Qualifier R4 to determine quarter-finalists

July 24, 2013

From left, Owen Lennon, Monaghan, Cillian O'Connor, Mayo, Jonathan Lyne, Kerry, and Eoghan O'Gara, Dublin, are photographed in front of Dunlewy Lake at the official launch of the 2013 GAA Football Championship All-Ireland Series.
Dublin, Kerry, Mayo and Monaghan are all through to the All-Ireland quarter-finals after winning the provincial titles and will discover who their opponents will be next Saturday evening when the draw will be made after the Round 4 qualifiers.

The four provincial winners will take on the winners of the Round 4 qualifiers which will feature a triple header at Croke Park while Donegal will play Laois in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Cavan v London, Croke Park, 3.0
Cork v Galway, Croke Park, 5.0
Meath v Tyrone, Croke Park, 7.0
Donegal v Laois, Carrick-on-Shannon, 5.0

They meet for the first time in the championship since the 2005 All-Ireland quarter-final which Cork won by 2-14 to 2-11. Brendan Jer O'Sullivan (1-3) and John Hayes (1-3) were top scorers for Cork while Michael Meehan (2-2) and Padraic Joyce (0-7) were Galway's top marksmen. Meehan, Sean Armstrong and Finian Hanley are still aboard the Galway team while Graham Canty and Noel O'Leary are the Cork survivors from the clash eight years ago. Galway are seeking their first championship win in Croke Park since beating Meath in the 2001 All-Ireland final. Since then they lost to Kerry (2002 and 2008), Tyrone (2004) and Cork (2005) while they drew with Donegal in 2003.They are attempting to reach the All-Ireland quarter-final for the first time since 2008 while Cork are bidding to reach the last eight for the 9th successive year.

2013 Championship
Cork 3-17 Limerick 0-8 (Munster quarter-final)
Cork 1-20 Clare 1-11 (Munster semi-final)
Kerry 1-16 Cork 0-17 (Munster final)
Mayo 4-16 Galway 0-11 (Connacht quarter-final)
Galway 1-12 Tipperary 0-11 (All-Ireland qualifier Round 1)
Galway 1-12 Waterford 0-14 (All-Ireland qualifier Round 2)
Galway 1-11 Armagh 0-9 (All-Ireland qualifier Round 2)

Last 5 Championship Clashes
2005: Cork 2-14 Galway 2-11 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
2001: Galway 1-14 Cork 1-10 (All-Ireland qualifier - Round 4)
1987: Cork 0-18 Galway 1-4 (All-Ireland semi-final) (Replay)
1987: Cork 1-11 Galway 1-11 (All-Ireland semi-final) (Draw)
1973: Cork 3-17 Galway 2-13 (All-Ireland final)

They meet for only the third time in the championship. Their first clash was in the 1996 All-Ireland semi-final when Meath won by 2-15 to 0-12 and the Royals repeated their success in the 2007 All-Ireland quarter-final winning by 1-13 to 2-8. 2013 Championship
Donegal 2-10 Tyrone 0-10 (Ulster quarter-final)
Tyrone 1-27 Offaly 0-8 (All-Ireland qualifier Round 1)
Tyrone 0-12 Roscommon 1-7 (All-Ireland qualifier Round 2)
Tyrone 1-11 Kildare 0-12 (All-Ireland qualifier Round 3)
Meath 1-17 Wicklow 1-12 (Leinster quarter-final)
Meath 0-18 Wexford 0-13 (Leinster semi-final)
Dublin 2-15 Meath 0-14 (Leinster final)

Both sides are attempting to reach the All-Ireland quarter-final for the first time in what will also be the first championship meeting between them. This is also London's first time in Round 4 while Cavan's last appearance at this stage was in 2005 when they lost to Mayo.

2013 Championship
Cavan 1-15 Armagh 1-11 (Ulster preliminary Round)
Cavan 0-13 Fermanagh 0-11 (Ulster quarter-final)
Monaghan 1-10 Cavan 0-12 (Ulster semi-final)
Cavan 1-14 Fermanagh 0-10 (All-Ireland qualifier Round 2)
Cavan 1-22 Derry 0-20 (All-Ireland qualifier Round 3) After extra-time
London 1-12 Sligo 0-14 (Connacht quarter-final)
London 2-7 Leitrim 0-13 (Connacht semi-final) Draw
London 2-11 Leitrim 1-13 (Connacht semi-final) Replay
Mayo 5-11 London 0-10 (Connacht final)

It's a first ever senior championship clash between the counties. However, they have met quite often in the Allianz League in recent years. Laois beat Donegal by 2-9 to 2-6 in a Division 1 clash in 2012 while in 2011 they met twice in Division 2. Laois won the group game by 1-15 to 1-11 but Donegal won the final by 2-11 to 0-16.

Laois are attempting to record their 8th successive qualifier win and book a place in the All-Ireland quarter-finals for a second successive year. They beat Carlow, Monaghan, Leitrim and Meath in last year's qualifiers and have already beaten Carlow, Clare and Wexford this year.
Donegal, the reigning All-Ireland champions last appeared in Round 4 of the qualifiers in
2008 when they beat Galway.

2013 Championship
Donegal 2-10 Tyrone 0-10 (Ulster quarter-final)
Donegal 0-12 Down 0-9 (Ulster semi-final)
Monaghan 0-13 Donegal 0-7 (Ulster final)
Louth 1-16 Laois 1-6 (Leinster 1st round)
Laois 3-13 Carlow 0-12 (All-Ireland qualifier Round 1)
Laois 3-17 Clare 0-10 (All-Ireland qualifier Round 2)
Laois 0-16 Wexford 2-8 (All-Ireland Qualifier Round 3)

*Monaghan have won the Ulster title for the first time in 25 years, earning them automatic qualification to the All-Ireland quarter-finals. They last appeared in the quarter-finals as qualifier winners in 2007.

*Mayo won the Connacht three-in-a-row for the first time in 63 years when they beat
London in the final in Castlebar on Sunday.

*Mayo and Dublin, who also completed the three-in-a-row in Leinster, were the only two to
retain the provincial titles. Kerry replaced Cork in Munster and Monaghan replaced
Donegal in Ulster.

*The All-Ireland semi-final line-up this year will be: Mayo or quarter-final winners v
Monaghan or quarter-final winners; Dublin or quarter-final winners v Kerry or quarter

*The provincial breakdown of the twelve teams still in the All-Ireland race is as follows:
4: Ulster (Monaghan, Donegal, Tyrone, Cavan)
3: Connacht (Mayo, Galway, London)
3: Leinster: (Dublin, Laois, Meath)
2: Munster (Kerry, Cork).

Most Read Stories