Best rivals

The Hermit I don't believe that, yes it's a big game Cork v Kerry but it's never a knock out game rarely, nowadays every time you play us it's knock out and usually in a final or semi final , Dublin v Kerry is the biggest game on this island it's Liverpool v United barca v Madrid. Many a time over the last decade I've seen Kerry get beat by Cork and barely caring but the minute they meet Dublin in Croke Park it's a completely different Kerry team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/02/2016 11:22:18    1828010

In all fairness lads, from a Kerry point of view it will always be Cork not Dublin.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1075 - 25/02/2016 11:08:24 1828001

I'm not surprised ye love playing Cork....sure they haven't beaten ye in the Championship since the turn of the Millenium.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 25/02/2016 11:25:38    1828014

In fairness Clonalkin, I think you're putting the three victories you have over us ahead of a storied 130 year rivalry with Cork.

Before 2011, Kerry v Dublin was hardly much of a rivalry when you were being beaten out the gate for over 30 years!

Your not from Kerry, so you probably wouldn't appreciate what Kerry v Cork is to us down here.

But after the rebels it would be the Dubs for sure who get the blood up.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/02/2016 11:33:28    1828018

One thing that defines a rivalry for me is that both sides bring out the best in each other. I'm going with an obvious one from current and recent times - Tipp Vs. Kilkenny.

I was lucky enough to the attend the 2009 final and 2014 drawn final. Those two matches are the best hurling matches I ever attended. The 2002 semi-final which has been forgotten was another high quality match as were the 2009 and 2014 league finals. The unfortunate theme here from a Tipp point of view is Kilkenny come out on top in normal time, extra time or after a replay in all of these equations.

I do think though that Tipp's in 2008/2009 put a bit of life back into hurling because from 2006 - 2008 Kilkenny were beating everyone out of sight. Kilkenny may still have a vice like grip over hurling but at least the matches are more competitive. After the 2008 final the hurling outlook was quite bleak.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 25/02/2016 11:36:34    1828020

Fair enough hermit,but what would you say the Kerry GAA public would say was their biggest rivalry?If they did a poll?Cork v Kerry has the history ; no doubt about that,but it is pretty much one-way traffic,bar Billy Morgan's great era of late 80's/early 90's.I think the game had lost it's lustre before last years drawn game.Also,Cork is predominantly a hurling county.Always was.Always will be.The majority of Cork people would rather beat Tipp/Kilkenny than Kerry.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/02/2016 11:50:29    1828026

The 3 wins have nothing to do with it , how can a county let Kerry biggest game be against a county that don't give a flying fiddlers about Gaelic football the only reason they travel to Killarney in numbers is cause it's a great town for a session. So the hermit once you bet Cork every year your happy with your lot for the season?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/02/2016 11:52:30    1828029

Lads a rivalry isn't about whose the biggest threat to you at any given time.

The GAA is a tribal thing, Kerry v Cork is a tribal thing. A hugely tribal thing that goes beyond the football field.

It wouldn't matter a damn if we were both at the bottom of Division 4,.

I tell you now Kerry vs Cork on a warm summers day down in Killarney, when the sun is blistering down is one of the Great, Great days in the GAA.

And long may it continue!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/02/2016 12:18:21    1828050

the prob with the cork kerry rivalry is simply that while all of Kerry cares, most or Cork doesnt.
Cork is a hurling county in the main and most Cork lads would prefer to beat KK or Tipp than Kerry. And this is from dealing with loadsa langer friends and colleagues
The Cork Kerry thing is a far bigger deal to Kerry than it is to Cork.
A lot of the Cork lads who go to Killarney for a Munster Final wouldnt be seen at another football match from one end of the year to the next but they would be in Semple, Limerick or PUC at the sniff of a big game

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/02/2016 14:24:36    1828110

I tell you now Kerry vs Cork on a warm summers day down in Killarney, when the sun is blistering down is one of the Great, Great days in the GAA.

I'll hold my hands up and freely admit I'm much more of a soccer man myself but have to say the above idea really appeals to me and I'd like to experience it one of these years. I've never been to Kerry, and keep promising myself I'll get down there at some stage. When you say "sun blistering down" though, I'm guessing it's all relative, you mean one of those rare days when the temperature hits 20oC? :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 25/02/2016 14:57:33    1828129

Hermit, "warm sunny days down in Killarney"?? You must have a good memory, when did we last get a warm, sunny (Summer) day anywhere on this island?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9817 - 25/02/2016 15:29:49    1828143

To be fair to the Hermit, Cork may be a majority Hurling county, however West Cork is Football mad and would treasure a win against Kerry more than beating Kilkenny or Tipp, as Kerry are immediate neighbours. Unfortunately, although Cork are very competitive (most years) in Munster, beating Kerry at Croke Park seems to be a step too far.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 313 - 25/02/2016 15:54:23    1828154

Lads I actually got sunburnt on the terrace in the drawn Munster final this year, it was the one hot day we actually had down here in that wet-wash of a summer that was 2015! And it was particularly ironic weather given that everyone at the replay was nearly washed away by the floods of rain! A surreal few weeks of weather.

It was actually a beautiful day for the Munster final in PuC in 2014 too, and the temperature in 2013 in Killarney must have hit 30, I think it was the warmest weekend of that great summer. So actually when I think about it, of all the games at all the stages of the Championship I go to every summer, the Munster final always seems to get the best weather!!

Ah MedwayIrish, you've never been to the Kingdom?!! Sure what's stopping you, you won't be disappointed!!!

Baldybadger, you're spot on. I have to laugh when I see the Dublin lads above trying to tell us who our rivals are!!! I think we know ourselves lads in fairness.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/02/2016 18:49:35    1828214

The 30 odd years beating us out the gate is a little misleading, we met what, 8 times? And they weren't all drubbings.

The Mayo bashing certainly comes from the fact that were not at our ease when playing them!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 25/02/2016 18:50:01    1828216

Would ya get up the yard boyo and I'd consider changing that rather dubious username of yours!

79, 84, 85, 01 replay, 04, 09 they ranges from hidings to massacres! To name but a few.

I know most Dubs memories don't go back past 2011, that's why I'm here to remind ya's of that unglorious past ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/02/2016 19:05:38    1828220

Hermit i am not telling who ure rivals are and arent, i really couldnt give a toss in the slightest!! :)
Just relaying what my corkonian buddies, mostly city and suburb lads tell me. Kerry wouldnt be anything like the rivalry KK would be for them.

And to be honest buddy, in recent years, Mayo have regularly given us bigger and better games than our old romantic rivals from the kingdom.
Ye are just a way to finish a good summer off for us these days!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/02/2016 19:22:50    1828225

Ah MedwayIrish, you've never been to the Kingdom?!! Sure what's stopping you, you won't be disappointed!!!
TheHermit

Generally when I'm over it's either Dublin for a weekender (used to go to a lot of soccer internationals at Lansdowne until fairly recently) or Wexford where I fall into the trap of visiting relatives for the entire holiday. The wife and me were planning on visiting Kerry at some point as we both like the outdoors, hillwalking and all that, but we split up last year so it came to nothing. I'll get there one day Hermit and I'm sure I'll have a good time.

That day of the drawn game with Cork was the day I travelled over for the week. It'd been boiling here all week (I think one day even broke a record it was 37oc or something like that, sort of weather where it's too hot to do much at all. Different story the next day though. We docked in Rosslare just as it started raining and it p***ed down for 15 hours solid!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 25/02/2016 19:24:35    1828226

If I could stick my my oar in here, for me Cork's greatest football rivalry has always and will always be with Kerry. I've been going down to Killarney from East
Cork almost every second year since the early 1960's. Always in the hope of beating them, and I don't think Dublin people can understand what it's like when we do.
Talking about Billy Morgan, I remember a miserably wet Munster final in the Old Athletic Grounds when Billy as a young goalkeeper made a stunning point blank save and rose up from the ground again to push the ball away from an inrushing Kerry forward. That was one of the great days for me. It's quite possible to like the two codes and support them both. even in East Cork. The great hurling rivalry for Cork supporters will always be Tipperary. It's the neighbour thing, you see.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 644 - 25/02/2016 19:28:10    1828227

In Hurling Tipp v Limerick is huge as well. Maybe it matters more to Limerick supporters given Tipps success, and I'd admit they'd probably prefer to beat Cork and certainly KK but I do know for a fact they love to beat and hate losing to Limerick. Playing Tipp has certainly brought the best out of Limerick teams with many Limerick teams beating superior Tipp teams throughout the year. Just look at last years munster semi final.. approx 40,000 at it in Limerick. what other provincial semi-final, (aside from Dublin in croker) brings those numbers? Even when it comes to other sports like soccer/rugby you never want to loss to a Tipp team.

Of course since the 90s when Clare got their act together our rivalry with them has been huge with Careys point against them many Limerick peoples greatest hurling memory! And for a few years in the 80s Limerick-Galway served up some crackers with them costing us a couple of AIs :P

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 25/02/2016 19:40:45    1828234

Your right Liam,

Mayo have always been close to you in games, sure ye were always even enough so its no wonder ye both have got regularly annihilated by the Kingdom in big days in croker!

Rest assured no matter how poor a Kerry side is, they'll never be on the receiving end of a walloping like 2009 by any Dublin team, no matter how good they are!

That's just the difference between the two counties, the aristocrats and the pretenders! ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/02/2016 19:46:08    1828239

Derry V Tyrone. Already a few great games this season and at least another 2 to come. Already some broken bones, big hits and high scores.

Not sure what year it was when Derry beat Tyrone in the back door and my grandmother who is from Omagh direction made me use the back door of her house anytime I'm came over for months and months

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 25/02/2016 20:27:33    1828248