Come on Offaly!

Great win today for our lads. Badly needed to win this one and will be a huge lift. We have some nice hurlers but the work rate has not always been there. However today 10 mins into the second half we were 3 points behind and we really knuckled down and played some high tempo hurling which got us a 6 point win. Well done to the lads today and watch out for Derek Morkham at wing back, a real classy hurler.

curious George (Offaly) - Posts: 861 - 14/03/2010 19:02:45    587804

well done to offaly today , deserved their victory

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/03/2010 19:16:49    587816

was at the game, but fair play to offaly always been a great dual county and glad to see ye back playin well, although the Dubs were very poor and a game i felt they could have won before the game, hopefully the dubs bounce back like after the waterford game and actually push on. But fair play to Offaly

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 14/03/2010 19:17:38    587817

Yes, a fantastic win, but we need to hold on to our division one status this year. Joe Dooley is doing great work with this team and lets hope for more wins like this.

Goatsucker (Offaly) - Posts: 265 - 14/03/2010 19:34:41    587831

Who do Offaly play in the second round of the championship?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 14/03/2010 20:15:09    587891

Excellent game for Offaly and well done to them.

This game shows how we are not as far along the road as some one wish. We have to get a bit of consistency as well as the ability to win on the raod. Limerick will probably be our saviours in terms of relagation.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 14/03/2010 20:29:18    587917

patrique

Who do Offaly play in the second round of the championship?

We have the winners of the Wexford - Galway match.

Although a big win for us today we shouldn't be getting carried away with it, Dublin started well but seemed to do what we have done ourselves many times in the past and faded in the second half as soon as a goal went in. It was the first time in a while we've finished a match strongly and hopefully we can build on it and secure Division 1 status and carry some good form into the Antrim match in the Championship. Galway next weekend for us and to be honest I think we'll give them a big game, without the Portumna lads I wouldn't have much fear of them. But then again this is Offaly I'm talking about here, how often in the past have my hopes been raised by a good determined performance only to be destroyed the next day out...

Dublin have some very good players, and I hope I'm right in saying they'll be safe from the drop too. Great banter in and around Tullamore with them today.

wild_biffalo (Offaly) - Posts: 91 - 14/03/2010 20:51:20    587956

We play Antrim in the first round, although I suspect as always your comments are tongue in cheek!
Winners play winners of Galway and Wexford, ye had a tough time of it against Laois today?

curious George (Offaly) - Posts: 861 - 14/03/2010 21:02:44    587972

Very dissappointed withe this result. Really brings us back down to earth. I just hope we can respond in the manner we did after the Waterford game.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 15/03/2010 14:53:12    588545

Yes well done to Offaly, great to see, like Wexford you are re-building at the moment but we are both going in the right direction.
Leinster is certainly shaping up to be a competitive province this year. OK Kilkenny are probably a bit ahead of the rest of us still but with Offaly and Wexford now back going in the right direction (which I think we both are) it could be a cracker of a Leinster Championship. Here's hoping anyway!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 15/03/2010 16:13:56    588663