Just wondering what does anyone think about hurls with bands? I think you're better off to leave them off until they break and you fix them. It might strengthen the hurl but if the nail is going straight through the grain and someone pulls the nail will drive into the wood and crack it? Your thoughts? dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 23/07/2010 08:47:18 720092 Link 0 |
It's known as a 'hoop' in Limerick but I have never played with a hurley without a band. I suppose growing up in 70's 80's recession hit Ireland, the idea was to always protect the hurley from breaking & the band was seen as a good way to do this. I used to find it strange watching Limerick play Wexford as normally 10 of the Wexford lads would have no band on the stick. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 23/07/2010 10:17:40 720137 Link 0 |
slayer: Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 23/07/2010 10:31:36 720151 Link 0 |
HAG_AND_CHEESE wrote slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 23/07/2010 10:43:48 720166 Link 0 |
33 years of age and this was the first year I played with a "Hurley" (not hurl) without a "hoop". endofstory69 (Cork) - Posts: 97 - 23/07/2010 10:55:29 720183 Link 0 |
slayer: Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 23/07/2010 11:03:54 720194 Link 0 |
I grew up in hoop country but started using hurleys without hoops when i turned 18 or so. I way prefer them and love the strike i get with them but the club sec actually asked me to start using hooped hurleys because i was breaking hurls left, right and centre (not a hatchet man!!) and it was costing a bomb to keep me in hurls. In my experience, you break a non hooped hurley way easier. hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 23/07/2010 11:08:05 720199 Link 0 |
Hoops or bands - I often hear both. I always palyed with one, so I couldn't comment on the hurleys without. Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 23/07/2010 15:19:54 720635 Link 0 |
use hooped ones, although I don't play much anymore....that said, they're not too nice to get a crack of! abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 23/07/2010 15:38:09 720659 Link 0 |
Culchie, slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 23/07/2010 15:45:55 720676 Link 0 |
Culchie: Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 23/07/2010 16:17:55 720717 Link 0 |
hurl rearly leaves my hand wheather im huntin cattle or trainin...i dunno which i prefer reali...all the same,,,tis only timber ! lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 23/07/2010 16:38:14 720755 Link 0 |
lowerormond: Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 23/07/2010 16:47:07 720773 Link 0 |
Nevre heard it being reffered to as the hoop before. I sometimes use hurl, hurley, and plain simple stick dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 24/07/2010 08:52:34 721083 Link 0 |
I prefer to leave it without de hoop until it breaks. And its a hoop aswell not a band. and its a hurley not a hurl. The non-traditional hurling countys tend to call it a hurl. I also prefer de aul hurley to de wavin pipe ranglerrothar (Limerick) - Posts: 72 - 24/07/2010 11:02:54 721132 Link 0 |
The non-traditional hurling countys tend to call it a hurl. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/07/2010 11:39:03 721159 Link 0 |
Ive never heard a Limerick person use hurl, its a hurley.. miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 24/07/2010 15:45:54 721372 Link 0 |
miketyson lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 24/07/2010 17:01:43 721425 Link 0 |
i am ya.. i fell if i look better i play better miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 24/07/2010 17:36:03 721455 Link 0 |
Jaysus lads ye are talking some load of tripe! Who cares what people call it everyone has a different opinion depending on where they are from, at the end of the day we all know what we are talking about and we we all know that the better team won at the end of the day. I've heard it call caman, but I can't add the fada here. I hope Tipp can be the better team today tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 25/07/2010 09:40:36 721830 Link 0 |