next few years

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 23/05/2012 13:28:49    1178774

Dublin won Sam fair & square in 2011, they were worthy winners. But lads in all fairness, the 2012 championship has already begun & its time to move on.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 23/05/2012 13:29:53    1178776