Offaly Minor Breaks Hurley of Westmeath opponent?

I'm a long time going to hurling matches and have seen some battles, late and early pulling and good old fashion bulling of forwards by the full back. But never have I seen such a dirty and unsporting incident as in yesterdays minor hurling match between Westmeath and Offaly. During the second half a Westmeath player lost his hurley in a tackle and continued after the ball. By the time the ball was cleared and he returned to collect his hurley an Offaly player had picked it up and broke it in half. This is surely considered "Bringing the game in to disrepute". A hurlers hurley is more than a piece of wood, it's like a best friend. Will the GAA ask this player to explain his actions and ban him or will these young players in Offaly be left to think this behaviour is okay.

westmid (Westmeath) - Posts: 2 - 22/05/2011 15:30:46    936871

Get over it! Ye won the game. There are dirty incidents happening all the time in hurling and football, and don't deserve a thread.

Goatsucker (Offaly) - Posts: 265 - 22/05/2011 16:00:45    936899

Seems like a pretty poor act alright.
I once seen a forward picking up the opposition keepers tee running to the sideline and firing it into the next field!!
Keeper went crazy because he paid €30 for it!!

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 22/05/2011 16:13:01    936912

Fair play to Westmeath for beating Offaly! Is it a case of Westmeath making great strides at underage level, or is it a case of Offaly hurling going to the dogs? Probably a bit of both, is my guess.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 22/05/2011 16:34:20    936921

Very childish act to break another man's Hurley. if that Offaly team have any class they'll pitch in to buy him a new hurley or at least the lad that broke it. Very childish.

WoodlawnPat (Galway) - Posts: 288 - 22/05/2011 17:40:15    936985

Uncivilized !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 22/05/2011 18:25:19    937014

thuggery... if it's true.

jfd (Westmeath) - Posts: 256 - 22/05/2011 18:37:19    937028

alot of work has been put into underage hurling in westmeath especially up around the mullingar direction and the games popularity is growing in the county ... as for the Offaly lad breaking the Westmeath fellas hurley , thats just bad sportsmanship , deserves 2months+ for that

healy96 (Westmeath) - Posts: 177 - 22/05/2011 19:09:06    937058

I thought you were going to say he broke the hurl across him off the ball!! Get over it, its a bit unsporting alright but I have to say I have seen a lot worse than that by the sounds of it. I have seen hurls broke across players limbs so it's hardly worse than that!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 22/05/2011 19:15:14    937068

Childish and pety behaviour...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 22/05/2011 19:24:02    937086

Fairly pointless. Did the Offaly lad not know that there would be no shortage of spares om the sideline anyway? Fair play Westmeath anyway good to see ye making strides.

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 23/05/2011 09:46:19    937365

Well first it's criminal damage and I'd contact the gardai, to much of this rubbish is tolorated in sport and society.

freetaker1 (Limerick) - Posts: 758 - 23/05/2011 10:34:17    937417

Very childish act but he probaly thought it would swing the game. Offaly can be sore loosers in all codes.
Louth for the Nicky Rackard.

georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 23/05/2011 11:16:42    937486

exactly what one would expect from the biffo animals.
not content with destroying the irish economy they have to break a hurl as well!

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 23/05/2011 11:24:40    937500

freetaker1
County: Limerick
Well first it's criminal damage and I'd contact the gardai, to much of this rubbish is tolorated in sport and society.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stop will ya!? Call the cops on a guy for breaking a hurl? Are you for real? I'm totally against involving the Gardai in GAA matters. This fella should get a ban though, really childish thing to do.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 23/05/2011 11:45:58    937531

"exactly what one would expect from the biffo animals.
not content with destroying the irish economy they have to break a hurl as well!"

Wow HS editor, you didn't edit this...really?
I remember you Horse from previous bitter comments on this site..
Did I not tell you before you need a woman? You seem a bit frustrated...
Such beautiful places like Portlaoise...sure there's bound to be one for ya lol
Go to hell.. crying over a teenager breaking a hurl.

As for "GeorgeLee"...we never attacked a referee like you crowd last year.

offalyfaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 120 - 23/05/2011 12:06:02    937558

The Offaly county board will surely give the young lad the cost of a new hurl and sort their own lad out internally.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 23/05/2011 18:22:03    938151

everyone is over reacting .. he broke a hurl ? big deal .. he could have done alot worse .. it isnt like the westmeath lad is going to have to quit hurling because of a broken hurl as he probably has any amount of them .. shit happens ! get over yourselves

biff1 (Offaly) - Posts: 8 - 26/05/2011 13:04:04    940619

poor hurl....RIP...my thoughts and prayers go out it tree family....

Long_John (Down) - Posts: 299 - 26/05/2011 14:02:33    940683

There's a very prominent hurler's autobiography in which he states he did the exact same thing to an opponent so it's hardly unheard of, is it?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 26/05/2011 14:07:01    940692