Drugs

Do we have any recreational drug users in here?

I enjoy it from time to time... an auld smoke and a giggle watching Family Guy... it's seldom discussed in here.

Plenty of talk about getting boozed up and making a fool of ourselves though…. Nothing like a legal bit of self harm...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/02/2010 13:58:47    558550

Never had the urge Jimbo.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not two faced, I enjoy plenty of booze but never had the urge to try any other drug. I have worked with lads that took very light recreational drugs and even they have had problems, including paranoia, and shaking hands etc. These can be brought on by booze too but with the drink it seems to take a lot longer.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/02/2010 14:39:54    558617

Im messy enough on the drink without adding anything else to the mix!

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 11/02/2010 14:49:47    558628

After a long day at work I like nothing more than a hit from my crack pipe. It is very more-ish though which is the only downside

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 11/02/2010 14:51:41    558631

Honestly;
In a six month phase when I was 19-20 I took;
Speed on occasion
cocaine on occasion
Mushrooms 3 or 4 times
acid once
ecstacy every friday and saturday up to 10 a night
Hash/grass daily

This has done me absolutely no long term damage at all.
There are some very narrow minded people who think that you are a bad person if you have ever taken drugs.
So what? I'm not ashamed of it, don't regret it. I put it all down to experience.
Now the government is trying to close head shops selling herbal highs. This will force more drugs onto the street.
BZP was legal until last year and since it has gone illegal there has been nearly E2million worth of it seized by Guards and Customs.

I don't bother with any type of drugs now. It is years 6-7 years since I have taken E, coke or speed and wouldn't touch them again.
It is about 2 years since I had a smoke.
Don't see any harm in it, I just couldn't be bothered anymore.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 11/02/2010 14:55:56    558637

"Drugs are for mugs" as my pet unicorn used to always say.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12311 - 11/02/2010 14:59:12    558644

It doesn't make sense how the government's of the world (not just Ireland) criminalise certain substances which are no more harmful than legal drugs like alcohol and tobacco. It just plays into the hands of the criminals who make millions selling the substances while the government spends millions fighting a war they can't win, and lose out on huge tax revenues. I wouldn't be in favour of the legalisation of all substances, but there are a few I have sampled [legally of course in other countries such as the Netherlands ;-) ] which I feel should be legalised.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 11/02/2010 15:17:45    558661

Breffni39

558644 "Drugs are for mugs" as my pet unicorn used to always say.

Hahahahaha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/02/2010 15:24:42    558681

Non GAA - Drugs

yes please...

never really had the urge, once or twice on the wacky stuff but when your drunk already it doesnt make much difference. never while sober anyway. i think i have enough vice's

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 11/02/2010 15:35:21    558702

Dr.Shephard
County: Leitrim

558637 Honestly;
In a six month phase when I was 19-20 I took;
Speed on occasion
cocaine on occasion
Mushrooms 3 or 4 times
acid once
ecstacy every friday and saturday up to 10 a night
Hash/grass daily

This has done me absolutely no long term damage at all.
There are some very narrow minded people who think that you are a bad person if you have ever taken drugs.
So what? I'm not ashamed of it, don't regret it. I put it all down to experience.
Now the government is trying to close head shops selling herbal highs. This will force more drugs onto the street.
BZP was legal until last year and since it has gone illegal there has been nearly E2million worth of it seized by Guards and Customs.

I don't bother with any type of drugs now. It is years 6-7 years since I have taken E, coke or speed and wouldn't touch them again.
It is about 2 years since I had a smoke.
Don't see any harm in it, I just couldn't be bothered anymore.

Very honest of you Doc... fair play

I've tried just about everything apart from Crack and Heroin... although I've been at parties in Amsterdam where there's been lads/lasses on both... usually very respectable people with good jobs to boot. I still have the odd night on Coke/Pills.... I have to say that I enjoy them and I've never got into any trouble. I've been arrested in town for being drunk, tore my right ankle to shreds, and got into fights... lost many phones, wallets etc and all from the drink. I'm far more respectable when I'm off my head to be honest. I've been at warehouse raves that you wouldnt see one little bit of trouble... if it was booze going around there would be killings.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/02/2010 15:36:57    558705

Now this should be very very interesting.

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 11/02/2010 15:40:07    558710

So you were just waiting for someone else to admit to it first?

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 11/02/2010 15:40:14    558711

Doc/jimbo

I'm pretty much the same but I've never taken coke - too expensive for a Cavan man!

It is important to note though doc that if you or anyone had taken acid/mushrooms to the extent you did (and many still) take ecstacy, you most certainly would have encountered some problems in later life. You might have been able to understand Lost for example!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12311 - 11/02/2010 15:45:40    558718

Dr.Shephard

558711 jimbodub

So you were just waiting for someone else to admit to it first?

I said I took drugs... when you start a thread like this you need to test the water. I thought that I'd admit to a bit of smoke just hoping that Admin would publish it..

It worked in fairness... at the same time man.. I had the footballs to start a thread like this... it can be a wee bit PC / conservative on here

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/02/2010 15:53:35    558726

Dr.Shephard

You stepped up to the plate there Doc. Very honest. From about 18-22 I was flat to the mat. Was at it most weekends, but again I put it all down to experience, even though I had a few hairy experiences at that, on the yokes, I never got in to much trouble, got in to a lot more bother on the drink.

Haven't touched anything in a long time but looking back, defo wouldn't change it for the world. you grow out of it, the long term effects of drink are a lot worse IMO

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 11/02/2010 15:56:08    558732

I also think that if more drugs were legalised it would solve so many problems.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/02/2010 16:08:14    558751

ah smoke da funny stuff 4 r 5 tyms a week,, nutin lyk a nice 1 n a friday nyt wit a few dvds nd a big takeaway

da_dude (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 11/02/2010 16:25:05    558782

In the words of the legend Peter Tosh "legalize it, dont criticize it, legalize it and I will advertise it"

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 11/02/2010 16:25:08    558783

da_dude - you have to be taking the **** with that sentence or else you have proved the weed can **** up the mind lol

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 11/02/2010 16:58:26    558827

I actually stopped tobacco last May, and swear I smoked fot the last 5 years because I enjoyed "single skinners".

I then found a contraption called a "one hitter", looks likea feg but is metal, and you just put a wee bit of grass in at the end, and one draw does you.

excellent.

As an alcoholic (sic) can I attest to the fact that alcohol does a lot more harm than casual drugs.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/02/2010 17:27:33    558860