New York v Galway - A Weekend Away

A couple of us are travelling over to the Big Match in the Big Apple.
We've got accommodation in Manhattan but are looking for the best places to go for some pre-match analysis and post-match celebrations.
For those that have been over before, where would you recommend? Where do the players normally go after?
Have heard there's a bar in Gaelic Park so that's the only definite we have for hitting yet.
Thanks.

thebigapple (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 22/04/2010 13:50:09    625591

Was over for the Mayo match last year , its a great weekend away . we spent the whole day in Gaelic park , the players all hung around and it was a chance to chat in a relaxed environment.
I think it a bar called eamonns that the team and a lot of supporters went afterwards, But that wpould probaly be different for galway .as I dont think Most of the Galway lads wouls be let in there in case theyd wreck it

firbolg (Mayo) - Posts: 46 - 22/04/2010 14:27:18    625649

rosie o gradies in times square - a pub with mayo connections - im sure da galway lads will be more than welcome in there. ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11627 - 22/04/2010 14:53:04    625695

Is this Eamonn's place nearby? I heard that Gaelic Park is well outside downtown Manhattan so I doubt we'll be in and around Time square much.

thebigapple (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 22/04/2010 15:23:22    625743

Gaelic Park is in the Bronx well outside Manhatten. I was in NY for a summer & Yonkers was the place to be.Plenty of Irish pubs , restaraunts & of course plenty of Irish people!!Those days in McLean Avenue bring back fond memories!!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 22/04/2010 15:35:56    625762

If your going to be staying overnight in Manhattan then the best places to head to are off Broadway around the Times Square area and down around the Empire State building. Try find the smaller authentic Irish bars though, none of this "Blarney Stone" and "Molly Malone's" nonsense (an Irsh bar showing baseball instead of hurling like?).

Up around the Bronx nearer to Gaelic Park a safe bet is to head nearer to Woodlawn, seems to be on of the areas with a large Irish contingent, similar to parts of Queens too. Bars will be good and you can your Tayto there too. Should be a good atmosphere and crowd around for the weekend of the match.

If your going to be staying in Manhattan then the 1 train will pretty much drop you a block or two away from Gaelic Park while the 4 will bring you close enough to Woodlawn, they're only a short (ish) walk away from each other anyways, one side of Van Cortlandt park to the other.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 22/04/2010 15:39:18    625767

Bet that's a cracking trip. Tis on my list of GAA games to go and see.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 22/04/2010 16:04:49    625802

Woodlawn would be your best bet after the game if you don;t plan on heading too far away from Gaelic Park. Anywhere around McLean and Katona Avenue. I think Behans is a Galway bar. Rory Dolans is a good aul spot too.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9788 - 22/04/2010 16:38:52    625858

thers a big thing in new york

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 22/04/2010 16:50:10    625876

Go to clarkes, ned devines, rory dolans, behans and especially the rambling house after things have died down around gaelic park .That should be round 9 o clock. They'll be packed and you're sure to meet people you haven't seen in years. Its best that you stay up around that area as there wont be much happenin round manhattan on a sunday night to be honest. Will be a good nights craic im sure, Nua Eabhrach ABU.

Headhunter85 (Roscommon) - Posts: 33 - 22/04/2010 17:43:08    625959

Thanks for all the replies, I like the sound of this Woodlawn area. We'll try and stay out near Gaelic Park while there's a crowd there. I presume there'll be no hassle getting tickets for it?

thebigapple (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 22/04/2010 17:51:44    625971

thebigapple

Thanks for all the replies, I like the sound of this Woodlawn area. We'll try and stay out near Gaelic Park while there's a crowd there. I presume there'll be no hassle getting tickets for it?

Normally there's was never any hassle getting tickets while I was over there, sure you'd nearly be alright handing over a few dollars at the gate on your way in. There's usually fairly decent crowds out when a good team comes to town so you'd be surprised who you might bump into, like another poster said you'll more than likely see faces you haven't seen in years

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 22/04/2010 18:18:03    626009

Last time New York v Galway in NY was 05 I think I maybe wrong but it was wedged.About 8000 there. For the hurling it was far less v Antrim about 3 weeks later.

Dollars are welcome if no tickets you wont get refused thats for sure.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 22/04/2010 19:31:25    626076

was there last year for the new york v mayo match. we stayed in central manhatten, across from maddison square gardens, great spot! eamons bar and the irish house on 49th & 8th good pubs ( owned by a mayo man!) when your up in gaelic park get a cab over to the ramblin house on katona ave woodlawn, great bar and good irish music and food. we did'nt make it down to mclean ave, but i heard its just as good! Enjoy the trip and bring plenty dollors the beer is dear in manhatten.

mayo.mick (Mayo) - Posts: 585 - 22/04/2010 19:48:33    626090

I was in Rosie O Gradys oh my god! haah

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 22/04/2010 19:58:21    626109

For the hangover ya should nip over to the Spa Aura (Between Broadway & 5th Avenue) 49 West 33rd Street. It's right near the Empire State Building. You will leave feeling refreshed and your load lightened! ;-)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9788 - 23/04/2010 10:08:41    626462

To get from midtown up to the Bronx, you can take the Number 1 subway line. It stops very close to Gaelic Park. Fares are $2.50 per person. It is about a 40 minute ride. Here is a link. [url=]http://www.mta.info/nyct/service/oneline.htm Woodlawn is about a five minute drive from Gaelic Park. You could get a taxi to there. Traveling back from Woodlawn to Midtown you can catch the commuter train. The closest stop is Woodlawn. It will take you back to Midtown to Grand Central Station. I don't know the fare, but the trip is about 20 minutes. [url=]http://as0.mta.info/mnr/schedules/sched_form.cfm

mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 23/04/2010 11:39:26    626606

Was over in New York last year at the Mayo match. The Mayo team and management etc were in The Oldcastle Bar after the match. A great night was had by all.

maigheogodeo (Kildare) - Posts: 113 - 26/04/2010 20:41:03    630398

I

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 351 - 26/04/2010 21:39:41    630517

I'm travelling with the party and the word is that we meet in Jakes Saloon (where is that?)after the match.Including the team.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 351 - 26/04/2010 21:42:25    630526