Best night to go out over Christmas?

Christmas Eve? Boxing Night? New Years Eve? New Years Night? or something in between?
Mine is Boxing - sport on tele, pubs open - like a Super Sunday Session!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 03/12/2008 15:38:07    155945

Boxing day? Your on the wrong side of the border for that lad. Its ST STEVENS DAY
Right!!!!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 03/12/2008 15:47:07    155961

Every day is boxing day in Monaghan.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 03/12/2008 15:51:15    155970

Stephens DAY, not night!

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 03/12/2008 15:52:34    155971

Liamwalkinstown

Boxing day? Your on the wrong side of the border for that lad. Its ST STEVENS DAY
Right!!!!!!!

Maybe even St. StePHens day Liam?

sheepshooter (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 03/12/2008 15:53:48    155973

funny how boxing day is celebrated in tyrone and armagh....

danjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 137 - 03/12/2008 15:54:16    155975

ah feic off sharpshooter :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 03/12/2008 15:55:05    155980

03/12/2008 15:51:15
Real Kerry Fan

Every day is boxing day in Monaghan.

Nah, only in Clones, no boxing in Monaghan outside that town.

And it seems to be a very common thing in Monaghan for it to be called BOXING day, come on lads you know that's not what it's called!

As far as the topic goes, it has to be ST. STEPHENS day/night, you meet up at home with lads from school, football etc, that you haven't seen in years, a great days/nights craic. New Years night is a night for the house party.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 03/12/2008 16:01:11    155991

danjoe you may find that out for yourself literally if ever you go up that way, with the way you've been speaking about ulster lately. ballyboy's evil twin brother are you?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10366 - 03/12/2008 16:04:18    155997

Sorry Liam, I jumped on that one like a fatty on the last doughnut! ;)

sheepshooter (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 03/12/2008 16:15:25    156015

Stephens Day is definitely the best day. Christmas Day you're recovering from all the boozing from Christmas eve and all the other nights previous.
Stephens Day is up to the bookies for a few bets on Leopardstown, then back home to enjoy the turkey and stuffing sandwiches, you get the taste for booze back and then its off down to the local nightclub to find out if you've still got the belly for a rake of pints

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 03/12/2008 16:16:53    156018

St Stephens day is a good night. but the random couple of nights out between st stephens day and new years eve are always a good laugh.
never go out in Kilkenny city on a wednesday night during xmas though. its as dead as the mayo football team after 20mins in an AI final!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 03/12/2008 17:00:55    156075

Speaking of Stephen's Day there is a tradition in some counties of dressing up as Rent Boys - whats all that about?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 03/12/2008 18:02:53    156173

Xmas eve down the local is the best,

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 03/12/2008 18:41:12    156218

St Stephens night is the best.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2024 - 03/12/2008 19:16:06    156258

christmas morning sunrise on arderin

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 03/12/2008 20:59:55    156351

Christmas eve down the local by far the best day of the year. Yer man that owns it does not have any wife and kids so he is never in a rush home and because there is usually a big crowd he likes to make hay that night, so we usually get a late one...it his fault that I have not been at Christmas mass in 12 years...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 03/12/2008 21:19:22    156364

LIAMWALKINSTOWN,
THE FELLA WAS JUST ASKING A QUESTION, YA DIDN'T HAVE TO JUMP DOWN HIS THROAT LIKE THAT. ST.STEPHEN'S DAY OR BOXING DAY, IT DOESN'T MATTER.

Mayoegian (Mayo) - Posts: 72 - 03/12/2008 22:09:31    156408

Benny - just go to midnight mass the night before - its usually on around 7 or 9 and if you're getting a lock-in sure you've loads of time to gargle after! And don't forget to say a few for FM!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 03/12/2008 22:35:37    156433

Lockjaw

155997 danjoe you may find that out for yourself literally if ever you go up that way, with the way you've been speaking about ulster lately. ballyboy's evil twin brother are you?

No i just think its ball-boy.

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 04/12/2008 00:32:51    156503