Was up in Drogheda yesterday and that was the worst standard of football I have seen in a long time. Jimmymac1 (Louth) - Posts: 60 - 05/01/2009 11:14:04 172946 Link 0 |
Very harsh on the subs there? But I was not at the game. What subs were used? kudos (Louth) - Posts: 298 - 05/01/2009 12:58:56 173065 Link 0 |
subs used were Jimmymac1 (Louth) - Posts: 60 - 05/01/2009 13:01:54 173071 Link 0 |
Game this Sunday against Longford will be a better test. When is Keenan, Hoey, Judge back ? MR (Louth) - Posts: 2570 - 05/01/2009 13:17:01 173088 Link 0 |
some of the subs that came on was derek maguire,sean mc cann,declan byrne and richie brennan. OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 05/01/2009 13:27:40 173099 Link 0 |
When he plays the same old players he gets slated, when he gives the young lads a chance he gets slated. They can only beat whats in front of them so ease up on the critiscism. CHPD (None) - Posts: 81 - 05/01/2009 13:41:10 173113 Link 0 |
can we have christian names of the above players and their clubs. (some i not sure of) and also a list of the subs? takeurpoint (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 05/01/2009 13:45:47 173114 Link 0 |
the_wee_parish (Louth) - Posts: 197 - 05/01/2009 14:36:55 173156 Link 0 |
Mark Stansfield dropped off panel from the end of last season. Just like to say fair deuce to him for all his years - he was a good servant! kudos (Louth) - Posts: 298 - 05/01/2009 15:02:18 173186 Link 0 |
jimmy mac wud u shut u must b sum footballer da way u go on ya clown sum of dem subs are very gud players such brian duffy patsman4 (Louth) - Posts: 25 - 06/01/2009 03:10:12 173669 Link 0 |
Jimmymac1 its people like you that run this county down and your the joke. all the lads that are on that panel have done well with there clubs last year and are given a chance at country level what wrong with that? if they were not up to it they wouldnt have been given the chance so give them a break and shut up! youknowit2 (Louth) - Posts: 31 - 06/01/2009 11:15:18 173763 Link 0 |
You summed it up perfectly CHPD, you're damned if you do and you're damned if you don't. Con (Louth) - Posts: 511 - 06/01/2009 11:57:19 173790 Link 0 |
could everybody please settle down dont get carried away and dont be running the team down either i think its great to see so many young player being giving achance and i know dat some wont make it but if you dont try them ul never find out so give these young guys a break and some off the old lads too hithard (USA) - Posts: 310 - 06/01/2009 13:31:15 173907 Link 0 |
i understand with what ye are saying with give the younger lads a chance but seriously our best young lads are not even on the panel... the Blues have excelled dis yr winning all d senior championship matches.... Emmet Judge, Cormac Reynolds, Hugh McGinn and Brian Kermode should be on the panel... they stood out this year in the Louth championship and ran the Crokes close... the favourites to win the all ireland club championship... why havnt these been given a chance? Itsme (Louth) - Posts: 402 - 06/01/2009 14:16:55 173951 Link 0 |
jimmymac your talkingrubbish, obviously u never seen t. costello playing all year.. the blues had by a long way the best defence this year conceading very very little i would even say the blues back line was the best louth club defence in a long long time so with that been said u would think at least 2 of them deserve a call up to the louth panel..t .costello was the heart of the defence this year and played amazing all year with his performance never dipping and u say he shouldnt of been call up.. in my opinion there should be at least 4 of the blues defence given a chance instead of some of the muck he called up and everyone knows the muck im talking about but again mac seems to look beyond the blues and mattock which is unbelievable...carrol did dominate midfield yesterday he set up most of the attacks incase u didnt see it was the forwards who didnt dominate jay1 (Louth) - Posts: 56 - 06/01/2009 15:26:38 174035 Link 0 |
Good lad jay1 keep with the blues bias. Blues defence the best in Louth??? Couldnt handle Mattocks 1 forward on Senior Final day.. If it wasnt for McGinn and Judges performance that day and MAttock having the poorest midfield pairing in Senior the blues wouldnt have came near them. Grimes and Brennan are good but 2 forty yards men by trade. Costello is very very average in my opinion. No where near county standard even with Kilkenny Gaelic teams. Sure put him out marking Alan Brogan or even any of our forwards and they would have a field day. You cant use the excuse he is still young because hes 25-26 at this stage. Couldnt believe my eyes when i saw him and some of the tripe lining out. O Byrne cup aside we will be embarresed this year if thats all we have. And we wonder why Meath are more successful. None of those so called new faces would get near a Meath Junior team. Im all for trying out youth so i applaud him for that osama (Louth) - Posts: 149 - 06/01/2009 17:12:22 174166 Link 0 |
good to see jp back, i wasnt at the game but i did hear he played alrite, im sure come championship time if hes fully fit and can stay injury free he'll be great to have,with his experience and with some new young fres faces alongside him in the forwards he'll be back to his best goaldenboy (Louth) - Posts: 17 - 06/01/2009 18:08:11 174248 Link 0 |
if the blues didnt who did????? easily it was the blues wake up and look at the facts... they only conceaded 2 goals leading to the final both against kilkerly in a game they won 2-13 - 2-4 and 1 of them was a peno.. in 6 games i think that is the best defence..no one skint the blues defence in the final the blues defence kept them in it wen they came under pressure and the goal they conceaded should never have stood and any1 there wud agree so i dont know wer your getting this bull from ye havent a clue...as for costello been skint by brogan i think him and his fellow dubs skint all the defence louth had last year.. thomas is not an average player he is a very good player he marked mark davoren out of the game against kilamud the man that scored the vital goals against birr,navan and the plunketts so i would class davoren as a top forward.. osama you have nothing to back up wot ur saying ur a clown with the same attitude as dumb mac - ABB - anybody but the blues.. thats why louth will never go far.. jay1 (Louth) - Posts: 56 - 06/01/2009 22:27:44 174472 Link 0 |
Good man Osama, still crying over the senior final!!!! Was glad to see the young lads being given a chance however some of the players missing from the panel was strange. No disrespect to the lads on the panel but as an earlier poster said where was Kermode, Reynolds, McGinn and a few of the other Blues and Mattock lads. I thought the defence did well but jaysus UCD were dreadful. How was that No. 15 getting a game. He gave one of the worst performances the Gaelic Grounds has ever seen. This weekend will tell us a lot more but the likes of Rath and Smith will find they are a little on the small side when they meet the other Inter County teams blueisthecolour (Louth) - Posts: 151 - 06/01/2009 23:02:21 174507 Link 0 |
Im not exactly ABB as you put it Jay1 but if you had your way the Louth jersey would be sky blue. Mattock let in 2 goals all year and one in the final. Exactly the same as the blues so what is your point exactly. In my opinion Thomas Costello is nowhere near county standard. Chap is only after nailing down his place with the blues at 25-26. His younger brother has been on the first team long before him. Marked Davoren out of it. I remember Davoren playing very well. Does a forward have to score goals every game to be classed as playing well??? osama (Louth) - Posts: 149 - 07/01/2009 09:40:54 174615 Link 0 |