Ok first of all. This thread refers to a letter in todays Irish News(20th Feb 09) by someone calling himself 'Ulsterman'... Could this be the same as the one that frequents HS??? All the better for the debate if it is! spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 20/02/2009 21:42:23 213969 Link 0 |
I have been to the Inter club quiz for the last two years, which is conducted in Irish. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/02/2009 22:40:52 214041 Link 0 |
Yeh I agree Patrique. I think the multi -dimensional cultural promotion aspect is gone out of the organisation...sadly! But ur mans argument is fairly far removed from reality. He could have had a good point in their somewhere, but lost me with the God save the Queen bit..! It is true that theres nothing more than lip service being payed to the role of the language in the GAA nowadays. spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 20/02/2009 23:14:31 214079 Link 0 |
is brea liom an lu agus is fuaith liom an mhi. OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 20/02/2009 23:54:33 214112 Link 0 |
patrique spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 21/02/2009 00:05:33 214121 Link 0 |
If you think using words like An tUachtaran and giving out fixtures lists that read like this: wingwonder (UK) - Posts: 535 - 21/02/2009 03:05:42 214161 Link 0 |
I remember the first time I played football, myself and a few friends were approached and asked to play football. Dreams of stardom soon vanished when we landed at a field in Glengormley and were handed a big heavy ball. It was not the kind of football I knew of and my pair of wizz kids were not going to cut it, but what did make an impression on me was when they wrote my name in Irish on the teamsheet. It gave me a sense of identity and of where I came from. Unfortunately my Irish is still pretty bad, but so was my football, but never again was I corrupted by what society dripfeeds our kids and takes away their identity. I owe that to the GAA. cornerboy (Antrim) - Posts: 2 - 21/02/2009 10:12:21 214186 Link 0 |
Spudenator - an bhfuil tú ag magadh le seo: "Alot more speak it quite actively and promote it now and again (myself included). Maybe not so much in the North..."?? Níl tú i ndáiríre?? Tá an meid suim sa teanga i mBeal Feirste na aít ar bith eile ar an oilean seo (agus tá grupaí substantiúil ann, mar phrotastunaigh, nach mbíonn aon suim acu de ghnáth). Chaith mé cuid mhaith am i mBaile Atha Cliath, Loch Garman, Cill Mhantain Tiobraid Arann, agus aíteanna eile mar cathair Gaillimh (is ea, Gaillimh), agus ni fhaca mé morán suim no meas sa teanga ag daoine ansin. pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 21/02/2009 13:13:50 214252 Link 0 |
Spud, as Pearses indicates I also thought that the language was flourishing more in the North than in the south. There are numerous Bun scoils, a Gaeltacht area on Shaw's Road, and loads of jobs on offer for Irish speakers. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/02/2009 13:46:55 214274 Link 0 |
Pearse. Nílim ag magadh ar chor ar bith. Má léinn tú mo thrácht arís.. ní raibh mé ach ag chur CEIST ar daoine ón dTuaischeart. Dúirt mé ''maybe not so much in the North...??'' Question marks!!! Táim i mo chonaí i mBéal Féirste le mbliain anuas agus táim ag múnadh an teanga mar saorálaí do dhaoine óige i mBaile Uí Mhurchú agus timpeall Bóthar na bhFál. Feicim gach lá go bhfuil an-obair déanta sa chathair seo. Nílim a rá nach bhfuil! spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 21/02/2009 15:46:56 214307 Link 0 |
Ní dhéanann an CLG mórán chun an teanga a spreagadh ach cad a féidir leo déanamh? An t-aon bealach go bhfuil an teanga chun scaipeadh ná má labharann daoine Gaeilge le chéile sa bhaile. An t-aon rud a féidir liom smaoineamh air ná na cúl camps a rith as Gaeilge. Ar.an.talamh (Kildare) - Posts: 320 - 21/02/2009 19:58:05 214452 Link 0 |
Spudenator - you're going to have to lay your cards on the table here. I presume you're living in West Belfast and have been on the receiving end of a few lectures about the promotion of Irish - and how there is nothing done in Ireland outside West Belfast (there are a few gaeilgóirí in West Belfast who think like that). I'm from North Belfast so if that's the case it doesn't bother me at all. At the same time - you are equally unlikely to hear Irish on the streets of Belfast, Galway, Cork or Dublin. In most cases you need to know what events are on and it, by association with particular forms of cultural activity (whether it is GAA, trad music etc) a lot of gaeilgóirí have tended to ghettoize the language. pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 21/02/2009 20:01:02 214454 Link 0 |
Sorry - I meant to add this - would there be an interest in a Gaeilgóirí thread? There is a non-GAA thread and a proliferation of threads debating the wonders/horror of Tyrone winning All-Irelands, a strong line in 'how wonderful are Kerry' threads, campaigns to canonise Ciaran Whelan, and, nearly every second thread is about Frank Murphy, sorry, Cork. Would there be takers for 'An HS Snáth'? House rules would either be Gaeilge only (with tolerance for poor spelling and some Bearla), or, bilingual posts? pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 21/02/2009 20:16:02 214471 Link 0 |
To be honest Pearses I've heard a few teenagers speakin Irish on the bus/train/take away in Dublin but I agree with ur point that people have to go to events to speak the language. I heard recently that one of the recent Cork managers (Donal O'G or John Allen) possibly used to direct training sessions thru irish...this sort of thing is a positive step. The GAA need to use Seán Óg, Dara Ó Sé and Seán Óg de Paor to promote the language. I láthair na huaire ní dhéanann siad faic... Ar.an.talamh (Kildare) - Posts: 320 - 21/02/2009 20:29:42 214479 Link 0 |
Cloisim tusa,ceapaim go bhfuil pointe agat. Ní fheicim aon iarract a dheanamh i mo chlub féin chun gaeilge a labhairt,agus níl aon duine buartha leis. Níl me cainteoir an-mhaith,ach is aobhinn liom an teanga,ar dteanga, agus is aobhinn liom ar gcluchí freisin. Cén fáth nach bhfuil an teanaga a usaid i cluich ón U-10 leibheal,bhféidir déanfaidh clubs ranganna gaeilge a fháil do na imreoirí oíge, ach ní tharloídh sin ar ní cuirimid an obair anois, in ar gclubs ar fud na tíre. Drumkeerinman93 (Leitrim) - Posts: 28 - 21/02/2009 20:36:53 214487 Link 0 |
Pearseabu im living in South Belfast but volunteer teaching Irish in west Belf through SVP. And no-one there has said anything to me along the lines of ''leave it t'us Norners gettin the jab done praperly''. Thats not what I was saying. I just took from what Patrique said and I quote: ''I also thought that the language was flourishing more in the North than in the south. There are numerous Bun scoils, a Gaeltacht area on Shaw's Road, and loads of jobs on offer for Irish speakers.'' spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 21/02/2009 21:02:02 214501 Link 0 |
Spud, sorry if I gave that impression, it was not intended, you may note I try to avoid North V South debates on here. I was just making the point that Irish, to a degree, is doing well enough here. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/02/2009 21:33:41 214516 Link 0 |
I think the biggest problem that the GAA has promoting the Irish language is that many young members have an in-built resistance to Irish as a result of how it is taught in Irish schools (in the South at least). black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 21/02/2009 21:56:45 214529 Link 0 |
Sorry Spudenator - to be honest, I just took you up wrong. I've lived in the republic for 10-12 years and been exposed to a quite high levels of ignorance about the North and was too quick to assume you were commenting on the same basis (e.g. my three favourites: 'How come you have an Irish surname?' - that was from a Garda - as it turned out, with the same bloody surname; 'Did you go to school in Ireland?' - actually meaning the Republic of Ireland, just because I spoke Irish fluently - asked by various people; 'How long have you been in Ireland' - again meaning the republic, another geographically-challenged traffic Garda who, on being corrected wasn't very appreciative of the opportunity to engage in lifelong learning - you get the idea). Hence I can be quite touchy. Mar sin de, tá mo fhreagra as chomhtéacs - tá brón orm. pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 21/02/2009 23:23:09 214580 Link 0 |
No bother Patrique. My apologies, I misunderstood I think! Im so glad to see whats goin on up here to be honest and I thought it was great when the Shaws Rd/Falls area Gaeltacht was established. But theres alot going on across the island these days. Ya still have to scratch the surface sadly, but alot of people, especially young people dont see it as a chore to learn anymore. I just want to stress that the GAA could really take a lead role in furthering this promotion. I know they dont have any duty as a sporting organisation but they do it with some success with music with Scór and all that stuff so I think something beyond Irish names on the programmes would be a real start. spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 21/02/2009 23:42:23 214588 Link 0 |