Croke Park is the place to be this weekend.

So this weekend is the start of the 2010 NFL and just like last year all eyes are on Croke park. Last year we had a great game of gaelic, fire works and a light show. It was a huge start to our second biggest competition and all sporting eyes were on Croke park. This year all eyes will once again be on our headquarters but this time it is to watch rugby. If you watched the tv this week all you will see and hear is how the rugby preparation is going and every second add is about the weekend game yet the GAA have not only rented out our headquarters they have also refused to advertise any games for the weekend, they appear happy to accept that this is a rugby weekend, do they want us to do the same?

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 05/02/2010 13:34:24    552627

not a rugby fan , wont be watching the game ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 05/02/2010 14:50:41    552716

Its a disgrace; ok we know the league is not going to take over the championships but there is no effort at all being put into it. There should be a significant start regardless; it could be a double bill in Croke Park-having four of the Div 1 teams playing the opener.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 05/02/2010 14:53:09    552719

Good points LOUTH GAEL - marketing of the league is nil this year. We dont even know the admission fee to any of the games, but as alaways we get a nice surprise. Last weekend I went to the Westmeath match in Gorey and all the money was going to Haiti which was a good idea, but just silence this weekend.

maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 05/02/2010 14:57:40    552724

The GAA could learn a lot from the Rugby marketing machine. They manage to excite the whole country about Ireland's potential thumping of a second rate minnow! Do you think anybody would get as excited about Kilkenny or Kerry playing second rate opposition? I also suspect that most people would agree that Rugby cannot compare to hurling as a spectacle. Yet, for some reason (presumably marketing) rugby has many more fans and will soon (if not already) have more players. The GAA needs to start copying the IRFU where it can.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 05/02/2010 17:47:28    552928

They gaa should use the same as rugby refs when a decision is made only the captain can approach the ref . But i like the rugby and it is a very good sport but worried about alot of eye gouging lately seen a story on sky sports about a club player blind in one eye after a game .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 05/02/2010 17:57:28    552944

people watch rugby in the spring and gaa in the summer

the league in gaa doesnt mean anything, it is merely a warm up for the championship...even the teams involved dont treat it seriously, (just look at the team selections) so why would the public care

the league should be scrapped and the focus put on club games at this time of year

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 05/02/2010 17:57:38    552945

I love being at Croke park what ever time of year, really enjoyed the 125th anniversary celebrations last year and wish Ireland a successful six nations campaign.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 05/02/2010 18:15:47    552966

I'd rather stick pins in my eyes than watch that egg chasing game.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 05/02/2010 18:25:21    552977

05/02/2010 17:47:28
Culchie

The GAA could learn a lot from the Rugby marketing machine. They manage to excite the whole country about Ireland's potential thumping of a second rate minnow! Do you think anybody would get as excited about Kilkenny or Kerry playing second rate opposition? I also suspect that most people would agree that Rugby cannot compare to hurling as a spectacle. Yet, for some reason (presumably marketing) rugby has many more fans and will soon (if not already) have more players. The GAA needs to start copying the IRFU where it can.

I would suggest the answer to that question is that Ireland is a team that represents all 32 counties, whereas Kilkenny and Kerry teams only represent the people of one county (each). This is why "the whole country" gets excited about the 6 Nations, and Cork people don't get excited by Kilkenny hammering second rate opposition (except when it's Cork of course).

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 05/02/2010 18:38:07    552989

At least the rugby team is made up of Irish players, managed by an Irish coach and playing their home games in Ireland. Not like that other shower of thankless tennants we have accommodated for the last few years, an "Irish" team that the contains almost as many foreigners as Irishmen, managed by a foreigner, who play their "home" games in London.

yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 05/02/2010 18:48:29    553008

Tom1916
County: Armagh

552977 I'd rather stick pins in my eyes than watch that egg chasing game.

------------------------------------------

You need to broaden your horizons my friend. There is more to life than the dodgy fuel & sheep smuggling activities of South Armagh!

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 05/02/2010 19:06:02    553029

blu
County: Down

553029 Tom1916
County: Armagh

552977 I'd rather stick pins in my eyes than watch that egg chasing game.

------------------------------------------

You need to broaden your horizons my friend. There is more to life than the dodgy fuel & sheep smuggling activities of South Armagh!

OUCH

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 05/02/2010 21:46:29    553218

Omaghredhand, you got my back on this?

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 05/02/2010 21:51:55    553225

Yes but look at Club rugby in Ireland. Did you see the attendance at the AIB Cup Final?? At Junior Hurling County Final in Donegal would nearly have more spectators.

You've got to see the wood from the trees. And its at the grass roots where the battle is won and I believe there is still no sport in Ireland to come near the GAA despite all the doom and gloom.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 06/02/2010 09:30:10    553252

Yellabely thats the same rugby team that wont sing the national anthem or fly the Irish flag outside of Ireland and if they play a senior international in Ravenhill will sing the british national anthem,ye thats real bloody Irish.

tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 06/02/2010 12:22:42    553320

There is more to life than the dodgy fuel & sheep smuggling activities of South Armagh!

Shows the bigotted attitudes of rugby supporters.

As an aside there may be more to life but those activities provide the means of experiencing more of lifes pleasures. I suspect you are a driver and if so the people of this area welcome you and/or your families contribution.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 06/02/2010 12:25:29    553323

I don't watch the rugby myself in fact i can't bring myself to watch it because it is just a scrappy game with little or no skill, it is like watching a bad game of Gaelic and as for the comment that they are all Irish players if that was the case why will some of them not stand for the anthem or the tricolour when playing away games.I actually think rugby is more of a fashion than a sport. Anyway the aim of this thread is not to slate rugby but to highlight the fact that the GAA are happy to be the hosts for this rugby game while completely ignoring our own games. This weekends games should have been advertised on TV and the radio for the last two weeks with one big game being scheduled for Saturday night in Croke Park to kick it all off.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 06/02/2010 12:46:27    553339

I agree with Badmonkey except for the scrapping of the League! You can't be at that man!

This time of year our egg chasing friends from the other side of the river take centre stage but come the summer there's only one show in town. Of course at the moment there'll be more attention on the rugby because of their deserved success last year.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 06/02/2010 12:56:12    553348

rugby should be scrapped in croke park what so call ireland team wont sing there own national anthem insted of that rubbish they sing

delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 06/02/2010 13:52:21    553382