Omagh vs Arboe senior championship

01/09/2009 17:12:40
CheFinny
County: UK

411967 Ardbo will make sure the senior championship stays in the east.

Well they wont get any help from any of their neighbours up that end of the county-there would need to be some improvement from the capitulation in last year's championship

Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 01/09/2009 17:39:43    412018

ardboe are a much improved team from last season.mickey donnelly has done an excellent job so far.whether they are good enough to win the oneill cup remains to be seen but they are going in the right direction.

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 02/09/2009 10:54:40    412789

what a game in pomeroy tonight,a real tough championship match between 2 commited teams.shay mcguigan was the best player on the park,scoring 1-3 from play.this game had everything.3 brilliant goals,some great points and alot of off the ball stuff.i think we just about deserved in in the end though im sure the omagh boys on here might disagree.relieved to get the win against a very good omagh team.

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 12/09/2009 20:34:49    424138

good win for ardboe against omagh, lookin good for the o neill cup to stay in the east .

redhoop (Tyrone) - Posts: 75 - 12/09/2009 20:48:26    424145

Congratulations to Ardboe who done what it took to win the game, sometimes within the rules and sometimes outside the rules but as far as both teams are concerned the result was all that mattered. Omagh really lost the platform at midfield when No. 9 went to full forward and the Omagh Management have a lot to answer for as to why they left the only ball winner floundering in full fwd. If he was tired they should have brought on replacements, and when the game was turning niggly Omagh really bottled it as they have done many times before. The players essentially lost the game but their prospects were not helped by some poor management decisions.

Wilfred (Tyrone) - Posts: 37 - 12/09/2009 21:32:10    424170

gutted about the match today, we shuda won, some poor performances as well as managerial ones, the ref should have been far more disciplined only a few yellow cards flashed when there could have been sendings of,but fair play to arboe their experince shown through in the end, but we will be back stronger havent learned from this experinence

tyronegael9 (Tyrone) - Posts: 244 - 12/09/2009 22:22:29    424217

Not sure about blaming the management - I thought we were dominant but Ardboe continually checked Justie's runs. Also for both goals once we scored we were very quiet for next few scores - game should have been killed off but we let them back in.

redhandroar (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 13/09/2009 01:48:51    424324

fair play to ardboe and hope u go on and win it and keep the cup in the east ,clonoe showed great spirit last year and im sure ardboe can match them in that department so once again hope u keep her in the east...dessie fianna abu

dessie (Tyrone) - Posts: 211 - 13/09/2009 10:40:59    424376

ardboe won with there three key players being fairly quiet- brian and tommy and kyle coney. very hard hittin match lucky to not have a few sent off

passerby (Tyrone) - Posts: 724 - 13/09/2009 13:44:27    424452

Good man CheFinny. I like ur confidence in us guys. Great game last night. Omagh are bound to be disappointed. Threw away a 5/6 point lead on two occasions. Only scored 1-2 i think in second half compared to 1-6 from ardbo. Eirgeal/Dromore game should be good this eve.

ArdboGael (Tyrone) - Posts: 72 - 13/09/2009 14:26:02    424466

Gavin Teague was found out last night too....

l-iver (None) - Posts: 14 - 13/09/2009 14:32:07    424470

well,at least gavin has another cship game to redeem himself

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 13/09/2009 15:14:44    424501

It was a bit like last years match with Dromore, when Teague comes up against a physical player he seems to experience problems and fade out of a game. Remains to be seen if he can redeem himself against these type of players!!!

l-iver (None) - Posts: 14 - 13/09/2009 15:45:42    424511

2 committed teams - thats right, Omagh were committed to playing football, Ardboe committed to stopping them at all costs and most definitely not within the rules! Another absolute example of the complete inconsistency in Club refereeing. Omagh were five points up and cruising so Ardboe reverted to type and stopped them building at all costs. Most of the crowd didn't even see Ardboe's goal as they were still watching John McPeake lying outstretched in the middle of the park having been blatantly and unapologetically shoulder charged by an Ardboe player square in the face in front of the referee. A definite free at the very least and should've been a red card, but just a taster of things to follow. Of course history will say the townies rolled over, but it really wasn't any sort of advertisement for the Gaa to young players when such cynicism and downright thuggery goes unpunished by referee's which simply encourages it. Tipperary and Kilkenny was hard hitting and fair and played in the true spirit of the game, this game couldn't even compare to something like that. Omagh were on top in every sector of the pitch, and as for teague meeting a physical battle - he was marking the smallest man on the pitch - and still came up short. I hope Omagh get the chance to avenge this cynicism in a league final with officials fit to deal with it.

BlackWhite (Tyrone) - Posts: 11 - 14/09/2009 00:58:12    424866

Black and white i think your over doing it that man who gave the shoulder before the goal 2mins before it was lying on his back after being threw over a omagh mans shoulder. And if ardboe were reverting to illegal tacticks how did they come back from 6 points at 1 stage if they were juss busy fighting with omagh. and by the way i was in line with the shoulder insident he caught the ball stood his ground and tensed up as the omagh man came to shoulder him but hit a "brick wall" of a man and a goal came of it. shoulders are legal in the game

tyrone_lad09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 33 - 14/09/2009 17:28:41    425573

dont worry black and white we'll see you boys in the next round of the championship, oh wait:O

passerby (Tyrone) - Posts: 724 - 14/09/2009 17:38:23    425592

by the way i thought gavin teague played well, ardboes best defender anyway

passerby (Tyrone) - Posts: 724 - 14/09/2009 17:39:13    425594

blackwhite you can complain about ardboes physical approach all you like.omagh were no shrinking violets either.both sides were guilty of some unsavoury things but the fact is that omagh failed to score from the 13th minute of the 2nd half and that will not win you many championship games.

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 14/09/2009 17:40:08    425596

I too was directly in front of the shoulder charge, he caught the ball and took two steps in the opposite direction to meet the Omagh player square full frontal before setting off again in the opposite direction and setting up the goal - which took them within 2points of Omagh.The Omagh player had to go off the field to get his face readjusted before re-emerging 10minutes later. The Ardboe player in question is 6'5" tall so as for being thrown over some mans shoulders I'm not so sure.

BlackWhite (Tyrone) - Posts: 11 - 14/09/2009 17:43:07    425603

Give Gavin Teague a break, the lads only a year out of minor and is playing in a central position for a grade 1 side, so forgive him if he cannot match the physicallity of some of his opponents. Im sure he will mature into a fine player for both club and county

redkid (Tyrone) - Posts: 79 - 14/09/2009 17:59:12    425628