GAA Clichés

cyril farrell came out with this gem around the time the team of the millenium was announced and DJ didnt get on it and the players that made the team of the millenium got their faces on the back of postage stamps. DJ gave a class performance in a came (cant remember what game it was off hand) but Farrell goes:

"DJ, he is a class act and imagine the man couldnt even get on the back of a postage stamp"

Also Willie Hegarty has produced many brilliant one liners down through the years in his commentary for Shannonside Radio.

howshecuttin (Longford) - Posts: 376 - 13/08/2008 11:48:39    73219

Cyril

"now we`re hurlin Ger"

"they dont call him fast eddie for nuttin ger"

Nineholebar (Offaly) - Posts: 39 - 13/08/2008 14:31:56    73480

essexile

73099 Cyril: 'Its like feeding bananas to a monkey, Ger' when a full forward is winning lots of high ball - think this might have originated with Cloonan, anyone remember?

Doh!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Throwing nuts to a monkey!That was about Setanta O hAilpin wasnt it?!

athlaccalegend6 (Limerick) - Posts: 120 - 13/08/2008 23:46:54    74132

The classic Willie Hegarty (Shannonside) one is on a night Longford Town were playing an FAI Cup S/F in their own ground (Flamingo Park or something like that). With the score at 0-0, 88 mins gone, they get a penalty which they score and the bould Willie announces HE'S GOT IT!! 1-0 NOW AND THE CROWD ARE GOING BALLISTIC HERE IN THE HYDE. The Hyde is the locally recognised name for Dr.Hyde Park in Roscommon.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 742 - 14/08/2008 00:06:28    74148

not rte but wexford radio station.

liam spratt- thats a fine point.no thats gone wide.

steviewonder (Wexford) - Posts: 147 - 14/08/2008 00:51:57    74164

A square is a parrallelogram too.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 14/08/2008 02:09:56    74174

Martin Carney:

"They just cant get it into that much vaunted full-forward line"

or

"That much vaunted full forward line just isnt operating"

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 14/08/2008 10:25:48    74327

' if i played in that position i wouldnt do that, but i dont play in that position, in fact, i never played in that position, i played centre field , usually, except for the time i was move to left half but thats going off the point i suppose'

voiceofreason (Mayo) - Posts: 588 - 14/08/2008 11:16:48    74396

"now we have a game"

"the heads are dropping"

"nobody likes to see that"

"just when we thought they were dead an buried"

hanky_panky (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 14/08/2008 11:28:25    74418

Darragh Maloney with his "round the corner".. Dont like him at all.

Banisteoir (Louth) - Posts: 60 - 14/08/2008 12:09:32    74505

"Its in the melting pot now Ger"-Cyrill again

eddieros (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 14/08/2008 14:03:42    74687

The guys who report on games in our local rag, the examiner, always refer to each half of a match as a 'moiety' as in 'at the end of the opening moiety.....', or the X dominated the 2nd moiety.

Never seen the word used any where else.

Also on Midlands103, Ned, or Jack or whoever they are 'its a goal, its a goal, or is it he's reaching for the flag its wide, its wide, a great point'.

freddy15 (Westmeath) - Posts: 139 - 14/08/2008 15:33:12    74888

Freddy15 - are ya sure he's not just bad at pronouncing Moate??

Seriously a moiety is an old term for 'half' alright but I never heard it used in that fashion! Yer man must be about 300 yrs old!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 14/08/2008 15:51:47    74922

good man jayo!! 300 y.o. Theres a few dinoaurs in the GAA alright.

freddy15 (Westmeath) - Posts: 139 - 14/08/2008 16:07:30    74942

1983 , 1995, 2008 .... it was a long wait....

I can hear it now.......

DUBEXILE (Dublin) - Posts: 57 - 14/08/2008 16:14:41    74952

Moeity means monetary payment. As in ''The bill for the second moeity will be sent soon''

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/08/2008 16:28:16    74974

Ye cant ever know how happy I am for starting this thread. It has turned into a barage of Cyril Farrell quotes all in ending in the word ''...Ger'' and Ive heard him say every single one a million times. Fair play lads.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/08/2008 16:48:56    75030

Dubfan Abroad

74174 A square is a parrallelogram too.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Agreed! But a parrallelogram isn't necessarily a square (which was the initial point)!!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 14/08/2008 17:28:35    75078

A team could be winning a game handy with whatever system that works for them but when a long, high ball is kicked aimlessly into the full forward line there is always someone in the crowd who shouts
"thats the ball, let them fight for it."

Plink (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 14/08/2008 21:04:41    75194

M. Ó Sé ar RnaG or on RTE Minor

'an cluiche idir dhá cheann na meá'

'ar imeall na cearnóige bige'

'droch iarracht ar chlé'

'ó go sabhála Dia sinn'

'ag dul idtreo na caide'

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 14/08/2008 23:03:30    75247