Musings of a moderator

We often get feedback on how the forums are operated, with queries why comment is edited, blocked or allowed through. With a half dozen moderators, the way the board is handled at any given time depends on their personal style - just as referees handle games differently, even though they operate from the same rule book. Some of us tend to let certain fouls go if we think it helps the flow of the game while others behind the scene tend to be sticklers for the rules.
Some forums let you post whatever you want, about who you want and in whatever terms. Hoganstand.com is not one of those types of forums and at this stage most of you understand this. We are a media outlet which is responsible for the content of the site and we take that responsibility seriously.
What brought this on is that every now and again somebody gets upset at a message being edited or removed and throws a little wobbler. That's completely fine, we understand that people can take things personally and reading an email from somebody is part of our job.
We received one this morning from a regular user, who was barred at the weekend, and thought it needed to be shared with our posters. While in no way intending to take his views lightly, we were forced into a smile when reading the mail and thought it would be beneficial for our readers to see the type of feedback we get at times.
Don't worry, we are strong of character and have just about pulled ourselves together after the dressing down we received - I think we might just get over it!
The point is, we are trying to provide a service and at times you might get frustrated about how we moderate. But at all times we are working under the guide of what is best for the site, trying to improve it and keep our users out of harms way.

Ladies,
The fact that your based in meath probably explains why you are incapable of writing e-mails back or indeed writing anything whatsoever. Not to worry about blocking the most valuable and intelligent contributor HS has ever had as I will be using my 2 other sign ons to express my opinions as well as setting up several more over the coming weeks. So you will have the opportunity to hear even more from me from even more different points of views. So enjoy trying to decipher (that means make out) which poster I am. You can also view the GAA section of www.politics.ie (much more widely read than you ranting rag for
neanderthals) where I will be sure to give you ladies a mention.
It doesn't surprise me that you through that bitch hissy fit (which ever the 6 of you it was) as you have proven yourselves to be incapable of understanding even the slightest amount of subtlety. If its not wrapped up and packaged with a big red neon sign on it you and 99% of the posters on HS just simply wouldn't have the brain power to get it. BTW I think everybody has worked out that there are only about half the number of posters there as you would like to give the impression of. We also know that you girls account for at least 30% of the sign on names! The more knuckle scrapping the post the more likely it is from you ladies.
Oh BTW will you be running your illegal and corrupt prediction competition this champiosnhip year??!!
Does it boost the by now useless banner advertising?? You need to get in to the 21st century girls.
So good bye for now and best of luck reading and attempting to block the barrage of posts you will receive from now on from my other sign ons from many different points of view. You'll need to hire another neanderthal just to look after me!! Ta ta girls!!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bOdpX6dcrU4

Administrator (None) - Posts: 535 - 04/02/2010 11:33:02    551264

He'd wanna get out more id say!!

09KY36 (Kerry) - Posts: 329 - 04/02/2010 11:41:20    551280

That clown is no loss.
Good riddance!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 04/02/2010 11:44:23    551293

What a terrible loss he is going to be

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 04/02/2010 11:45:39    551297

you should have blocked his email

laoch (Antrim) - Posts: 140 - 04/02/2010 11:45:50    551299

Qual - it - eeeeeeee!!!

nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 04/02/2010 11:46:04    551300

No offense HS, but that is a wee bit petty, it's only a forum not life or death.

KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 04/02/2010 11:48:09    551303

Jesus thats tragic.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 04/02/2010 11:49:18    551308

Sorry Petty on his side not yourselves, its hilarious though!

KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 04/02/2010 11:50:10    551311

haha God help you's up there haha.

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 04/02/2010 11:50:34    551312

I hope you reading this fuming
GOODBYE

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 04/02/2010 11:56:43    551321

What an angry little man!
One thing struck me tho, why does he have many different views on the same thing? Does he/she like talking to themselves alot.

Does this person have a number of log ons & then has a conversation with himself over the other log ins? Priceless.

I know of one guy on the Meath page whos up to at least 5 log ons by now, he makes a stupid point, logs out, then back in as another name to back himself up, while using the other names to attack anyone who disagrees with his other 2 log on names. Quite funny at time because its so obvious, but unfortunatly its destroyed many a good thread on the genuine posters latley.

Altho he hasnt appeared since being outted on tuesday night, so hopefully he might stay away & let the board function properly again.

P.S, any chance of seeing the Moderators rule book, hard to know whats gonna be let through & whats not!

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 04/02/2010 11:58:07    551325

KKid
County: Kilkenny

551311 Sorry Petty on his side not yourselves, its hilarious though!

Why would HS be offended then??

09KY36 (Kerry) - Posts: 329 - 04/02/2010 12:00:35    551328

Mods

Best thing ye can do is bring it back to the way it used to be. Have your own say on things. Reply in little blue italics like ye used to back in the day. Most other sites the Mods get involved, and ye should here too.
Made things very interesting.
Bring back the Mods !!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 04/02/2010 12:01:34    551332

That person clearly has too much time on his / her hands and a very high opinion of his / herself.
Amazing how much bile someone is willing to put on a forum when they wouldn't have the courage to say the same things face to face.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 04/02/2010 12:04:56    551339

Jesus sounds as though he's had a moment like Michael Douglas in Falling Down!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10366 - 04/02/2010 12:11:31    551350

Quick roll call then to find out who the mysterious poster was.

It wasnt me.

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 04/02/2010 12:13:28    551354

"Not to worry about blocking the most valuable and intelligent contributor HS has ever had "

I dunno, I cant say I ever noticed my posts being blocked...? Slightly edited at times maybe, but never blocked as you say. Maybe I missed it?!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 04/02/2010 12:15:54    551356

What did he do?

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 04/02/2010 12:19:16    551365

I used to have a lot of time for this guy's posts, he was one of the rare non-Ulster people who would comment on Ulster football in an honest fashion, but like a lot of people on here he started believing his own hype.

While I never really getting involved with many discussions with him, I tired of him responding to absolutely valid points by dismissing posters obvious intelligence and knowledge on the matter at hand.

He just didn't get it?

That mail is just unbelievably embarrassing though. He has such high notions of himself, but having different logins is one of the most pathetic things I've ever seen, and to be perversely proud of it????

I also find mailing Lynn Publications with greivances is pretty sad too. I've never even came close to considering it!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 04/02/2010 12:22:03    551370