Hello Lads and Lasses, Am heading to Navan next Saturday for the Club hurling semi between Sarsfieds and Cushendall and looking for some advice as the last time I was at a match in Navan was over 30 years ago! Coming in from the Dublin side how do I get to the ground? Whats parking like? Can ye recommend a good watering hole for a bite of food and a pint near the ground? Thanks , The Barnowl.
Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 01/02/2016 15:23:56
Exit M3 using Navan North exit. Proceed up the slip road & take 3rd exit off roundabout & cross over motorway. Go straight through next roundabout and carry on for 1-2km until you meet another roundabout. Take second exit off this roundabout and take right run approx. 100m after roundabout (towards hospital). Pitch is on right hand side approx. 500m down this road.
AnFearBan1234 (Meath) - Posts: 110 - 01/02/2016 16:28:05
Barnowl94- Coming from Dublin on motorway take junction 9 and head for Navan signage. As you approach Navan (with shopping centre on left) you take the second exit then across bridge you take the first right and follow the road past the hospital to the traffic lights where PT is immediately on your right (approx. 5 minutes form roundabout).
You can go through straight the traffic lights fro 30m and take the first turn to right into Navan O'Mahony's ground where there is lots of parking. Someone else may advise you on places for food- you can walk up the town to next set of traffic lights and Ryans Bar is one possible place for food.
Have a safe journey and the best of luck to you.
browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/02/2016 16:38:43
Good man Barnowl94, hope you enjoy your trip up, best thing to do is have a look at Google maps but we'll try and point you in the right direction first.
As the previous poster said, take the Navan North exit off the motorway, 3rd exit off the roundabout (heading towards Navan town basically), straight through the 2nd roundabout, 2nd exit off the 3rd roundabout and then first turn right after that, it's the R161 down towards the hospital.
Just after the hospital you'll come to a junction, turn right there (down the commons road and a few hundred metres up the road there's a carpark for Pairc Tailteann on your left, they'll charge you €2 or €3 at the gate so have your coins ready.
As for grub, I generally don't eat in Navan but O'Flaherty's is just up past the stadium (if you went straight through the junction at the hospital rather than turning right, up past Aldi), and it does carvery and few decent pints, also the Newgrange hotel (a bit further down the town) does good grub but maybe a Navan local could offer better advise.
Ps, if you're going the old Dublin road (which is actually more direct than the motorway and you don't have to pay the toll) the County Club (between Dunboyne and Dunshaughlin) is well worth a visit for grub. It does great business and it's better than anything I've had in Navan but I take it you're probably not going that way.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/02/2016 16:54:45
I'd go with Browncows . Park in O'Mahony's beside Pairc Tailtean and doddle into town. Ryans or The Central both on the main street will do fine for grub and scoops but you really want to try The Valley Café for its world renowned all day grill. We've a Supermacs if you're homesick. While you're in town be sure to check out our beautiful statue of a Bull in the square. It would put the on Wall Street to shame.
GoalsWinGames (Meath) - Posts: 307 - 01/02/2016 16:55:16
Ye actually the small carpark past the stadium on the right (or before the stadium on the left if you come in through the town) isn't a bad option either, I regularly park in there myself if I'm down early.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/02/2016 17:09:08
Try the Central in Navan. You can get some pub grub in it.
OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 01/02/2016 18:49:51
The car parks on "Brews Hill" are very close to Pairc Tailteann. So as mentioned by others either Navan O'Mahonys car park (beside Aldi, but not Aldi's car park) or the council car park (both on LHS as you travel up Brews Hill from the town itself) or on RHS if you somehow manage to travel down Brews Hill.
The other option without driving into/through/around the town is to stay on the Dublin (main) road you travel into Navan on. Proceed straight ahead all the way through 1st (just after the Ardboyne Hotel on LHS)/2nd/3rd (Meath Chronicle on LHS)/4th set of traffic lights (busy junction, stay in left hand lane from here) and then finally turn left (slip road) before/at the 5th set of traffic lights you come to. Two multi-storey car parks in navantowncentre.ie shopping centre - one straight ahead across the road from another set of traffic lights (this car park has a narrow enough exit, do not kerb your rims!); the other main car park is if you turn left at traffic lights, go about 200m and then turn right into Navan Town Centre at Argos. Proceed 100m and then turn left into car park just after M&S. These are open until 7pm on Saturdays (one is open later, not sure which is which). EUR1.20 per hour but you are quite near the eating/watering holes on Trimgate street as recommended by others. Nice walk to Pairc Tailteann. If you park in the shopping centre you can leave Pairc Tailteann via another route to get back to your car quicker. Go down the Boreen Keel to the very bottom of road and straight ahead from there (at roundabout 1) down onto Abbey Road. Keep to the right of Scoil Mhuire school and turn right at 2nd roundabout heading towards the post office and shopping centre is just up from there.
Good luck. I enjoyed the hurling before the Longford match. That's what Meath need, a few more hurlers (dual players) on the football team. Hardy bucks!
GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 01/02/2016 21:04:24
Not to confuse you more, but my post is based on leaving the M3 motorway at Junction 8 (Navan South) and following the signs for Navan from there to get onto the Dublin road side of Navan.
GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 01/02/2016 21:13:09
Go to Enzo's for a snack box followed by a lock of pints in The Central and then tip down to The Palace for the shift.
RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 02/02/2016 09:16:46
Thanks very much lads for all the advice, think I'll take your advice Htaem and use the old road.Last time I was at a game in Navan was at a Meath / Kerry league game around 83/84.
Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 02/02/2016 09:31:35
Barnowl94
83/84, jaysus that's a good while ago alright, sadly I have to say Pairc Tailteann hasn't changed much since, it's in poor shape but the pitch is good at least. Enjoy your trip up anyway Barnow and have a safe journey.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/02/2016 12:32:16