GPA and the GAA constitution

This discussion is pasted from the 'Musings of a moderator' thread as it is off topic and should be on its own thread.

556347 ta32

Arent the GAA part of the GPA brigade now....?
09/02/2010 15:38:14
ta32

556358 jimbobdub.

a wounded cat is the worst cat of the lot . lol.
we are not going away u know
09/02/2010 15:41:03
ta32

556366 well jimbobdub.
in paper u are.
but 4 the heart and soul and true gaels of this country u will never will be part of anything.
u do not even see the damage u are doing 2 the g.a.a
09/02/2010 15:44:14
Dr.Shephard
County: Leitrim

556370 Have any of ye read new Galway poster Mr.TonyWonders posts?
09/02/2010 15:52:29
ta32

556386 DR SHEPHERD.
mr tony wonder not far off the mark fair play 2 him
09/02/2010 15:54:26

556388 ta32

Just like bad breath... hang around all you want.

We have the confidence of the Club people of this country.. we were over-whelmingly backed and will be again come congress.

Thats all that matters... and as for "on paper you are"... well I'm afraid that it's a lot deeper than that... The GPA will be in the GAA constitution.

Tyrone CB matters not... I'd prefer your backing as GAA people... but if it doesnt come... fair enough.

Welcome to the new era of the GAA.
09/02/2010 16:08:23

dhorse
County: Laois

556415 Dr.Shephard

556370 Have any of ye read new Galway poster Mr.TonyWonders posts?

do you think its it?
09/02/2010 16:13:24

556430 ta32

556358 jimbobdub.

a wounded cat is the worst cat of the lot . lol.
we are not going away u know

Tell that to my local Chinese... that's more like an easy target to be honest.

As for the "Of one belief" group... well you see the problem is in the title... too narrow minded you see.

To have one belief is actually quite fundamentalist... and as the world has learnt... it's the fundamentalists that will end up doing the most harm.
09/02/2010 16:24:49
Dr.Shephard

556455 dhorse

do you think its it?

What or who do you mean by it?
09/02/2010 16:26:24
Jackeen

556460 Jaysus Dr I thought you said i didn't miss anything...all this conspiracy stuff has me head spinning :-)
09/02/2010 16:35:42
dhorse

556479 Dr.Shephard

556455 dhorse

do you think its it?

What or who do you mean by it?

The subject of a moderators musings?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 535 - 10/02/2010 11:52:03    557287

As per above

ta32

556480 jimbobdub.

the g.p.a are in the g.a.a..... constitution.

as i say just a piece of paper.
09/02/2010 16:43:57

556497 Now we have it Ladies and Gentleman...

The GAA constituition is just a piece of paper in the eyes of the Of one belief group... it has no deeper meaning.

What the hell do you people follow... if not the GAA constitiution....! A Laughable group indeed.

Fundamentalists of the highest order... it's a sport not a religion.
09/02/2010 16:49:56
Dr.Shephard

556511 dhorse

Yes I think it may be. Look at the link on the Fine gael leader page. Now we all know he had no love for the blueshirts.
Also MrTonyWonder does not appear to have any posts on the Galway page.
Usually a poster starts off commenting on their own counties page.

Other than that it's just a hunch
09/02/2010 16:50:53
ta32

556513 jimbobdub please honest 2 gog.

i am g.a.a man through and through ok .
your position within the g.a.a will not last.
becuase we do not want the likes of henry holding clubs and grassroots gaels 2 ransom.
the true colours of the g.p.a will reveal itself soon.
the g.p.a will never be a part of what is close 2 this organisation.
the g.a.a. constition was altered, just like articles 2 and 3 of your government, but it never held us true irishmen back.
09/02/2010 17:08:19

556544 ta32

It's incredible to think that you have the neck to claim that you are somehow more of a GAA man than I....
09/02/2010 17:13:37
ta32

556552 jimbobdub.
i never said that u personally are a less of a g.a.a man.
its just what your beleifs of the g.p.a are .
your beliefs jim , not you .
i really belief that the g.p.a will wreck every principle that the g.a.a has stood 4 for generations.
but u have your ipinion and u are entitled 2 it.
09/02/2010 17:15:35

556555 jimbodub

556544 ta32

It's incredible to think that you have the neck to claim that you are somehow more of a GAA man than I....

The True face of the one belief group lads and lasses.

They think they are better than the rest of us..... You honestly make my skin crawl pal.. you're an out and out embarrisment to the modern GAA. It's people like yourself that will turn people away from our sports. You just keep meeting in secret with absolutely no direction for the future.. I have nothing else to say to you...
09/02/2010 17:26:11
dhorse

556576 ta32

the g.a.a. constition was altered, just like articles 2 and 3 of your government, but it never held us true irishmen back.

its a dull aul evening, go on tell me what a true irishman is?
09/02/2010 18:50:50
ta32

556698 the g.p.abrigade have been rattled.
how do they respond?

the prosecution rests........
09/02/2010 18:57:58
Dellboypolecat

556709 Honest gaa men do not want pay for play and that is the way i see it and the GPA was only set up for money .
09/02/2010 19:16:59
paddyogall

556733 Dellboypolecat

556709 Honest gaa men do not want pay for play and that is the way i see it and the GPA was only set up for money .

Yes your right Dell, at least the GAA would never try to make money........................................................................................................
09/02/2010 19:33:32

Administrator (None) - Posts: 535 - 10/02/2010 11:53:51    557294

As per above

556757 Dell dont you get paid to be a referee?
09/02/2010 20:11:00

556830 ta32

We've never been more united...
09/02/2010 20:20:26
Dellboypolecat

556847 TheMaster

Dell dont you get paid to be a referee?

Like i said before 30 is hardly anything to be shouting about and we do not get paid for line and we just do as much on the line.
09/02/2010 20:28:39
Plastic Paddy

556858 TheMaster

Expenses, I believe.

But yes, you are right. It is still payment.
09/02/2010 20:31:09
ruanua

556862 09/02/2010 18:50:50
ta32

556698 the g.p.abrigade have been rattled.
how do they respond?

the prosecution rests........
09/02/2010 20:47:47
kingpuck71
County: Derry

556879 09/02/2010 19:33:32

Who you asking there Master? DBPC or Ta32? Or Both?
09/02/2010 20:48:28

556883 TheMaster

556757 Dell dont you get paid to be a referee?

Thats different...
09/02/2010 21:07:11
Dellboypolecat

556927 Plastic Paddy

Not even expenses because like i said when we do the line we do not get nothing and it evens it out so we make nothing but lose out sometimes.
09/02/2010 21:12:05
Dellboypolecat

556932 kingpuck71
County: Derry

Who you asking there Master? DBPC or Ta32? Or Both?

Childish remarks now coming from dublin man.

Dr.Shephard

556941 Will ye quit turning this thread into an arguement about the GPA and payments. There are lots of other threads for that
09/02/2010 21:40:29
ta32

556989 jimbobdub.
are ye allright now.lol
09/02/2010 22:00:21
ta32

557055 kingpuck derry.

did u not ask your master?
10/02/2010 09:28:59
thestigfella

557098 Do you not think for example on allireland final day everyone from managers to ref to catering staff and so on and the people that make it happen get no payment...the money the gaa earns is serious like thin about how much they make off croke park from concerts, soccer and rugby and then obviously matchdays from all over the country and the players dont get a cent off this even though they make it happen...the gpa is just trying to get wat players deserve...an dont reply sayin oh traditional values and pride should be enough bu pride don pay the bills in a recession and times have changed there much much more money in the game these days

Administrator (None) - Posts: 535 - 10/02/2010 11:54:26    557295

Do you not think for example on allireland final day everyone from managers to ref to catering staff and so on and the people that make it happen get no payment...the money the gaa earns is serious like thin about how much they make off croke park from concerts, soccer and rugby and then obviously matchdays from all over the country and the players dont get a cent off this even though they make it happen...the gpa is just trying to get wat players deserve...an dont reply sayin oh traditional values and pride should be enough bu pride don pay the bills in a recession and times have changed there much much more money in the game these days

The GAA doesnt make money, the money that comes in is redistributed back to clubs and counties around the country. Therefore it does benefit the players (of all ages and levels including the intercounty players). You dont seem to have grasped this concept.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 10/02/2010 13:23:26    557413

Didn't Lenin speak of the proletariat's (i.e GAA players) right to self determination? I think he might of had a point.

Mr_Tony_Wonder (Galway) - Posts: 13 - 10/02/2010 13:30:57    557422

Expenses are what the players are getting also, all be it in one lump sum. For instance, how much does it cost conor mortimor to travel from dublin to mayo and back every week for training, etc? The best part of 60 euro on pertol alone, not to mention his 8 hour round trip before he even togs out, practically another working day. And that is just one example, there are many others.

If it is really all for the love of the game then there should also be no fee to enter, other than what it takes to run the stadium. The Gaa should take no profits and should not employ any people. The reality is the gaa is professional in all but name. If there is money being made then it should be spread fairly over all involved

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/02/2010 14:05:24    557472

Mr_Tony_Wonder

557422 Didn't Lenin speak of the proletariat's (i.e GAA players) right to self determination?
No

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/02/2010 14:14:51    557483

Am I the only one who thinks the Moderater is losing the run of himself?

In fairness, there is a point here. Lot's of good discussions end in the same old thrash being thrown up.

We can still post thrash but just keep it to the relevent board.

26plus6equals1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 430 - 10/02/2010 14:24:30    557501

10/02/2010 14:14:51
dhorse

557483 Mr_Tony_Wonder

557422 Didn't Lenin speak of the proletariat's (i.e GAA players) right to self determination?
No

--------------------

HS Debate king of the year 2009/10 , Laois' very own Dhorse!!!!

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 10/02/2010 15:54:14    557616

joan_balantine
County: UK

No debate necessary Mz, Vladimir Ilyich Ulyanov never mentioned The GAA, not even in brackets.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/02/2010 17:25:05    557773

dhorse

557773 joan_balantine

No debate necessary Mz, Vladimir Ilyich Ulyanov never mentioned The GAA, not even in brackets.

Dhorse is truly a huge master debater!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/02/2010 17:29:30    557785

The county boards are already giving players expenses so why should they get more of goverment and the gaa come on now.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/02/2010 17:40:54    557807

Dellboypolecat

The county boards are already giving players expenses so why should they get more of goverment and the gaa come on now.

SLASHER?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/02/2010 17:53:40    557844

The GPA is now integrated into the GAA, Dessie Farrell in effect now works for you & me, the members of the GAA.

I think this discussion is now played out.

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 10/02/2010 17:55:05    557847

557785 dhorse

557773 joan_balantine

Dhorse is truly a huge master debater!

Huge indeed, but the good lady may remind you that siz isn't everything

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/02/2010 17:55:07    557848

the gaa spent over E40 million on intercounty teams last year. How can anybody say the players are not looked after. Its ridiculous

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 10/02/2010 17:59:31    557857

10/02/2010 17:25:05
dhorse

557773 joan_balantine

True - Trotsky was thinking of giving them a mention and look what happend to him

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 10/02/2010 18:11:46    557873

Yes they get a certain amount of basic cover from the county board, but the fact of the matter is inter-county football stops players from working as much as you or i.
The amount of time that playing inter county takes up is going to leave these fellas out of pocket as the workload is like a job in itself. Its not as if they are trying to earn a living out of the gaa, and its not as if the gaa cant afford to give it. I think the gaa are hiding behind this 'amateur sport' notion. Forget about the tradition of gaa bit for a second and look what is happening in the present; these fellas are earning a living off the backs of these lads, yet they wont give them anything. How can that be justified? And how can it be an amateur organisation when the top brass are taking a wage?

People argue that it would betray the history off the gaa, but that is a non-runner for me. I doubt very much that when the gaa was brought about all those years ago the main topics were 'How much can we charge for the tickets?' or 'Will the backdoor system increase revenue?' so for me, the origins of the gaa are long gone. The bottom line is the gaa is making a lot of money in this day and age, and with the requirements on the players ever-increasing, it is only right that they should get something out of the mound of money that wouldnt even exist without their presence.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/02/2010 20:07:10    558036

Sure they are back at work on a monday after a game at the weekend also there entitled to 4 weeks holidays in a year and school teachers months of holidays . I know there expenses are very good better than mine .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/02/2010 20:29:20    558058

if we're aren't careful it could end up like the rugby league/union split. would be a sad day. organisation was founded an amateur cumann so keep it that way

laoch (Antrim) - Posts: 140 - 11/02/2010 11:04:59    558281