Directions to O Moore Park Portlaoise

Hello hope this is some help to the good people of Monaghan I'm living in Laois many years now but have travelled too and from Monaghan manys a time to visit relatives. The easiest way for Monaghan folk to get down here is without doubht nowadays to take the Dublin route. I used to travel up the middle of the country thru,offaly,westmeath and Cavan but with the motorway and towns being by passed head for Dublin first.even from Scotshouse and Kileeven it is stil alot quicker. So you take the N2 following the Dundalk signs continue into Blaney and take the a37 entering Cullaville Then head on to N53 for 12 kms before joining M1 motor way -DUBLIN Stay on the M1 for about 40kms Go through Toll plaza Go on another 30kms Leave M1 at Junction 1 and at the roundabout take the 3rd exit signposted southbound after 4kms take limerick exit marked junction 9-n7 hen take Naas road(Cork Limerick road) Its straight on from here about 55kms. If you want to go straight to the pitch then don't take the first portaloise exit. Take the second exit signposted Cork(abbeyleix) junction 17 then on the big roundabout take 4th exit signposted portaloise/Carlow. This is the road into portlaoise the pitch is only 1 mile on the left handside from this big roundabout. Just as you come off this roundabout there is a a Hotel and mid way break over stop point with toilets,and many food outlets its ideal for parking and is the main stop over form Cork to Dublin,there is Hotel food,Subay,O briens and more outlets all under the one roof. Just note if you go into this food-court when you come back out of it you must go back onto the roundabout you have just come off so be aware of taking once again the portlaoise exit when you go back on to it! It is about a mile and a half from the pitch. If you want to go through the town of portlaoise take 1st portlaoise exit but the second one is much much better for match traffic and you can by pass the pitch if your early still head into the town easier this way. So remember take the second portlaoise exit. I hope it will be a good game I think Monaghan will have alot more to play for and this will be the deciding factor but laois have a good footballing team and play an open brand of football with some dangerous forwards and a powerfull midfield. Safe trip to all Laois abu!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 08/04/2009 10:37:32    251716

Good man BigJohn.6_8. These directions will prove invaluable on sunday. Thanks for taking the time and effort to post them.

monaghan_ultra (None) - Posts: 213 - 08/04/2009 13:42:20    251962

much appreciated, fair play til ya..how long would ya think itd take to get down to it?

thefollower (Monaghan) - Posts: 17 - 08/04/2009 16:40:30    252197

With little traffic due to easter weekend it should take under 2 hrs and a half, now thats going from cmx, add on what extra you ll travel from monaghan town, scotstown etc

damonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 211 - 08/04/2009 18:07:47    252300

No problem lads hope you's have a safe trip down.

As I have pointed out take the second exit into portlaoise even if your early or coming down the night before or what ever its much easier for everything.You'll pass a big New shopping Centre(superquinn is only thing in it at moment) on your left and the pitch is just behind it so you'll get an idea driving by where you are in realation to the Pitch and the main part of Town.

The Town centre is only a little over a mile in this road so you could drive in for a pint and walk back out to the pitch or drive back out and face it for home.

Good GAA pubs in the town are PEIGS in the Top square and is a close walk to the pitch,Welcome INN is a nice bar just beside it.

Further down main street near the bottom of the town about 200 yards Kavanaghs a black pub is another good GAA football pub with a nice restuarant with great sunday lunch called Egans right next to it.

The main street is one way and doesnt have much parking so your better off taking the carlow road from 1st roundabout you meet after coming into the town from 2nd portlaoise exit there is loads of parking accross the road from supermacs or behind Supermacs in Lidl car park and this would leave you car in grand spot for both a pint on main street and a walk up to the game!

Hope this of some help to anyone traveling down.

There is alot of roundabouts in and around the town and can be confusing so dont be afraid to stop and ask someone!!!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 09/04/2009 12:49:21    253048

Log onto AA Road Map on the web. Click onto route planner then enter your starting point ie nearest town or village then you destination ie O Moore Park Portlaoise and all will then be revealed its brilliant no need for any sat nav system. It also helps if you can print off a copy.Dont forget to print a reverse copy for your journey home even though you will probably be ok on that front. Good luck and safe journey to all who make the journey.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 09/04/2009 13:14:51    253074

That is hilarious, Monaghan people wanting to know the way to Port Laoise, take them beyond Clones and they need a amp.

sam02 (Tyrone) - Posts: 643 - 13/04/2009 17:31:26    255857

sam02
County: Armagh

That is hilarious, Monaghan people wanting to know the way to Port Laoise, take them beyond Clones and they need a amp.

And if you roll up to the start of the thread, you'll find that no Monaghan poster asked for directions.

Maguire01 (Monaghan) - Posts: 226 - 13/04/2009 21:30:54    256017

Hope everyone had a good trip down and got back safely.

You really gave Laois a lesson but Laois never even tried from what i seen they didnt even commit fouls.

hope the directions were a help.

Best of luck against Cork.Hope its on in portlaoise just for selfish reasons!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 14/04/2009 11:29:33    256309