Youth players coming through your club!

Is there any good players coming through your club which isnt getting recognized at county level??

updacelts (Tyrone) - Posts: 61 - 31/10/2008 22:28:49    131309

In my opinion Jay Dillon and Niall Hanna are talented players who wouldn't have been far of the mark at U16 level and I personally felt that its an absolute disgrace that Caolan Corr and Gareth Devlin did not make u14 Dev Squad they didn't even get a trial. Gareth although he played midfield for our U14s and the Academy he is an excellent coner back unbeleivably quick and great disciplined tackler. Caolan Corr is a very skillful player qually adept in both attack and defence. I know they're only young lads but I feel they are definately good enough.

Hill Man (Tyrone) - Posts: 147 - 01/11/2008 13:02:57    131400

its the same with Clonoe. there is one player that should have been on that u14 dev squad and thats Danny McNulty. This lad is even good for u16s. Also padraig Donnelly is a quality player and is only 15years old and is very big and strong. definetly 1 4 the future.

updacelts (Tyrone) - Posts: 61 - 01/11/2008 16:53:06    131486

moy u-14's - daniel beaddie,ryan dynes,jack kelly played unreal stuff for the moy in the u-14's this year never even got a trial and they were fit to mark that big fella from stewartstown cathal devlin - they marked him outta it.

anmhaighabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 105 - 01/11/2008 18:18:13    131515

finbarr mc quaid, wee marty mc elhatton, declan connolly, fergal askin and dara donnelly..........fear augher!

eochair (Tyrone) - Posts: 213 - 01/11/2008 19:50:22    131548

anmhaighabu- it wud take the 3 of them to mark gonga, the best footballer at that grade by a mile.

redhoop (Tyrone) - Posts: 75 - 01/11/2008 21:11:09    131578

niall gavin- unreal, one of the best forwards in his age groups, hard to mark, leathal with boot feet and and can score lots anyday, lways has a good day

sean slater- good payer, if he calms downand settles he woud be one for the future, very solid back and great hands

derrytresk8 (Tyrone) - Posts: 129 - 02/11/2008 11:11:25    131710

Donaghmore- a would have ti say Deasun Quinn and Kevin McGuckin are proabably the one's to look out for in the future from our club. Both quality players. These two boys were the main players in our under 16 team that probably gave Naomh muire the closest game in under 16s this year.

YOP13 (Tyrone) - Posts: 70 - 02/11/2008 13:23:50    131769

FAO: HILL MAN

As far as I am aware, and please do correct me if I am wrong, the U-14 Development squad managers do not scathe the County for this talent. An email was sent to every club in Tyrone asking them to nominate up to 3 players that in their opinion are of a higher standard than club level, who excell for their club in other words. Also, the clubs had to fill in a form given reason as to why each selected player is of a higher standard as this rules out clubs sending half of their panels.
If the clubs did not nominate any players, as has been the case from so many clubs, then it is not up to the Managers to go looking for them. This was clearly stipulated to the managers, and too the clubs, that if they were not nominated then they could not possible be seen by the U-14 Development squad managers.
You must also understand that there is no recognised competition for this group of players, it is merely in preparation for the further Development squads e.g. U-15, 16 & 17 and then to Minor level and to give the future managers of these respected ages something to work from.

I hope this clears up any nonsense in regards to who should and who shouldnt be on the panel!

PS- If you knew the managers in question you would know that no bias or likings has been taken to anyone, they are working with thse players who were in attendance at the series of trials that most clubs failed to inform their own possible nominees that were taking place!!!!!

Tyrone0305 (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 02/11/2008 13:38:35    131777

Conan Cambell from Ardboe. Only 15 and played at right have forward this year and won his championship medal.

Caizo (Tyrone) - Posts: 138 - 02/11/2008 13:44:50    131783

finbarr mc quaid, wee marty mc elhatton, declan connolly, fergal askin and dara donnelly..........fear augher!

Finbarr McQuaid was part of the all-ireland minor winning team.

Steven Mullan. Can't understand why this lad has been over looked for development squads. One of the best corner backs in the county at his age.

Refill_Pad (Tyrone) - Posts: 78 - 02/11/2008 16:50:32    131880

Aidan Donnelly
Damien Mc Kernan
Tony Mc Girr
Conrad Stevenson
Conor Mc Caughey from clogher
Lawrence Mc Kenna
Domnic Douglas
Peter Meenagh

all great players! True talent and ones to look out for in the future

mon-errigal (Tyrone) - Posts: 189 - 02/11/2008 18:02:25    131903

redhoop - daniel beaddie marked gonga outta it on his own!!! and he is no where near the size of him.

anmhaighabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 105 - 02/11/2008 18:58:19    131941

FAO 'hillman'

the players u quoted above are not county standard?? wake up and smell the fresh air any tom dick or harry can play well in the youth grades yous play at

bruachaille (Tyrone) - Posts: 135 - 03/11/2008 01:04:46    132160

Ones for the future!!
U-14
Che O'Donnell
Ronan Fox
Ruairi McElhatton
Laura McNally
Rian McHugh

BellerBass (Tyrone) - Posts: 33 - 03/11/2008 09:33:37    132191

Were Brackaville not in our grade also???? for U14? Clearly there could quite possibly have been a mix up with nominations or communiction etc as our Youth Officer stood down and we had to appoint a new youth officer. I'm not trying to imply a bias against our club and in fact I applaud those who take the time and effort to work with dev squads as they are probably involved in their own clubs also. We have had quite a few players who have made it into the development squads such as Cathal O'Neill, Conor Gavin, Ronan O'Neill, Joseph McKee, Niall Gavin, Sean Slater and Jay Dillon who had the misfortune to break his collarbone last year so clearly I don't feel theirs a bias and its merely a misunderstanding.

So clearly there is no bias as for a small club such as ours we have had a fair share of players. Development squads by no means guarantee selection at minor as to date we have only had one county minor in recent times and thats my point with regard to the players from our club its obviously easier to play with better players and you would get the opportunity to play in your best position which isn't always the case at club level. I don't think its fair to put any lad down and normally trials etc highlight whether players are fit to cut the mustard.

Hill Man (Tyrone) - Posts: 147 - 03/11/2008 11:58:10    132300

kevin gallagher , dan gallagher , jamie allen , ciaran harkin , coli harkin , nial keyes , dom early all players with great potential

scraps (Tyrone) - Posts: 9 - 03/11/2008 16:09:08    132594

i can think of some far better things for young folk til be doing than playing football. out on the farm and fixing motors would be far more useful to them.

Casio_helix (Tyrone) - Posts: 40 - 03/11/2008 19:51:55    132880

some great talent comin through from my club (Owen Roes Abu) young patsy doin well. and Phelim and Rony lad doin well also. stars for the future a tell ye.

Casio_helix (Tyrone) - Posts: 40 - 03/11/2008 19:55:56    132887

mon-errigal I think your forgetting tonys youger brother CJ the mans amazing...
and as for monaghans next top player attending school in our very own county the man by the name of David Mc Gee!

Eire Og! (Tyrone) - Posts: 81 - 06/11/2008 17:43:46    135338