Ulster
Donegal v Armagh

Munster
Kerry v Cork

Connaught
Galway v Mayo

Legend92 (Donegal) - Posts: 752 - 13/05/2008 17:07:49    18603

meath dublin (anyone else thinking of any other pairing in leinster are codding themselves, these two by far and away the best)

monaghan tyrone (have been really impressed with monaghan and my opinion on them has changed an awful lot, expecting them to be ulster's main protaganists in 2008)

kerry cork (a boring prediction, hard to see anyone springing anything near a surprise in munster)

galway mayo (same as above, with an outside chance that leitrim may cause an upset)

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 13/05/2008 17:14:02    18609

Leinster
Westmeath v Meath

Ulster
Derry v Tyrone

Munster
Kerry v Cork

Connaught
Galway v Mayo

gaamad (Westmeath) - Posts: 101 - 13/05/2008 17:22:10    18614

meath dublin (anyone else thinking of any other pairing in leinster are codding themselves, these two by far and away the best)
Loyal2TheRoyal , 13/05/2008 at 17:14

I do not honestly rate the current Meath team much at all - and the suspensions and injuries lessen my rating further. If Meath were playing Kildare or even Laois this w/e (and I'm glad you're not by the way) I think ye would be staring at the qualifiers. There are still possible tricky ties there with Wexford and Kildare in your half. I think if anything at all happens to Moyles you are really bare from 2-9. Up front there is promise but, as I have said before, some of the stars of last year are gonna have to do it all again.

Also I dunno if Coyle has the confidence of the dressing room the way he had last year, because regardless of the skirmish in PP the performance that day was unrecognisable from any other Meath team I've seen in terms of intensity and effort. And if you can't raise your game against the Dubs ........

With regard to Dublin's half of the draw I think Westmeath represent a real threat and have already beaten Dublin in the Division 2 final. So I don't think people who suggest that it won't be a Dub-Meath final are codding themselves at all!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 13/05/2008 18:58:33    18648

GAAMAD, AFTER SUNDAYS MATCH YA'S BE BLESSED TA MAKE IT TO DE LENSTER FINAL

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 13/05/2008 19:05:19    18650

Connaught - Roscomman v Mayo
Leinster - Westmeath v Meath
Munster - Cork v Kerry

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1122 - 13/05/2008 23:00:59    18716

Leinster: Dublin v Meath

Ulster: Derry v Tyrone

Munster: Cork v Kerry

Connaught: Galway v Mayo

aidangalway (Galway) - Posts: 648 - 14/05/2008 00:06:05    18725

Not to sure about the draws but.....
Galway v Mayo
Armagh v Derry
Cork v Kerry
Wexford v Westmeath (dont think Meath have a hope! Obviously it'll be close between Dub and WH)

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/05/2008 09:41:57    18763

Meath/dublin final

kerry/cork

Mayo/leitrim

monaghan/Derry.

hey jayo,this meath team is just coming right at the perfect time.In 3 0r 4 weeks with suspensions over and lads are nearly
right from injury ,we,re gonna take beating!
As a Meath man ,I wouldnt fear the dubs in leinster,westmeath i would.
This meath team will take stopping!

the seal (Meath) - Posts: 583 - 14/05/2008 15:45:45    18990

"meath dublin (anyone else thinking of any other pairing in leinster are codding themselves, these two by far and away the best)"- Loyal2daRoyal

I think you are just codding yourself with that statement Loyal!! Sorry to break it to ya bit Meath really are not all that. They are not even in the top 10 running for Sam! And they have done nothing in the past couple of years to prove otherwise. Poor League performance, destroyed by an understrength Cork team last year....I can't understand why people are still putting Meath in the position as the 1st or 2nd best in Leinster, beaten by both Dublin and Westmeath in the League, and knocked out of Leinster by Dublin last year. I personally fancy Westmeath or maybe Kildare to take Leinster this year if they can overcome Dublin. The thing about Dublin is they are a daunting team to approach and have brilliant fans, but if they can overcome the pressurecooker I can see West meath or Kildare winning, I would have said Laois would have been in contention this time last year but not now, they are away to the dogs altogether.

Leinster

Dublin/Westmeath v Kildare/Meath

As I have noted before I think Westmeath are coming to the forefront and if they catch dublin cold in the Semis they could win their 1st leinster since 04. Kildare, I fancy them because of McGeenys Influence but I'm not sure if they can cut it with ther big boys just yet. Meath, if they up their game may get to the final, but i genuienly can't see a victory for them.

Munster

Kerry v Cork

Munster will be another one horse race, Kerry and Cork in the final, and unless Cork pull something special out of the bag, I can see nothing other than a win for the kingdom, however I do hope I am wrong as I like Cork.

Connaght

Galway v Mayo

Galway will come out of their side of the draw easily, Mayo should as well, but it depends on Sligo, whether they last year was a flash oin the pan, or if they can repeat their success. Whichever of the two it is, I can see nothing but a Galway win, they are on fire at the minute and I can see them winning, or at least getting close to Sam this year.

Ulster

Now to the best Province!!haha

Tyrone V Derry

Because I'm from Derry people may think its biased, well it is! But to be fair its also realistic, Derry really can do no wrong at the minute, they are absolutley on fire! My only worry is they burn themselves out and peak too early.

Derry I think will beat Donegal, and Monaghan will beat Fermanagh (I can't see where this optimism for Fermanagh is coming from, yes were in a Div 3 final, but they were beaten by a much stronger side, but their performance wasn't brilliant, yes they have a couple of outstanding players but 2 players don't win you an Ulster title.)Monaghan I think too are over hyped, I have a funny feeling they might do what Fermanagh did in 04, I do want them to do well but as they are a good team and I like them but I still think they are too inexperianced, many of the Derry men have been around 7 or 8years and they know the craic, Derry also have a better bench with 3 or 4 players definitley knocking on the door of the 1st 15. On the other side of the draw, I expect Antrim to beat Cavan, but whoever wins this tie will be easily beaten by Armagh. Tyrone will easily beat Down and then I think they will take Armagh in the Semi, I still don't think Armagh are back to their best and may be a couple of years before they are. And I hope and believe Derry can take Tyrone in the final by a couple of points, Derry are out to prove they are more than a league team and not just good for the qualifiers.

Roll on Championship 2008!!

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 15/05/2008 11:36:04    19266

Because I'm from Derry people may think its biased, well it is! But to be fair its also realistic, Derry really can do no wrong at the minute, they are absolutley on fire! My only worry is they burn themselves out and peak too early.

Niamh what makes you think the derry boys will peak to early? Is this a regular with Derry footballers?

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 15/05/2008 11:49:24    19280

Hey Niamh, Just wondering where do you get the idea that Laois are gone to the dogs? Not having a go or anything, true we have been relegated and didnt win one game but we were in a tough league campaign where there were no easy games, we were unluck in 3 games (Mayo, Donegal and Kildare) and we were never beaten badly in any match (maybe apart from the game against Derry in the last 10 mins). I cant see us winning Leinster but i think we would be on a similar level as Kildare and Westmeath, i would fancy us against either of those teams come the summer as i would reckon there would not be much between the teams.

Andy (Laois) - Posts: 371 - 15/05/2008 11:49:32    19281

Niamh what makes you think the derry boys will peak to early? Is this a regular with Derry footballers?

----
Samin10, no, not based on past performance, but they have been going full pelter since the start of the league, and maybe even the Mc Kenna cup, and I'm worried they may peak to early, whereas boys like Armagh and Tyrone gradually get better throughout the summer and hold off until the big matches.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 15/05/2008 12:05:34    19302

Hey Niamh, Just wondering where do you get the idea that Laois are gone to the dogs? Not having a go or anything, true we have been relegated and didnt win one game but we were in a tough league campaign where there were no easy games, we were unluck in 3 games (Mayo, Donegal and Kildare) and we were never beaten badly in any match (maybe apart from the game against Derry in the last 10 mins). I cant see us winning Leinster but i think we would be on a similar level as Kildare and Westmeath, i would fancy us against either of those teams come the summer as i would reckon there would not be much between the teams.

Its just the past year or so Laois haven't done much, they had a disaterous leage and last years championship didn't go down too well for them either. I don't know why but I can Westmeath or Kildare coming good in Leinster.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 15/05/2008 12:07:25    19303

well niamh, im not saying they'll do wonders come championship, they may have gone down a league but one thing they did do was play well. They had alot of injuries when they played us and we were lucky enough to have a very generous referee. They are a good side in my opinion, i think they'll do well enough

Legend92 (Donegal) - Posts: 752 - 15/05/2008 16:48:22    19535

Awk I don't know which Laois, they sort of blow hot and cold...usually cold, I like them as a team and wouldn't mind them winning Leinster but I just can't see it!

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 15/05/2008 17:02:31    19550

all you boys slate leinster football but you must not really follow it that that closely because any one that reckons meath will get to a leinster final is mad in the head,i dont care how many meath fans i upset but that is a bad bad bad meath team.any team that has to play joe sheridan is in a bad way

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 15/05/2008 20:01:18    19633

Leinster- Dubs v Meath
Munster- Cork v De Kingdom
Connaught- Galway v Mayo
Ulster-Derry v Tyrone

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 15/05/2008 20:43:13    19639

Leinster: Westmeath vs Wexford (Wexford)

Munster: Kerry vs Cork (Kerry)

Connaught: Galway vs Mayo (Mayo)

Ulster: Derry vs Tyrone (Derry)

swinford2008 (Mayo) - Posts: 163 - 16/05/2008 16:20:35    20040